The La Sardina Review

2011-06-16 5

As an official Lomography tester I’ve been lucky enough to hold the new La Sardina camera in my hands and have been really surprised and pleased with the results so far! La Sardina is a lovely camera. Every time I go out with it, people start the strangest and funniest conversations I have ever had about it – Especially if I bring the spectacular flash with me, which is what really turns it into an object of desire.

I have travelled a lot with my La Sardina – I’ve brought it to Amsterdam, Vienna, Barcelona, Valencia, Granollers, Cádiz, Seville, Sitges, Murcia, Cartagena… Well, actually, I’ve almost been all over Spain with it…

La Sardina is lightweight, slender, quick, silent and easy to use. It uses 35mm film; it carries a quite angular and very funny lens, which gives it a personal style, different from other Lomography cameras. It has got its own personality, focus quality in the center of the frame and slight blurring of its vertex. It also gives well-saturated colors and the viewing angle is perfect to tell real stories. It obliges you to really get close in every scene and is easy to frame because of the viewfinder (which is very precise). It gives you two focus options and has a 1/125 second shutter speed with an F/11 diaphragm.

With La Sardina, very sharp pictures are obtained – they are very CRISP!!! And you can experiment too – You can make double and multiple exposures, you can work in B mode and unleash your creativity with its new and elegant flash, which to top it all off, gives you the option of establishing various powers, in distances from 1 to 5 meters, a real crazy thing. We only need to be careful about not leaving it switched on; the battery can be drained easily.

In short, a new and nice camera is born. It will give us the opportunity to enjoy analogue and to make friends with it. Every time I have approached someone I’ve met in order to make a portrait with La Sardina, we have ended up drinking beers and eating nice grilled sardines, proof is in the Sardina Photos!!!

Welcome to the big Lomographic family La Sardina, I am sure you will turn into a most wanted and desired camera! Long live La Sardina…and long live Lomography!

View the La Sardina cameras in the Online Shop
Head to the La Sardina Microsite

written by pasqualecaprile on 2011-06-16 #gear #sardine #camera #new-lomography #review #sardina #lasardina #la-sardina


  1. user575
    user575 ·

    very glad it wasn't a fish eye!

  2. jonasatarao
    jonasatarao ·

    Estou louco para colocar as mãos na minha!

  3. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    i really have to buy one! :D

  4. tobybates91
    tobybates91 ·

    What film did you use?:)

  5. selinawong6789
    selinawong6789 ·

    What film did you use! The photos look amazing! (:

More Interesting Articles

  • The Infallible Electric Eye

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-10-10 #gear
    The Infallible Electric Eye

    By far the oddest-looking camera I own, the Electric Eye is an auto-exposure viewfinder camera made by Bell & Howell in the late 1950s. I picked one up online and ended up with another one, that came with a very cool, retro looking carrying case, from my grandfather. It took a little while to try these two out but after running some film I found that this camera is a lot of fun to shoot with.

  • LomoAmigos: PINS

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-13 #people
    LomoAmigos: PINS

    Faith Holgate, Lois McDonald, Anna Donigan and Sophie Galpin make up PINS, a Manchester-based band that has released two albums and crafted a unique, raw and confident sound. The band is signed to Bella Union, run by ex Cocteau Twins member Simon Raymonde and have been documenting their rock'n'roll life with the La Sardina camera.

    2015-11-13 1
  • Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-02-09 #people
    Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    Straight from Norway comes this pop band with a full hand of Fisheye and Sardina photos. Highasakite released its debut album in 2012 and have been hitting the album charts and playing all over the world since then.

  • Shop News

    Preorder the most versatile instant camera, the Lomo'Instant Automat in the shop now!

    Preorder the most versatile instant camera, the Lomo'Instant Automat in the shop now!

    Thanks to the overwhelming support from our KickStarter backers, the Lomo'Instant Automat KS project was an outstanding success! For the fashionably late, we're happy to let you know that the Lomo'Instant Automat is now available for pre-order in the shop! Preorder now and get all a strap, splitzer, & extra color gels for FREE! Get it for Christmas!

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-06-13 #gear #culture #people
    Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett races a Volkswagen touring car, which is based off a street car but has been modified for racing-- road racing in particular. Here's Simon with a bit more on what he does, why he does it, and on shooting film again, as he recently took us trackside with the La Sardina.

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Holycrap: Collecting Rubbish Analogue Memories

    written by Sunshine Reyes on 2016-10-24 #people
    Holycrap: Collecting Rubbish Analogue Memories

    Holycrap is a family art collective based in Singapore, whose award-winning RUBBISH Famzine showcases their stories and memories through poetry, illustrations, and film photography.

  • Darkly Romantic Hand-Tinted Images by Rocky Schenck

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-10-24 #news
    Darkly Romantic Hand-Tinted Images by Rocky Schenck

    Contemporary photographer draws inspiration from early Pictorialism to create this enigmatic series of hand-tinted photographs.

  • Monday Moodboard: World of Words

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-10-24 #culture
    Monday Moodboard: World of Words

    Some wise passages, beautiful words and bits of poetry are here to uplift your Monday blues.

  • Shop News

    Get great deals on Lomography Films all this week!

    Get great deals on Lomography Films all this week!

    It's time to stock your larders for the photographic winter! Add 5 of your favorite B/W, Color Negative, or Red Scale Lomography film to your cart and pay the price for 4 when you use LOMOFILM54 on check out! This special deal available for just one week!

  • Lomopedia: AgfaPhoto CT Precisa 100

    written by cheeo on 2016-10-24 #news
    Lomopedia: AgfaPhoto CT Precisa 100

    Play around with vibrant colors and strong saturation with the AgfaPhoto CT Precisa 100.

  • Zoe Sky Jordan x Lomography: Topiary

    written by katphip on 2016-10-24 #news
    Zoe Sky Jordan x Lomography: Topiary

    Fall has arrived and in celebration of the release of Topiary we would like to ask the Lomography community to submit their favorite photos capturing nature, trees, and foliage.

    2016-10-24 1
  • This Week on Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2016-10-23 #news
    This Week on Lomography

    Here's your weekly dose of the latest happenings in the Lomography Community.

    2016-10-23 3