Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

2008-12-18 8

The Real Infrared! If you want to see what shines in the colours you can’t see, this is it.

The Real Infrared! If you want to see what shines in the colours you can’t see, this is it.

This is as close as you can come to Kodak High Speed Infrared, that’s fresh and new. All you need is a suitable camera (120 is easier to load), something to steady the camera on, because the exposures are long, and the right filter. This film doesn’t cut off until 820nm, so you can get wonderful infrared effects. Foliage will be light and shiny, the sky dark, and people will be luminous and translucent. Make sure your clothes are thick and wooley, if you are in the picture. Otherwise, your naughty bits might shine through.

The photos in this review were shot with a Rollei 3.5f and a Fuji GW690III.

If the film is 35mm, you must load your camera in a changing bag. There is no antihalation layer on the film, and the leader on 35mm will pipe light and fog half the roll. 120 film allows loading in very dim light. It has a paper backing, and the film is not exposed on loading. Keep the film cool until you’re ready to use it.

Anyway, put your loaded camera on the tripod, and put on the cable release. Focus on your subject, then back of the focus point to the infrared mark (longer wavelength, different focus point) or first depth of field mark. Put on the filter (Hoya R72 or Kodak Wratten #88A or #87) and make the exposure. The exposure will be about a half a second at f/16 in bright sunlight. Calculate from there.

Here’s the exposure data for your light meter:

  • Unfiltered = ISO 100
  • Yellow filter = ISO 50
  • Orange filter = ISO 25
  • Red filter = ISO 12
  • Dark red filter = ISO 6
  • Opaque red filter (that Hoya R72) = ISO 3

The fiercer the filter, the greater the infrared effect. Don’t use a RG830 or a Wratten #87C; these are too dense, even for this film, and only work on real Kodak High Speed Infrared (cut off 950nm).

Efke ir820 can be developed in normal black and white chemistry, like stock Kodak D-76 for about 7 minutes at 20C (so says the darkroom tech at the photo shop). Just make sure of total darkness, and watch out for infrared frame counters on automated developing machines.

For Holga users, put this film in the camera, seal the leaks really well,including the red window, use the red filter, put it on a tripod, guess the advance turns, and use 4 1/100 second exposures in bright sunlight (more or less) at the f/11 stop.
If you want infrared effects, I highly recommend Efke ir820 and don’t be afraid to experiment!

written by herbert-4 on 2008-12-18 #gear #efke #rollei-35f #efke-ir820 #fuji-gw690iii #infrared #b-w #35mm #review

8 Comments

  1. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great revuew! I love the gallery!

    I hope you get Film Review of the Week (:

  2. larslau
    larslau ·

    btw. "Make sure your clothes are thick and wooley, if you are in the picture. Otherwise, your naughty bits might shine through."

    I think you should wear some very very very thin underwear -- and nothing more, for this to be true (:

  3. xpunklovex
    xpunklovex ·

    Great review ! I have to try it.

  4. bravopires
    bravopires ·

    new dimension

  5. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Further explanation on the "naughty bits... shine through" situation:
    There was a photo of a very fair, redheaded girl in a green and black nylon one piece, one colour photo and the matching Kodak Highspeed Infrared photo, posted at the Navy photo shop at Pt. Mugu very long ago. The nylon was VERY transparent. The issue was synthetic materials, mostly.
    Wool is pretty opaque, and cotton a bit translucent, if it's thin. They didn't mention linen or hemp.
    Herb

  6. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    great shots
    i really love the last one

  7. rickyredracer
    rickyredracer ·

    Thanks for the review. I just got a Holga for Christmas, and now I am going backwards from digital to film. Your pictures on that film is EXACTLY what I have been trying to go for all along and have not been able to acomplish. I'm picking up a supply of film now and maybe I will be able to get that shot not!

  8. nural
    nural ·

    I'm just about to order this!

  9. hervinsyah
    hervinsyah ·

    AWESOME. I HOPE I COULD USE THIS FILM WITH 135MM FORMAT SOMEDAY :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Ethereal Photos Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-11-09 #news
    Ethereal Photos Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm) Rumble Winners

    If you have yet to try your hand at infrared photography, this selection of otherworldly landscapes will give you enough reason to put the Efke IR820 on top of your film list.

    2015-11-09 5
  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 #news #gear
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    2015-11-01
  • Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-02 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    Aside from the Magazine, the shoutbox is a great place to explore if you want to be updated on the latest happening in the film photography world.

    2015-10-02 3
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 #news #videos #gear
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

    2015-11-16
  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 #people
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • A Tactile Trip Through Town with the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-23 #news
    A Tactile Trip Through Town with the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens

    What makes an engaging image? What makes a photograph seem more like a memory than just an image? How is it able to make you feel as if you were right there, in that moment, experiencing the scene first hand?

    2016-01-23
  • Top Shoutbox Users of October 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-10-30 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of October 2015

    Aside from the Magazine and your own LomoHome, the shoutbox is another effective platform in the community to voice out your thoughts. And keeping this space brimming with activity are these lomographers who are always armed with interesting things to say!

    2015-10-30 7
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Make Every Instant Count: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2016-08-30 #gear #news
    Make Every Instant Count: The New Lomography Mystery Product Part 4

    It’s almost time to find out what our brand new Mystery Product is! But for those of you who just can’t wait another instant, there’s one more clue…

    2016-08-30 24
  • The Big Picture: The New Lomography Mystery Product (Part 1)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-09 #news #gear
    The Big Picture: The New Lomography Mystery Product (Part 1)

    Yes, you read that right: Lomography has once again come up with a cool new product! But as much as we want to spill the beans right this moment—where would be the fun in that, right?—we've decided to make things a little more exciting by conducting a couple of rounds of good ol' guessing game. Sounds good? Step right in and see if you can crack our clues!

    2015-10-09 18