Ilford Deltapro (35mm, 3200 iso) user-review

2009-02-05 6

Shooting in the dark: A great film for gigs and concerts, I wouldn’t shoot it with a Fisheye though.

Shooting in the dark: A great film for gigs and concerts, I wouldn’t shoot it with a Fisheye though.

After experimenting with 1600 ISO film, I decided to take it up a notch and get some 3200 for a concert I was going to.
I stuck it inside my fisheye 2 and went on my merry way. I used a Colorsplash flash and was stood 1 or 2 meters away.
after developing I noticed that the pictures didn’t come out as well as I expected. The pictures weren’t ‘lit’ well enough for my liking but that may have been to do with the tiny aperture of the fisheye camera.

I would recommend this to a camera which has a larger aperture or for those with a variable aperture ones and I won’t be writing it off completely yet.

written by callumbum on 2009-02-05 #gear #fisheye2 #3200-iso #b-w #review #ilford #deltapro

6 Comments

  1. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    still some cool shots!

  2. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    cool, ive never used anything that fast, ive got a 1600 waiting to be developed, but thats as quick as ive got. im tempted to try this now

  3. deff1
    deff1 ·

    Great review, i just got a role of 3200 so will be using advice when shooting with it! cheers

  4. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    the frige shot is a really neat idea!

  5. jackievision
    jackievision ·

    everyone using this film should note that, according to developing tests and experiences, its actual speed is a bit below 3200 ISO. So, if exposed for 3200 and developed according to the suggested procedures, a slight push processing is applied by default and this is likely to be the cause of some over-closed shadows, together with the tiny aperture :)

  6. coffeeaddict_nl
    coffeeaddict_nl ·

    if you browse the ilfordphoto.com website you can find some pretty useful specs on this film. They (ilford) have measured it at 1000 ISO. They have also included some usefull development vs. exposure alternatives (eg; when exposed as a 400 ISO, the development time gets significantly shorter)

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Shop News

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get 15% discount on Lomography Films when you purchase film with the Lubitel camera!

  • Fab Concert Photos on Film

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-27
    Fab Concert Photos on Film

    Darkness and movement are sometimes the film photographer's 'frenemies.' Hyped and physically tiring events such as concerts can be tricky to shoot especially on film, but here's a gallery to prove otherwise.

    2016-02-27 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    2015-10-26 7
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Lukasz Wierzbowksi: Discovering New Faces and Places

    written by Teresa Sutter on 2016-04-29 #people
    Lukasz Wierzbowksi: Discovering New Faces and Places

    When Polish photographer Lukasz Wierzbowksi starts shooting, it's a journey for both him and his models. He plays with the environment, getting his subjects to interact with their surroundings. He usually shoots 35mm film but swapped his usual gear for some fun with the Lomo'Instant Wide.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-01-29 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    They aired their honest opinions and surprising suggestions, said their sweetest greetings, and promoted their outstanding creations in our Shoutbox. Now, it's our turn to shout their names aloud for keeping this space alive with entertaining and informative conversations. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of January 2016!

    2016-01-29 8
  • Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-20 #people
    Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    New York is an infinitely photographable city in spite—or because—of its innate chaos. And even when the medium is film, praised nowadays for the virtue of slowness, the photographer must keep up with the city’s pace. Ricardo Lozano, 35mm photographer and Lomography community member, managed to do it for the series OK Commuter, now a book by A Love Token Press.

    2015-10-20
  • Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-06-13 #gear #culture #people
    Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett races a Volkswagen touring car, which is based off a street car but has been modified for racing-- road racing in particular. Here's Simon with a bit more on what he does, why he does it, and on shooting film again, as he recently took us trackside with the La Sardina.

    2016-06-13