The La Sardina Review

5

As an official Lomography tester I’ve been lucky enough to hold the new La Sardina camera in my hands and have been really surprised and pleased with the results so far! La Sardina is a lovely camera. Every time I go out with it, people start the strangest and funniest conversations I have ever had about it – Especially if I bring the spectacular flash with me, which is what really turns it into an object of desire.

I have travelled a lot with my La Sardina – I’ve brought it to Amsterdam, Vienna, Barcelona, Valencia, Granollers, Cádiz, Seville, Sitges, Murcia, Cartagena… Well, actually, I’ve almost been all over Spain with it…

La Sardina is lightweight, slender, quick, silent and easy to use. It uses 35mm film; it carries a quite angular and very funny lens, which gives it a personal style, different from other Lomography cameras. It has got its own personality, focus quality in the center of the frame and slight blurring of its vertex. It also gives well-saturated colors and the viewing angle is perfect to tell real stories. It obliges you to really get close in every scene and is easy to frame because of the viewfinder (which is very precise). It gives you two focus options and has a 1/125 second shutter speed with an F/11 diaphragm.

With La Sardina, very sharp pictures are obtained – they are very CRISP!!! And you can experiment too – You can make double and multiple exposures, you can work in B mode and unleash your creativity with its new and elegant flash, which to top it all off, gives you the option of establishing various powers, in distances from 1 to 5 meters, a real crazy thing. We only need to be careful about not leaving it switched on; the battery can be drained easily.

In short, a new and nice camera is born. It will give us the opportunity to enjoy analogue and to make friends with it. Every time I have approached someone I’ve met in order to make a portrait with La Sardina, we have ended up drinking beers and eating nice grilled sardines, proof is in the Sardina Photos!!!

Welcome to the big Lomographic family La Sardina, I am sure you will turn into a most wanted and desired camera! Long live La Sardina…and long live Lomography!

View the La Sardina cameras in the Online Shop
Head to the La Sardina Microsite

written by pasqualecaprile on 2011-06-16 #gear #review #sardina #la-sardina #new-lomography #lasardina #sardine #camera

5 Comments

  1. user575
    user575 ·

    very glad it wasn't a fish eye!

  2. jonasatarao
    jonasatarao ·

    Estou louco para colocar as mãos na minha!

  3. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    i really have to buy one! :D

  4. tobybates91
    tobybates91 ·

    What film did you use?:)

  5. selinawong6789
    selinawong6789 ·

    What film did you use! The photos look amazing! (:

More Interesting Articles

  • Capture the Action with the Lomo’Instant

    written by chvo on 2015-10-01 #gear
    Capture the Action with the Lomo’Instant

    Have you been using your Lomo'Instant just for portraits and laid-back photos so far? While the the Lomo'Instant makes really cute mini-portraits, it can also produce awesome pictures in action-filled situations.

  • LomoAmigos: PINS

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-13 #people
    LomoAmigos: PINS

    Faith Holgate, Lois McDonald, Anna Donigan and Sophie Galpin make up PINS, a Manchester-based band that has released two albums and crafted a unique, raw and confident sound. The band is signed to Bella Union, run by ex Cocteau Twins member Simon Raymonde and have been documenting their rock'n'roll life with the La Sardina camera.

    1
  • Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-02-09 #people
    Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    Straight from Norway comes this pop band with a full hand of Fisheye and Sardina photos. Highasakite released its debut album in 2012 and have been hitting the album charts and playing all over the world since then.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    1
  • Lomography X "Dopamine" by Third Eye Blind Exclusive Contest

    written by mike_mytnick on 2015-08-26 #news
    Lomography X "Dopamine" by Third Eye Blind Exclusive Contest

    Lomography teams up with acclaimed rock band Third Eye Blind to celebrate the release of its new album, Dopamine, by hosting an exclusive photo contest! The prizes include a La Sardina Camera and Flash Splendour, Dopamine on CD and Dopamine T-Shirts! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    1
  • LomoAmigos: Dutch Uncles

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-09-02 #videos #people
    LomoAmigos: Dutch Uncles

    UK based Dutch Uncles released their fourth album titled “O Shudder” earlier this year. The band is composed of Pete Broadhead on guitar, Andy Proudfoot on drums, Robin Richards on bass guitar, and Duncan Wallis on lead vocals and piano. They've been busy on tour and have been playing in various festivals around the UK, and documented these experiences with an LC-A camera.

    1
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-06-13 #gear #culture #people
    Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett races a Volkswagen touring car, which is based off a street car but has been modified for racing-- road racing in particular. Here's Simon with a bit more on what he does, why he does it, and on shooting film again, as he recently took us trackside with the La Sardina.

  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • Remarkable Film Photographs Captured by the Homeless Featured on Cafe Art 2016 My London Calendar

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-02 #news
    Remarkable Film Photographs Captured by the Homeless Featured on Cafe Art 2016 My London Calendar

    Armed with disposable cameras, a number of people affected by homelessness in London trooped out in the streets and captured life from their individual perspectives. That was in July; now, 13 photographs have been selected via public vote and will be featured on the upcoming calendar by Cafe Art, an initiative that "[showcases] artwork created by people affected by homelessness or are socially vulnerable."

  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • On Music, Travel and Photography: Alex Grünig of Old Gypsy Man's Hat

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-30 #people
    On Music, Travel and Photography: Alex Grünig of Old Gypsy Man's Hat

    Alex Grünig is an ardent traveler,and he has taken his La Sardinia across Canada. Old Gypsy Man's Hat's frontman is making music and roaming around Montréal. In this exclusive interview, he recounts how Lomo and Photography have been with him along the way.

  • Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-20
    Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    Some lomographers prefer to hoard as many analog cameras their shelves and budgets can support. Some would rather keep a manageable number that they can regularly shoot with. Community member Joshua Kennedy belongs to the latter group. From 40 cameras, he downsized his collection to 13, as he puts it, "really good ones" that suit his shooting habits and style. In this interview, he breaks down his small yet dependable arsenal of vintage and handmade cameras and how an organized schedule allows him to shoot with each one on a regular basis.

    2
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    12