Kodak Portra 160nc (120, 160 iso) User-Review

2009-03-19 2

Kodak Portra NC for “Natural Colors” - you cannot go wrong with this one!

If you love classic square shots, try using Kodak’s Portra NC 120. Aside from the VC that stands for Vivid Colors and most likely vivified your images, the Portra NC offers great shots for portraits, people and of the same kind. Standing from the ground of ASA160, this film which also comes in 120 format offers a very diligent photograph to every medium format lovers out there.

By placing this film either inside a Holga, Diana+, Lubitel cameras or other TLR’s, the fine grain color sharpness will always be your best friend. I don’t know but since it’s called “Portra”, it refers to “Portrait” so portrait shots will always come absolutely perfect. Good colour, low grain, and can be pulled just slightly, this film is very good for all intensive purposes.

I tried this using my Lubitel 166B during the Dinagyang Festival and I got really great shots. Judging on the skin tones, it is well defined and has minimal grain. Regarding the colors, green, brown and earth tones tend to come out of the picture.

On the lighter part, Kodak Portra NC doesn’t do good when it comes to shooting landscapes, mountains and scenarios. Might well explained about the “Portra”, clearly this film is intended for good portrait shots, not for the oceans, mountains and other things. Just like the hammer is intended for the nail, so as Kodak Portra NC is intended for portraits of people.

written by ethermoon on 2009-03-19 #gear #120 #lubitel166b #philippines #160-iso #dinagyang-festival #review #kodak-portra-160nc

2 Comments

  1. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    There are some really amazing shots in this gallery!

  2. stouf
    stouf ·

    Wooow powerful gallery !

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomopedia: Kodak Portra 400

    written by cheeo on 2016-09-21 #gear
    Lomopedia: Kodak Portra 400

    This Lomopedia feature takes us to a world of fine grain, rich colors, and dependable versatility with the Kodak Portra 400.

    2016-09-21 1
  • Exposures in Smooth Gossamer with Kodak Portra 400 120

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-24 #gear
    Exposures in Smooth Gossamer with Kodak Portra 400 120

    Pair up your favorite medium format camera with the Kodak Portra 400 120 for matte and silky finishes of your photographs.

    2016-07-24
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Shop News

    Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens goes live in the online shop!

    Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens goes live in the online shop!

    Do you long for the dreamy soft focus that only the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens can give your photos? Grab it in the lens mount of your choice! Brass versions are now available for purchase in the shop!

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Waiting Game Winners

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-04 #news
    Waiting Game Winners

    Taking long exposure photographs is a waiting game. See the wonders this time-tested technique can do.

    2016-12-04 1
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • Newcomer of the Week: bububu

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-04
    Newcomer of the Week: bububu

    For lomographer bububu, traveling opens opportunity to enjoy stunning vistas and meet interesting people, which in turn inspires her to shoot more photographs. Get to know our featured community newcomer from Russia in this short interview.

    2016-12-04 3
  • "Bad Hair" Day Winners

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-04
    "Bad Hair" Day Winners

    Thinking of getting a new hair cut? Maybe you'll find a peg among these fantastic styles photographed by your fellow lomographers!

    2016-12-04
  • Food Coma Winners

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-04 #news
    Food Coma Winners

    Learn about the history of various places around the globe through its delightful food scene.

    2016-12-04
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Modern Rococo: Portraits by Jordan Tiberio

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-12-04 #people
    Modern Rococo: Portraits by Jordan Tiberio

    Portraiture -- a favorite among artists and photographers. Most of the traditional and classical rules are still being followed, and it take a certain level of creativity to be distinct. But here, portraitist Jordan Tiberio re-imagines old, playful aesthetics and imbues them into her photography.

    2016-12-04 1
  • A Dreamy December with Diana F+

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-12-04 #gear
    A Dreamy December with Diana F+

    Have you tried this analogue classic on a cold, holiday-filled December to make the most memorable and nostalgic shots you will look back to in the future?

    2016-12-04
  • This Week on Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-04 #news
    This Week on Lomography

    Here's your weekly dose of the latest happenings in the Lomography Community.

    2016-12-04
  • Find Out More About