My First Roll on the LC-Wide!

2011-06-23

Everytime there is a new Lomography camera launch, I am very excited to find out about it. But excitement turned to disbelief when I discovered the price of the LC-Wide. It seems to be an overpriced piece of toy…

However, things took another turn when I saw those lovely LC-Wide photos posted on Lomography online. As I read on, I get more tempted to buy it. When I felt ready to take the plunge, it was sold out on Lomography Asia!!!

Now I have no choice but to pre-order and wait for the next shipment. Fortunately, I don’t have to wait long and about 1 week later, I took delivery of the LC-Wide.

First impressions are that the construction and workmanship are more or less the same as the LC-A+ and I wonder why I am paying so much more? The black wooden box’s contents are also very familiar to me: cable release, 2 rolls of negatives, manual, photo book, strap and 2 film masks. Fortunately, the next day is a Saturday and I immediately took the LC-Wide for a test shoot. I didn’t fix the supplied mask as I wanted to have the flexibility to switch between Full frame (FF) & Half frame (HF) mode.

After taking a few standard FF shots, I began to remember what I read on the Lomography website and started experimenting with a mixture of FF & HF shots. Along the way, I took a few MX shots.

Here’s my totally unscientific and personal pros & cons after collecting the results:

Pros:
1. Shorter minimum focusing distance of 0.4m as compared to LC-A+.
2. Able to easily switch between FF & HF mode if you don’t fix the supplied masks.
3. Ultra wide angle enables you to get up close and personal with the subject. Good for street shooting.
4. Able to get seamless panoramic by shooting in HF mode without using the mask.
5. I can mix FF & HF on the same exposure.

Cons:
1. It cannot fit the Splitzer (which is my favorite LC-A+ accessory). However, you can mitigate this somewhat by setting the lens cover to HF mode and take a shot. For the next shot, open the lens cover to the FF mode.
2. Expensive. However, I don’t see this as a deterrent as it is sold out the second time on Lomo Asia.

In summary, I can foresee that this camera will being me endless fun in the days to come. A lot of people still think that this camera is overpriced but now I think it is worth every cent as the possibilities are infinite! Go grab one and Lomo on!

written by coolsigg on 2011-06-23 #gear #requested #lc-wide #test #streets #lomography #roll #xpro #film-camera #chrome #walkabout #35mm #100 #singapore #lomo #review #user-review

Mentioned Product

Lomo LC-Wide

Lomo LC-Wide

Capture your life in wide angle with the world's widest 35mm compact camera with a 17mm ultra-wide-angle lens.

Add to Cart

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2016-01-05 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    I was really excited when I got to test the Lomo'Instant Wide recently. Nine packs of film and and one week later I can say: "This camera works really well and I am looking forward to my own Portobello Road Edition!"

    2016-01-05 10
  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

    2016-01-13
  • 11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-09 #gear
    11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    For some, it marked their first foray into the wonderful world of analog photography. Others consider it a trusty, go-to camera despite having a massive camera collection which sometimes include some of the best gear there is. Whatever the case may be, toy cameras will always hold a special place in the hearts (and shelves) of analog photographers everywhere, quirks and all.

    2015-12-09 1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • The Bazaar by Lomography: Tell Us What You Seek!

    written by Lomography on 2016-03-28 #news
    The Bazaar by Lomography: Tell Us What You Seek!

    If you haven't already heard, we've launched a new curated category of over 250 exciting products. And we want your help to find even more! Share you suggestions for the Bazaar and you might get a special thank you gift from us!

    2016-03-28 1
  • First Roll: Brunoroids with Lomochrome Purple Film! [NSFW]

    written by lomographynyc on 2016-09-14 #people
    First Roll: Brunoroids with Lomochrome Purple Film! [NSFW]

    When experimenting with new rolls of film, it's often the first roll that brings both the most joy and the most trial & tribulation. We want to start highlighting some successful first attempts here on our Magazine with our films. The first in this line up is Brian Bruno aka Brunoroids.

    2016-09-14
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-01-12 #news
    Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    Lumiere London is a brand new light festival celebrating some of the most iconic streets and buildings in various locations around the city. It runs from January 14th - 16th and is free to attend. There will be installations, videos, interactive pieces and projections, all coming to life at night.

    2016-01-12
  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 #news #videos #gear
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

    2015-11-16
  • Lomography Soho London Workshops and Events in March

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-02-25 #news
    Lomography Soho London Workshops and Events in March

    Spring is here and we have a super line up of workshops and events for March. We will also be at The Photography Show in Birmingham to showcase our range of Art Lenses and Instant cameras and run Lomo’instant Wide workshops at the venue. There will also be a new exhibition in store from the very talented Andrej Russkovskij.

    2016-02-25
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    2016-04-03 12
  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-16 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    You know that friend who hovers around after a picture and begs for a peek? That’s us. So when the first batch of Lomo’Instant Wide was shipped out, we naturally waited for happy new owners to share their one-offs. Here are some of our favorites.

    2015-12-16 5
  • Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-25 #gear
    Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    I’ve been shooting analogue as long as I can remember but it wasn’t until a few months ago that I was introduced to instant photography. So, you can imagine when I was given the chance to try out the recently introduced Lomo’Instant Wide, I “instantly” said yes and hit the streets of Vienna!

    2016-01-25 2