Review: Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

2011-08-09 11

Using this film is like adding an extra saturation layer, cranked to the max, in Photoshop!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 is one film that I hesitated to try — mainly due to it being the most pricey Lomo film available. I started out with the cheaper negatives while I get used to the operation of my cameras, and now that after shooting a few rolls of slide film, I decided to try out the Chrome.

On the website, the film is claimed to “intensify hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid”, which is a perfect match for an impromptu trip to Sekinchan and Kuala Selangor. The fishing village and paddy field town provided enough colorful subjects to shoot, especially the huge containers, snack packaging, and rustic riverside homes.

The film did not disappoint at all! I am really happy with the way the colors turn out as claimed — bright, vivid and at some point, too good to be true. I think back at the time I used to shoot in digital and then tried to edit the photos to look like these, but none appear as naturally, strongly saturated like this film.

Not too sure if this is the camera or film, but I found out that the best saturated parts are in areas under a shade. In direct sunlight the colors tend to be overexposed a little. Perhaps it is best to notch up the ISO to 200 if shooting directly under strong sunlight.

Anyway, give this film a try – it’s fun!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 35mm is a showstopper of a slide. When cross processed, this film intensifies hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-09 #gear #x-pro #vivid #slide-film #colours #100 #lomo #chrome #review #user-review #lomography

11 Comments

  1. simonh82
    simonh82 ·

    It's a great film. I got 15 rolls of it with piggies when i got my LCA+ and have used almost all of them. Great photos as well!

  2. nuhdos
    nuhdos ·

    I wanna try this film, I love the 200 asa one, but it has got a lot o grain when your cross it, specially if you've shooted under the sun... the 100 asa hasn't this problem I think !

  3. aroninvt
    aroninvt ·

    I just got a 3 pack of this and loaded a roll in my La Sardina today! I can't wait to finish it!

  4. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Great article and fantastic pictures. Just wanted to know what camera you used to shoot them?

  5. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @simonh82: wow 15 rolls? Thats alot, great film to stock up!

    @nuhdos: Yea I agree, this one looks a tad much "cleaner" haha!

    @aroninvt: Cool! hope your pictures turn out great! :D

    @houda21: Thanks! I used a Lomo LC-Wide.

  6. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    Love the colors! :)

  7. lihooi
    lihooi ·

    i have the overexposed problem too but still loving it! experimenting with iso200 too! :)

  8. lyndxe
    lyndxe ·

    awesome photos and article - i was curious about using this film with my LC-A+, so thanks for the great review + advice!

  9. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @eva_eva: Thanks! Me too!

    @lihooi: I tried ISO200 on a Provia 100F and it looked not so overexposed! But possibly my lab had already adjusted it haha..

    @lyndxe: No problem! Looking forward to seeing your shots too!

  10. nfxfsx
    nfxfsx ·

    @lihooi - I'm going to try that as well. The colors are amazing with the film.

  11. zulkhairikharuddin
    zulkhairikharuddin ·

    chrome 100 make blue colour turn to rich blue after cross process.

More Interesting Articles

  • Introducing the New Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film!

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-13 #gear #news #videos
    Introducing the New Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film!

    We're thrilled to announce the new exclusive 16mm addition to the Lomography Film Family for experimental filmmakers! The Lomography X-Pro 16mm Motion Film is now available in limited quantities Online and in Gallery Stores worldwide.

    2016-05-13 3
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Lomography X Carol Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 #videos #news
    Lomography X Carol Rumble

    Starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett and Academy Award-nominee Rooney Mara, CAROL is the beautiful new movie by acclaimed director Todd Haynes. To celebrate its release in cinemas on November 27 we have some great prizes to be won including our Lomo’instant Sanremo camera, 5 x copies of Vivian Maier’s Street Photography book, 10 x pairs of cinema tickets to see this fantastic film and x 10 Carol posters!

    2015-11-20 4
  • Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2016 Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-15 #news
    Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2016 Rumble

    Lomography and Nixon are happy to team up again for a new international competition, the Nixon Surf Challenge 2016. This time, the team is driving us in Ireland to surf the waves, discover the Irish country by boat and road. To celebrate, we're glad to invite you to join this new competition!

    2016-06-15 1
  • Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    written by Lomography London on 2016-02-10 #news
    Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    Lomography has teamed up with the Victoria and Albert Museum, London to give you the chance to win tickets to see “Paul Strand: Photography and Film for the 20th Century,” the first retrospective of this highly influential photographer in over 30 years. You can also win a Henry Carroll Book and a Lomo’instant Wide.

    2016-02-10 9
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Lomography x Grand Plaza: Explore Mongkok

    written by phyllistc on 2016-07-08 #news
    Lomography x Grand Plaza: Explore Mongkok

    When you hear the name Mongkok, what is the first thing that comes to your mind? This Summer, Lomography Hong Kong teamed up with Grand Plaza for an "Explore Mongkok" analogue photography competition. Share with us your impressions of Mongkok with a touch of creativity!

    2016-07-08
  • Trending LomoKino Movies of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-29 #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of 2015

    Creating a movie, no matter how short it is, requires an extra effort. For it to be coherent, one must stay focused throughout the entire process - from planning the story, shooting the scenes, to editing the clips. We'd like to commend these lomographers for taking an extra step to keep the spirit of analog movie making alive!

    2015-12-29
  • Lomography x CLUB PETANQUE Rumble

    written by Lomography France on 2015-11-16 #news
    Lomography x CLUB PETANQUE Rumble

    Lomography and CLUB PETANQUE gives you the opportunity to spend winter in comfort and style! Join this rumble for the chance to win special prizes!

    2015-11-16 2
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • “Postcards from Shikoku” by Jörgen Axelvall x Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    written by ciaoannacotta on 2016-07-13 #people #videos
    “Postcards from Shikoku” by Jörgen Axelvall x Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    Jörgen Axelvall is Swedish photographer based in Tokyo. After shooting some fantastic photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Petzval Lens, we handed him the Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens to test.

    2016-07-13 1
  • Join the Lomography x The Marshmallowist Rumble

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-07-21
    Join the Lomography x The Marshmallowist Rumble

    Lomography have teamed up with The Marshmallowist who makes beautiful and colourful marshmallows to give you the chance to win their brand new cookbook, an Actionsampler with film AND some tasty marshmallows to match!

    2016-07-21
  • Lomography X Leuchtturm1917 - A Photo Competition Full of Colors

    written by petit_loir on 2015-10-02 #news
    Lomography X Leuchtturm1917 - A Photo Competition Full of Colors

    The world of Lomography is full of colors, just like the products from Leuchtturm1917. Show us how colorful life can be and get the chance to win great prizes from Leuchtturm1917 and Lomography.

    2015-10-02 9