Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

2009-02-24 13

Brrrr, is it getting cold in here?… How to the get that wintery look all year round.

This way another one of those random ebay purchases… but it was love at first click.

I am a big fan of Xpro, especially for the bright saturated colours and extra cheerfulness it gives to pictures however, Ektachrome 64T is a totally different beast….

It gives your pics the Tim Burton effect…. gone are the vivid reds and bright yellows, instead you get a murky cold world of blues and grays all rendered in a strong peppery grain. I have mostly used this film in bright sunny summer days and the results take you back to a bleak midwinter. Since it is not that sensitive, only at 64 ISO, bright sunshine is recommended. When i have tried it on bleak midwinter days the results weren’t really all that great, so the more light the better.

Thanks to the tungsten base, when used in sunlight the results came out with that extra blue-ness, but what I really like are the burned out whites that go with it….

So if you manage to get your hands on some, why not have a go at making your own Sleepy Hollow or Nightmare Before Christmas-esque photos with this film.

written by lolfox on 2009-02-24 #gear #tungsten #x-pro #review #kodak #blue #film #35mm

13 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice review! shot #2 is funny. almost made me think it was a real afro.hehe

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    this is really awesome! great shots. i picked up some of this on ebay, too, only in 120 format. i found some weird lights at the train station the other night, cant wait to see what tungsten film does with it :D

  3. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    tim-burton-lolfox ;)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Whow well done, it's hard to get such good results with that film ...N°8 is awesome.

  5. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    coool

  6. adamscott
    adamscott ·

    Great review! Killer shots! Love the 2nd the tree makes you look like a clown ;) Big fan of lolfox BIG fan!

  7. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can´t choose a favorite from the gallery - all are great!

  8. vimalakirti
    vimalakirti ·

    your shots rock! 2 and 10 are grooving!

  9. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    nice gallery!
    my pic is #4. so cool!

  10. zekiyeayse
    zekiyeayse ·

    great review and amazing photos!! each and every one of them!

  11. fornoise
    fornoise ·

    did you cross these in C-41? great shots!

  12. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Great review! Now I will wait with loading my camera with the film I bought on ebay! :D

  13. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    awesome shots, i like the “tree afro” too

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • A Frankenstein Limbo Camera: A Review of Kodak Retina Ia

    written by Jake Whalen on 2016-03-28 #gear
    A Frankenstein Limbo Camera: A Review of Kodak Retina Ia

    The Retina Ia is a strange mixture of the pocket folding cameras of the early 20th century and the 35mm rangefinders and SLRs that came about at the beginning of the 1960s.

    2016-03-28 4
  • Urban Portraits with the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-08 #news #gear
    Urban Portraits with the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    Looking to see more of what the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens can do? Here's a serving of portraits in urban settings, all in glorious analogue.

    2016-04-08
  • Shop News

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    We’re proud to be back on Kickstarter to present: the Lomo'Instant Automat! Meet the world's most advanced automatic Instant Camera. Focus on being in the moment and let this baby capture everything and anything every time! Back us on Kickstarter now!

  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    2015-12-30 15
  • Portraits in Nature with the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Elvis Tang

    written by Phyllis Chan on 2016-07-01 #gear #people
    Portraits in Nature with the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Elvis Tang

    Elvis is a Hong Kong-based photographer. He started photography because he wanted to capture the last moments of high school life. Soon after, he met some photographers on Instagram and explored his own photography style. Take a look at how he shoots with the Daguerreotype Achromat Lens.

    2016-07-01
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    written by shhquiet on 2015-12-30 #news
    Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    2015 was a super exciting year for the world of creative photography. We introduced new products, paid homage to analogue photography and collaborated with like-minded folks. If you missed any of the festivities, don't worry - we promise that there will be more fantastic things to come next year! In the meantime, here's a look back into all the happy Lomography memories!

    2015-12-30 1
  • Recap: Film Photography Day 2016

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-02 #news #videos
    Recap: Film Photography Day 2016

    On April 12, analogue fans from all over the world celebrated Film Photography Day! Here's a look back to all the fun that happened. One thing's for sure: Lomographers know how to party!

    2016-05-02
  • Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-09 #people
    Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    Jack Lowe has been traveling round the UK with the aim to shoot every RNLI post using Wet Plate Collodion photography. The Lifeboat Station Project photography is a five-year photographic mission that makes use of a painstaking process. It is a fascinating, much talked about project that deserves to be documented, not just through words but through images as well.

    2015-11-09 1