Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

2008-12-22 3

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab…. As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can’t have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn’t ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

A day with Fuji Press 800: All began with the Krab…. As I wanted to shoot underwater with my LCA+, I bought a Krab and needed a high speed film for the shots and as the LCA+ can’t have a flash with the Krab housing, I was searching for an 800 ASA film. I saw on the Lomo shop this 800 Fuji Press but didn’t ever heard of this film before, so I bought a pack of 5.

Now, the day arrived to test the Krab with this Fuji Press 800. I was a bit worried because the weather was really beautiful with a strong light and I thought "ok, for the underwater shots this film would be okay, but if I want to take some shots out of the water (even if the LCA+ is able to adapt to every situation) they’ll be pehaps a little bit burned out, i guess….

What a surprise when I saw the negative developped: not only the underwater shots were exposed really good (that was expected with on this film of its kind) but the shots in the bright sunlight and out of the water were all very good too! This film has a very fine grain, a good contrast and beautiful blue and white tones of cool color. Perfect for the seaside even in bright sunlight and also perfect for underwater shots, whatever the condition!
But I am not done yet, as I only had this roll for the whole day, I also took some shots at night and when the roll was finished, as I still wanted to take some shots, I rewind it back again for a little bit to make some hazardous doubles. Well, the result was astonishing: cool night shots, and even when the shots were doubled with the daytime ones, they still were perfectly balanced!

Wow! this is a film everyone should have on their pockets: an 800 film that matches whatever lighting conditions you’re in. Be it underwater, sunny seaside, night and double shots without losing anything of its qualities….that’s a great film for sure!
And if you’re not convinced, have a look at the gallery where you can see all what you can shoot in a day with this FUJI Press 800! :)

written by vicuna on 2008-12-22 #gear #press #colour-negative #underwater #35mm #review #fuji

3 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    the 15th shoot is so amazing!

  2. scottmitchell
    scottmitchell ·

    hey this really helps! i have a krab housing too but my pictures all come out dark , definately going to try this film

  3. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    i love the underwater shots :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    written by morlice on 2016-01-07 #people
    A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    Jonathan Weimar, better known as johnny-weimar in the community, professes his passion for photography with the help of quite a few analog cameras. He has made quite a reputation and is best remembered by the Lomography Turkey crew as the guy who gave 50-something films to develop and scan. Get to know the high school teacher-cum-lomographer in this candid yet inspiring interview.

    2016-01-07 1
  • CS Muncy Meets the Minitar 1 Lens

    written by Samantha Norman on 2016-01-02 #people #gear
    CS Muncy Meets the Minitar 1 Lens

    New York LomoAmigo CS Muncy freelances as a photojournalist for a broad and high-profile clientele. He has worked with Lomography on creative projects in the past, but he has yet to showcase his talent using the LC-A Minitar 1 Lens.

    2016-01-02
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    written by Lomography London on 2016-02-10 #news
    Lomography X V&A: A Paul Strand Competition

    Lomography has teamed up with the Victoria and Albert Museum, London to give you the chance to win tickets to see “Paul Strand: Photography and Film for the 20th Century,” the first retrospective of this highly influential photographer in over 30 years. You can also win a Henry Carroll Book and a Lomo’instant Wide.

    2016-02-10 9
  • LomoAmigo Luka Tacon: Demasiado Sabor!

    written by katphip on 2016-02-10 #people #places
    LomoAmigo Luka Tacon: Demasiado Sabor!

    We met our new LomoAmigo Luka Tacon as we danced to the hypnotic beats of his music project Heartbreaker at our Lomo'Instant Wide Launch Party in NYC. Now, the brooklyn-based DJ and electronic music producer is preparing for an epic Lover's Ball at House of Yes with his friends at Might Get Weird, experimenting with the La Sardina and LC-A, and feeling the Latin rhythms of Costa Rica. Read more about his inspirations and analog adventures. As a special bonus, you can listen to his exclusive Heartbreaker set!

    2016-02-10
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Lucie Tech Awards: Voting Continues until August 22!

    written by katphip on 2016-08-19 #gear #culture #news
    Lucie Tech Awards: Voting Continues until August 22!

    Lomographers! Don't miss the last few days of voting to nominate Lomography for a Lucie Technical Award! Last year, the Lomo'Instant was recognized as the Best Instant Film Camera. With all new new products this year, the possibilities for us are endless!

    2016-08-19
  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    2015-10-05 1
  • Pieter ten Hoopen's Personal Meaning on Photography

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-10-01 #people #places #videos
    Pieter ten Hoopen's Personal Meaning on Photography

    For the photojournalist Pieter ten Hoopen, photography is all about stories.

    2016-10-01