Trinity Buoy Wharf

Trinity Buoy Wharf was once the site where all the buoys and markers for the English coast were made and repaired, it now houses a growing creative community.

Trinity Buoy Wharf, in the London Borough of Tower Hamlets, is the site of London’s only lighthouse. The lighthouse no longer functions but it is the home of various art projects.

In 1998, Urban Space Holdings Ltd took control of the site and in 2001, developed one of the weirdest and most fascinating living spaces ‘Container City’. It’s a studio and office complex made from recycled sea shipping containers.The original project was made from 80% recycled material. "Container City " took 5 months to complete, taking 4 days to install.

London’s smallest museum, The Faraday Project is housed in a tiny wooden hut and devoted to Victorian scientist Michael Faraday who conducted experiments into electric lighting in the lighthouse in 1863. Jem Finer’s ‘Longplayer’ is a musical composition playing in real time, without repetition over the course of a millennium is also housed here.

Fat Boy’s Diner, a 1940s-style authentic all-American diner complete with malted shakes, table-top jukeboxes, plenty of chrome, and some of the best burgers in town.

written by veneta on 2011-04-21 #places #river #landmark #location #london #lcg #trinity-buoy-wharf

More Interesting Articles