Kodak T-max (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

2009-01-31 7

This was my first encounter with T-max 100, and what a happy one it was!

This was my first encounter with T-max 100, and what a happy one it was!

I came across T-max during a period of crazy film-hopping, just trying everything out I could get my hands on. I popped it in my Supersampler one morning on my way to work, shot away during the day (lots of trains and train stations), and finally developed it at home in my kitchen sink. So much fun!

Because I’m lazy, I like to use stand development when I develop my own film, and this is probably the most pleasing result I’ve had so far. The vignettes look absolutely stunning!
This is supposed to be the world’s finest grained 100 ISO black and white film, which I totally believe and because it’s extremely sharp it makes great enlargements.

Try it out – and don’t be afraid of those home development kits, either!

http://www.kodak.com/global/en/professional/products/films/bw/tMax100.jhtml

http://www.flickr.com/groups/rodinal/discuss/72057594127302566/

written by eggzakly on 2009-01-31 #gear #b-w #100-iso #35mm #review #t-max #kodak

7 Comments

  1. vstephanie
    vstephanie ·

    yes.. t-max is the bomb diggity! and so are your shots!

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    great review and nice shots! supersampler looks fun.

  3. anelfandhiszippo
    anelfandhiszippo ·

    I love t-max but I use the iso 400 and its great also and now I want to try a supersampler to after seeing these shots!

  4. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Very nice review, congrats!
    I have a T-max 100iso film and I haven´t tried it, thanks to your review I will load my LC with it as soon as possible.
    What a fine grain!!! Amazing pics!

  5. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    woww! I wouldn't have imagined such great results in a supersampler!!!
    Good to know!
    Well done!

  6. fabyen
    fabyen ·

    I'm surprised byt he results you got, especially with the supersampler... and only 100 asa !
    I'll try the tmax in it now ! ;-)

  7. anelfandhiszippo
    anelfandhiszippo ·

    A supersampler are on the way to me now :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Shop News

    iMo Indian Blanket Camera Strap back in stock!

    iMo Indian Blanket Camera Strap back in stock!

    Go Native American and carry your gear in style with the iMo Indian Blanket Camera Strap! This quick-release-having, stylish neoprene strap is back in stock!

  • Newcomer of the Week: Lennart Normann (highlens)

    written by lomography on 2016-04-17
    Newcomer of the Week: Lennart Normann (highlens)

    Lennart Normann's first encounter with Lomography happened during a curiosity-fueled trip to a local gallery store. This quick visit introduced him to a creative, colorful, and crazy analogue movement he never knew existed. Five years since, he's now ready to share his dreamy and minimalist photographs to the rest of the community.

    2016-04-17 1
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #gear
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    2015-12-07 3
  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Shop News

    Take a shine to the shiny new Lomo'Instant Mumbai!

    Take a shine to the shiny new Lomo'Instant Mumbai!

    Introducing the shiniest, newest member of our Lomo'Instant Family, the Lomo'Instant Mumbai! Inspired by the golden Indian metropolis filled with striking architecture, busy bazaars and fantastic food, the Lomo’Instant Mumbai combines the beauty of shiny copper and light grey faux leather. Grab one now!

  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-16 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    You know that friend who hovers around after a picture and begs for a peek? That’s us. So when the first batch of Lomo’Instant Wide was shipped out, we naturally waited for happy new owners to share their one-offs. Here are some of our favorites.

    2015-12-16 5
  • Long Exposures Around Europe with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-12-10 #gear #places
    Long Exposures Around Europe with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    One of the things I like the most about the Minitar-1 Art lens is how sharp the focus can be when you shoot with a small aperture. So if you are one of those that like to shoot at night, get a tripod, add this to a late dark winter afternoon, and you will end up with a bunch of beautiful long exposures. This is what I did on my last trip to Europe.

    2015-12-10 4
  • The Infallible Electric Eye

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-10-10 #gear
    The Infallible Electric Eye

    By far the oddest-looking camera I own, the Electric Eye is an auto-exposure viewfinder camera made by Bell & Howell in the late 1950s. I picked one up online and ended up with another one, that came with a very cool, retro looking carrying case, from my grandfather. It took a little while to try these two out but after running some film I found that this camera is a lot of fun to shoot with.

    2016-10-10
  • Shop News

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get 15% discount on Lomography Films when you purchase film with the Lubitel camera!

  • Pictorialism: The Camera as an Art Medium

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-02-28
    Pictorialism: The Camera as an Art Medium

    Pictorialism was the favorite photographic principle in the late 19th century among artists, and it was what immortalized the camera as a tool for art. Here's a quick story about this fascinating movement.

    2016-02-28 1
  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2016-02-24 2
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • Find Out More About