Fuji NPS (35mm, 160 iso) User-Review

5

Fuji NPS is the “El Natural” of Fuji color negative films! This film is great on skin tones which means you’ll get a great portrait!

I finally got around to shooting some rolls of NPS. I am still trying to figure why it took me so long to begin using such a fantastic film. For a meantime, I’ve been hating this one since I am more into slide films rather than this one. But hey! This NPS is a perfect beauty to capture people and portraits!

It has a stunning 160iso, great for outdoor, sunny day shots! Skin tones are excellent, extreme low-grain and of course, soften the skin wrinkles and a perfect color is surely waiting since this film is overly saturated but with lower contrasts; suitable for photographing a friend!

I used this film when we had our last shoot for some models. Quite practical with the things, I hauled a Fuji NPS and started shooting with them. I was happy with the results! I was stunned with the pictures. Quite perfect on lighting even on a cloudy day. I was kind of afraid of not having a correct exposure but with this film, overexposing or underexposing doesn’t require the lab to push or pull the film. Simply all the shots will come out amazing!

written by ethermoon on 2009-09-10 #gear #iso160 #philippines #zenit-11 #review #35mm #nps-160 #fuji

5 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great gallery ;)

  2. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Great review and pics :D I love NPS, too ! :D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I'm a big fan of all the Fuji NPS NPS NPZ films. They do their jobs well.

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    You're definitely a portrait master! Great review !

  5. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    i like it

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    3
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    7
  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Wide-Eyed with Portrait Pride

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Wide-Eyed with Portrait Pride

    The Lomo LC-Wide creates an irresistible, saturated range of colors which is the perfect pairing for all you portrait connoisseurs out there. And with its brilliant 17mm Ultra Wide Angle Lens, you can get in on the action too! We loved how these proud portraits (and self-portraits) from our Online Community showed off the charming characteristics of the LC-Wide!

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    7
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-17 #people
    Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    A self-portrait may take root in confidence, extreme shyness or alternate bouts of each. Leanne Surfleet goes through this kind of fluctuation when the camera is all eyes. The attraction—as far as we’re concerned—is the mix of uncertainty and a kind of quiet poise. And here and there, a flash of skin that is more a mystery than full-on revelation. Even Surfleet’s portraits of other people have the same hushed invite, as if to say questions are encouraged. There we took our cue.

  • The Story of a Negative

    written by vicuna on 2016-05-12 #places
    The Story of a Negative

    This is the story of a negative and the memory of loved ones that are gone, but are still present on an old analogue celluloid film. It's the emotional power of analogue photography that lasts forever.

    17
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    4
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 #people
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    3
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    12
  • Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    written by lomography on 2016-03-13
    Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    Lomographer stripedbeatle is a child of art. He started using a camera in his teens and went on to document his life though videos and music. Let's get to know this community newcomer and film student from the United States.

    2