Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

13

Brrrr, is it getting cold in here?… How to the get that wintery look all year round.

This way another one of those random ebay purchases… but it was love at first click.

I am a big fan of Xpro, especially for the bright saturated colours and extra cheerfulness it gives to pictures however, Ektachrome 64T is a totally different beast….

It gives your pics the Tim Burton effect…. gone are the vivid reds and bright yellows, instead you get a murky cold world of blues and grays all rendered in a strong peppery grain. I have mostly used this film in bright sunny summer days and the results take you back to a bleak midwinter. Since it is not that sensitive, only at 64 ISO, bright sunshine is recommended. When i have tried it on bleak midwinter days the results weren’t really all that great, so the more light the better.

Thanks to the tungsten base, when used in sunlight the results came out with that extra blue-ness, but what I really like are the burned out whites that go with it….

So if you manage to get your hands on some, why not have a go at making your own Sleepy Hollow or Nightmare Before Christmas-esque photos with this film.

written by lolfox on 2009-02-24 #gear #blue #film #35mm #review #tungsten #kodak #x-pro

13 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice review! shot #2 is funny. almost made me think it was a real afro.hehe

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    this is really awesome! great shots. i picked up some of this on ebay, too, only in 120 format. i found some weird lights at the train station the other night, cant wait to see what tungsten film does with it :D

  3. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    tim-burton-lolfox ;)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Whow well done, it's hard to get such good results with that film ...N°8 is awesome.

  5. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    coool

  6. adamscott
    adamscott ·

    Great review! Killer shots! Love the 2nd the tree makes you look like a clown ;) Big fan of lolfox BIG fan!

  7. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can´t choose a favorite from the gallery - all are great!

  8. vimalakirti
    vimalakirti ·

    your shots rock! 2 and 10 are grooving!

  9. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    nice gallery!
    my pic is #4. so cool!

  10. zekiyeayse
    zekiyeayse ·

    great review and amazing photos!! each and every one of them!

  11. fornoise
    fornoise ·

    did you cross these in C-41? great shots!

  12. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Great review! Now I will wait with loading my camera with the film I bought on ebay! :D

  13. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    awesome shots, i like the “tree afro” too

More Interesting Articles

  • Snowy Walks With The Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64

    2017-11-16 #gear
    Snowy Walks With The Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64

    One of the reasons why we love winter so much is because we finally get to pull out that Game of Thrones saying, "Winter is here." The thought of spending Christmas time with your loved ones and watching the snow falling will warm your heart in a second.

  • Summer Days In Vienna

    written by nicholasbacon on 2017-11-12 #culture #places
    Summer Days In Vienna

    With the darkness & coldness looming it´s clear that winter is on the way. What better way to brighten up your day then reminisce of sunshine from a local skateboarders viewpoint...

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    2017-12-08 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    1
  • Shop News

    Share your Lomo'Instant love with the Lomo’Instant App

    Share your Lomo'Instant love with the Lomo’Instant App

    Create funky stop-motion movies with your perfectly centered instant snaps and share upload them to your LomoHome, Instagram, Facebook and more with the new Lomo'Instant App!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    2018-02-15 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2
  • Tracing the Influences of Stanley Kubrick's Personal Style

    2018-01-09 #culture #videos
    Tracing the Influences of Stanley Kubrick's Personal Style

    The American director is perhaps one of the most referenced and most looked up to among contemporary filmmakers, but how did Kubrick himself get to become the auteur that he is remembered today?

    1
  • Color Chronicles: Patina Green

    2018-07-14 #culture
    Color Chronicles: Patina Green

    Colors mean differently for all walks of life. The color Patina is a color that comes from aging, and we're here to discuss how this color morphs in real life.

    1
  • Shop News

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • The Most Beautiful Shots of '90s Cinema

    2017-10-14 #culture #videos
    The Most Beautiful Shots of '90s Cinema

    The '90s saw the rise of independent films and cinema, and it all went as rebellious as it could get ith grunge, rock, and dark cinema. So without further ado, here are some of the '90s most beautiful frames and screen grabs that look as tasteful as a photograph.

  • Festivals of India

    written by shivanisohal on 2017-10-12 #culture #places
    Festivals of India

    Although India celebrates festivals all year around, but this particular time of the year is a special one! You will see colorful lights, good food and festive events everywhere you go, all lit up to get you in a festive mood!

  • Win Your Wishlist 2017 Winners

    2017-11-27 #news
    Win Your Wishlist 2017 Winners

    No need to look inside those stockings or write a long letter to Santa. We're already here to make your holiday wishes come true! Get to know the lucky winners of this year's Win Your Wishlist competition.

    9
  • Shop News

    Say Hello to the Latest Member of the Lomo'Instant Family: The Lomo'Instant Explorer!

    Say Hello to the Latest Member of the Lomo'Instant Family: The Lomo'Instant Explorer!

    Spark the passion for exploration and make this special edition designed by KristopherH part of your collection! Be an explorer with the Lomo'Instant Camera and Lenses (Explorer Edition)!

  • 6 Bad Habits to Avoid as an Artist

    2017-09-25 #tutorials #videos
    6 Bad Habits to Avoid as an Artist

    Calling out all creatives! We all know that art is what makes up our lives. It's the passion that gives us the will and purpose to live. So, without further ado, here are the bad habits you'd want to cut for an enriching, creative life.

  • Monday Moodboard: Bottoms Up for Coffee Lovers

    2017-12-04 #culture
    Monday Moodboard: Bottoms Up for Coffee Lovers

    The weather gets chillier, and the days cozier! Mornings become lethargic, sleep is your new best friend, but life beckons to be lived at maximum effort. Kids to feed, bills to pay, Christmas shopping to do, right? So go get that cup, drink it all up!

  • Urban Sightseeing for the Street Shooter: Daytime in Amsterdam

    2018-02-24 #places
    Urban Sightseeing for the Street Shooter: Daytime in Amsterdam

    Street photography is one of the most popular genres today, and it can all be repetitive. It doesn't have to be. The secret to great street photography is by getting to know the cityscape and culture, and in Amsterdam, there's much to learn.

  • Find Out More About