Review: Lomography X-Pro 200

2011-08-18 2

Try it on different cameras!

This is one of the Lomography films that will drive you nuts with its colours when cross-processed!

From some of the users’ photos I’ve already seen what kind of effect the film would produce. The prominent colour is yellow – bright, saturated kind – that makes all the photos looked like they’ve been coloured over with a yellow Stabilo highlighter.

I bought a Lomography X-Pro Slide (Box of 3) some time ago and tried it on my Sprocket Rocket. The results did not disappoint — in fact, I think that this film is the best slide to partner the Rocket. Even on a cloudy day, the photos turned out bright, with its signature yellowish hues. Other colours, especially warmer ones like re and orange, gets intensified too. Asian skin turns yellow, and even a blue subject will appear greenish as if a yellow transparency was placed in front of the lens. It is interesting to see how unusual the results will be!

Subsequently, I tried the last roll of it on my LC-Wide, and the results are surprisingly very, very different. Instead of the yellowish hues, all my shots turn out really natural. No whacky colour shifts, but instead a comfortable increase in saturation. A little like the Lomography X-Pro Chrome to me, where colours are intensified. Even a landscape shot of a mosque appeared pleasantly natural!

Sometimes, it is the fixed shutter of a camera, for instance in this case, my Sprocket Rocket’s 1/100 sec in N mode, that makes the film yield similar results over and over again. However, in a night shot depicting Singapore’s night skyline, it was shot in bulb mode for nearly 20 seconds, yet the colours still appear yellowish.

It’s pretty unexplainable, but I suppose that if you’re interested to try this film, do match it with different cameras!

The new Lomography X-Pro Slide 35mm film is made from the original Agfa RSX 200 emulsion. If you want whacked out colours, huge contrast, and insane saturation, this film is for you. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-18 #gear #vivid #yellow #colour #process #lomography #review #x-pro #slide #cross #user-review #200

2 Comments

  1. sophia_lo
    sophia_lo ·

    I bought it last few weeks! will try it at coming holiday trip!! =D

  2. zipper
    zipper ·

    I am waiting for the results of a double exposure with this film, first exposure Spinner 360, second exposure: LC-W. Can't wait to see what is going to be like!

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    2015-09-27 10
  • Springtime Renaissance with the Lomography X-Pro Peacock

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-24 #gear
    Springtime Renaissance with the Lomography X-Pro Peacock

    It's time to restart the cycle of the seasons.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Introducing the New Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film!

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-13 #gear #news #videos
    Introducing the New Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film!

    We're thrilled to announce the new exclusive 16mm addition to the Lomography Film Family for experimental filmmakers! The Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film is now available in limited quantities Online and in Gallery Stores worldwide.

    2016-05-13 3
  • Lomography X Carol Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 #videos #news
    Lomography X Carol Rumble

    Starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett and Academy Award-nominee Rooney Mara, CAROL is the beautiful new movie by acclaimed director Todd Haynes. To celebrate its release in cinemas on November 27 we have some great prizes to be won including our Lomo’instant Sanremo camera, 5 x copies of Vivian Maier’s Street Photography book, 10 x pairs of cinema tickets to see this fantastic film and x 10 Carol posters!

    2015-11-20 4
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Imperial 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-08-16 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Imperial 620

    Art director and analog photographer Mark Hannah introduces yet another fascinating box camera, the Imperial 620. Learn about its quirks and discover its hidden feature in this installment of Vintage Camera Reviews.

    2016-08-16 3
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Lomography x Fashion Walk-"Be An Explorer" Campaign

    written by Lomography on 2016-07-20 #culture #news #places
    Lomography x Fashion Walk-"Be An Explorer" Campaign

    In today’s busy society, continuous and repetitive life patterns always lead us to sometimes feel lost in the midst of it all. Lomography Hong Kong has teamed up with Fashion Walk to create a new analogue photography exhibition. Let’s explore your city in a totally different angle!

    2016-07-20
  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    2015-10-26 7
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Lomography x Fashion Walk: Be A City Explorer

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-18 #news
    Lomography x Fashion Walk: Be A City Explorer

    Get out of your comfort zone and explore your city in a totally different angle - when you try to think more and experiment, you will find that there is always something fun in your everyday life! Let your creativity roam, visit every corner of your city, and share with us your discoveries!

    2016-05-18 6