Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) user-review

8

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

I’m usually a colour film gal – xpro actually, thanks for asking – but this crappy, cheap Chinese film has captured my cold, dead heart.
Sure, its emulsion may scratch off and it’s results vary wildly without reason… but I’m not one for predictable results.

Helpful hints and tips for your Lucky taking pleasure:

  • Try cranking the contrast if you’re scanning yourself. I’ve done this in a few of my shots.
  • Awesome in low light without flash
  • Look very carefully at the counter window when winding your film on to avoid missing shots. The numbers are apparently printed in some kinda 10% ink solution.
  • I have the inside of my Holga taped up to avoid film scratches, so check out my results and increase or decrease tape to your liking.

written by rikkib on 2009-01-06 #gear #120 #review #b-w #lucky #holga

8 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    funny review and cool gallery

  2. reid
    reid ·

    your photos are amazing. Are they taken in California?

  3. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    you gals having some much fun there :)

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    yeah, I really like this Lucky film as well! :))

  5. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    hmmm - i likey! shot number 4 is fantastic!

  6. rikkib
    rikkib ·

    Thanks guys :)
    Reid - Nope, they were taken in Australia.

    I just got some new Lucky and the backing paper is black... even MORE impossible to see the numbers!

  7. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Awesome!

  8. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    good tip about taping the inside of the Holga up :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Summer Essentials

    written by charlottepelleray on 2016-07-09 #gear
    Summer Essentials

    Summer is finally here – and it’s the perfect timing to take the plunge and reconnect with photography and experimentation. Whether capturing your best friendly moments or memorising the landscapes of your holidays – we have made a list of summer essentials ready to fulfil your creative desires.

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Call For Entry: Holga & Friends Out of the Box Competition

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-28 #news
    Call For Entry: Holga & Friends Out of the Box Competition

    Lomographers around the world: submit your photographs to the 6th Annual Holga & Friends Out of the Box (On Creativity That Is!) International Photography Competition, judged by New York City photographer Harvey Stein. The winners will be included in a gallery show, Best in Show earning $500!

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!

  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    1
  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Photographs of Subjects Under the Control of Wind and Gravity

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-23 #culture
    Photographs of Subjects Under the Control of Wind and Gravity

    Here's a curated gallery of subjects being blown away or pulled by gravity towards directions.

  • Witness Lewis Hine's Documented Reality of Early 20th Century America

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-23 #culture #people
    Witness Lewis Hine's Documented Reality of Early 20th Century America

    Visit early modern America through the eyes of 20th century documentary photographer Lewis Hine.

  • Portraiture in Reverse: a Candid Study of Toby Harvard

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-07-23 #people
    Portraiture in Reverse: a Candid Study of Toby Harvard

    Everything about a person can be read upon the sight of his face -- the squint of eyes, turn of lips or raise of brows immediately paint one's feelings like an open book; but these elements are shrouded in English photographer Toby Harvard's portraiture.

  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Light Painting Experimentations

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-23 #gear
    Light Painting Experimentations

    Wanna spice up your photography game? Take a look at this selection of light painting ideas and tools and go experiment your ninja skills!

  • Meet our LomoGuru: Duffman

    written by Lomography on 2016-07-23
    Meet our LomoGuru: Duffman

    Lomographer Martynas, or duffman in the community, has a penchant for finding poetry in the mundane. Discover what makes this young LomoGuru tick and his inspiring work outside photography.

  • "Be An Explorer" Campaign: Launch Day!

    written by kasim-lks on 2016-07-23 #news #places
    "Be An Explorer" Campaign: Launch Day!

    We have been looking forward to Lomography x Fashion Walk-Be An Explorer on show for a long time. Finally, it has arrived! Aside from the 80-metre long LomoWall, there is also a Petzval 175 Years Exhibition and Lomo'Instant Wide Photo Booth.

    2