Fuji Velvia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

2009-02-15 6

Disliked by some photographers but adored by Lomographers

Disliked by some photographers but adored by Lomographers

When the Velvia 100F first came out people were slamming the film because it wasn’t quite the successor of the great Velvia 50. Some felt that it didn’t even deserve to have the much regarded “Velvia” name attached to it. Me thinks this criticism should be ignored by Lomographers and if they only knew what it can do when cross processed maybe they’d be singing a different tune.

I haven’t tried E6 processing on this baby but when cross processed I could say that I am quite satisfied by the output specially for shots with people in them. The skin tones turn out a lovely shade of red and whites come out with a purple tinge. The bold colour lends an air of intensity even when the shots are of a light mood. It’s especially nice to use in shots that depict nightmares & dreams such as what I tried to project in shots I made for a lomo movie I made last year.

When used outdoors, rich but not over powering reds and muted green blue grass is a treat to the eyes. They say that when processed in E6 this Velvia spits out nice images when used for landscape photography. The fine film grain is also good as it makes the images really sharp. I am not one to complain, the colors are bold and intense which I really like but I think it lacks the warmth of its legendary brother.

written by halfawakehaiku on 2009-02-15 #gear #slide #100-iso #fujichrome #35mm #velvia #fuji #review #x-pro

6 Comments

  1. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    cool

  2. thaiseb
    thaiseb ·

    Velvia is a great film when cross processed, for sure. Nice pictures, I like the #9

  3. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    great review

  4. anelfandhiszippo
    anelfandhiszippo ·

    Velvia is super!

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Loooove Velvia !!!
    Cool review !

  6. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    Thanks guys!

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-20 #people
    Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    You can tell a lot about a person just by looking through the contents of his/her bag. But we don't recommend rummaging through someone's bag for this reason! Luckily, some photographers granted us access for our WIYB series. Here's a peek into LA-based photographer Rozette Rago's gear.

    2016-07-20
  • Lukasz Wierzbowksi: Discovering New Faces and Places

    written by Teresa Sutter on 2016-04-29 #people
    Lukasz Wierzbowksi: Discovering New Faces and Places

    When Polish photographer Lukasz Wierzbowksi starts shooting, it's a journey for both him and his models. He plays with the environment, getting his subjects to interact with their surroundings. He usually shoots 35mm film but swapped his usual gear for some fun with the Lomo'Instant Wide.

  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • Photo of the Day by mavicomeflor

    written by lomography on 2016-02-13 #news
    Photo of the Day by mavicomeflor

    It's never too early to plan for your summer escapade. Here's another must-visit destination in the Caribbean as photographed by our fellow lomographer.

    2016-02-13 2
  • Joe Prileszky - Closer Exhibition Launch Party

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-10-27 #news
    Joe Prileszky - Closer Exhibition Launch Party

    Join us for the opening night of Closer, an exhibition by fashion photographer Joe Prileszky on 12th November from 6pm. The Carnaby Shopping Night will also be in full swing with street music, store discounts and some early festive fun.

    2015-10-27
  • A Series of Hand-Painted Vintage Photographs

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-04-17
    A Series of Hand-Painted Vintage Photographs

    We can only imagine what the past was like. Experiment-ready film photographers often recreate it in rose-colored filters and tints. On the other hand, some artists reimagine old photos by manually coloring them.

    2016-04-17 1
  • Shop News

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    Light up all your shots with this light-weight, versatile and wireless LED flash! Works best with any iOS and android platforms.

  • The Beauty of Black and White

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-18
    The Beauty of Black and White

    A popular quote by photojournalist Ted Grant goes, "When you photograph people in color, you photograph their clothes. But when you photograph people in black and white, you photograph their souls!" Indeed, the lack of vibrant color forces the viewer to see beyond what is on plain view and recognize the atmosphere surrounding a photograph. In this post, we've handpicked black and white shots taken in various situations and exhibit different moods.

    2015-11-18 5
  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 #news #gear
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    2015-11-01
  • Artist Update: Western Thoughts, Eastern Dreams by Kamila K Stanley

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-10 #news #people
    Artist Update: Western Thoughts, Eastern Dreams by Kamila K Stanley

    Kamila K Stanley is always on the cusp of an adventure. In the early part of 2015, she started inviting fellow photographers to join a collective named after a verse from "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds." And ever the curious observer, she spent some part of the year in Turkey. With a camera and reserve of 35mm films, of course.

    2015-11-10 1
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • 10 Memorable Articles by Community Members in 2015

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-18
    10 Memorable Articles by Community Members in 2015

    Lomographers are the lifeline of this community, their words and photographs bridging gaps and differences and opening entirely new worlds to their fellow lomographers. In this recap, we handpicked 10 of the most memorable articles from this year's archive penned by no less than our community members.

    2015-12-18 1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • Lomography x The Science Museum: Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph Rumble

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-07-31 #culture
    Lomography x The Science Museum: Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph Rumble

    Lomography have teamed up with The Science Museum to offer you the chance to win tickets to see "Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph", a fascinating exhibition of some of the earliest experiments in photography by William Fox Talbot. You can also win a Sprocket Rocket Black.

    2016-07-31