Holga Wide Pinhole Camera (WPC): User Review, Exposure Table, and More

2011-07-05 24

This camera eats film like the leviathan swallows ships. Find here a few tips about this pinhole monster.

Searching for ‘WPC’ in the search bar of lomography.com, I found 3 camera reviews (one by mephisto19, one by kylewis and one by juznobsrvr), 3 film reviews (one by eggzakly, one by mephisto19 and one by rater), 3 locations by eggzakly (here, here and here), and, one tripod review by eggzakly.

Despite the very significant amount of awesomeness represented by all these articles, I could not find a clear answer to the question: ‘For how long shall I expose?’

As a remedy and also to satisfy my thirst of shooting, I shot a lot. I tested different films, different processes and measured different exposure durations in different ambient lights. And then I made a table. Note that I do not guarantee absolute satisfaction if you ever try using it. Results vary a lot according to the emulsion and also to how each one of us senses light. I never used an exposure meter, just counted in my mind (except for the very long exposures).

Using these duration, I obtained the following results.

With normal E6 or XPro processes:

With Hybrid processes:

With Rodinal:

That was satisfying, but not enough. Given that you can use 35mm film in the WPC, you can also get some 70mm action. First, I had to re-use my idea of frame counter for Holga, and apply it to the WPC. I did, and here’s the counter.

These arrows indicate the fraction of turn you have to do between shots, after you have already made two turns. As you can see, 1 and 2 are on the same spot which means you need to do 3 (2+1) turns from shot 1 to shot 2. Then, you do 2 turns, and you add the fraction of turn that separates 2 and 3. And so on…

After you processed your films, a good thing to do is to roll all of your films around a toilet paper roll and tighten them with elastics. Films must be parallel to the paper roll, with the emulsion side towards the outside.

This will curve the films away from the glass of your scanner and avoid the creation of those bloody ‘Newton rings’.

Now. When you make 70mm you have to scan the entire area of the film. Despite all the satisfaction that my digitaliza gives me, it is not suitable for this exercise. A cheap way to get a full scan of your 35mm is to tape them on the 120 scanning mask that came with your scanner.

And if it’s true that the digitaliza does not scan the entire film area, it is still useful when you make 70mm shots with a square Holga. Put the two halves of the frame together at 90° in the digitaliza 120. It’s easy and allows you to scan the two halves together (and therefore avoid scanning variations that occur between the two halves if you scan them separately).

Here are some results with a cross-processed combination of Kodak E100GX and Velvia 100F.

And some ATP 1.1 32 iso processed in ATP DC Developer.

Are you still reading this review?
Probably not.
Because you’re ordering a WPC.
I understand.

written by stouf on 2011-07-05 #gear #atp #70mm #counter #holga #long-exposure #hybrid-process #lomography #70 #chemistry #chemical #x-pro #homemade #diy #wpc #handmade #process #digitaliza #review #e6 #user-review #time #pinhole #cross-process #sprockets #cross #rodinal #exposure #xpro #chemistries #c41 #processing #bulb #hpro #table

24 Comments

  1. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Excellent review! Thanks @stouf for sharing all this lomographic knowledge! :)

  2. ahleng90
    ahleng90 ·

    wow!great review sir!

  3. sushi_9009
    sushi_9009 ·

    Great as always :))

  4. fash_on
    fash_on ·

    woo hoo!!!!! now I feel I can take that beast out for shoots at last :))))

  5. fendyfazeli
    fendyfazeli ·

    nice article. thanks!

  6. trw
    trw ·

    Great article and very helpful information for those of us who are new to pinhole cameras!

  7. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    Very detailed review and very hard work and very time consuming. To tell the truth, i can't finish the whole writing, but I believe this article deserves more than our usual piggies....<:)

  8. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    all you ever whant to know about wpc and never..! thank you @stouf

  9. elvismartinezsmith
    elvismartinezsmith ·

    superrrrrrr!

  10. tveden
    tveden ·

    Great review, the film combo shots are so cool.

  11. kdstevens
    kdstevens ·

    Great job, amigo!

  12. stouf
    stouf ·

    Thank you friends !!! @wuxiong : Ahaha thaaaaaaanks ! 8D

  13. nation_of_pomation
    nation_of_pomation ·

    This very well written! I want a Holga 120WPC so badly, you have no idea.

  14. mcrstar
    mcrstar ·

    Very intresting story, WPC is a great camera

  15. dearjme
    dearjme ·

    I agree with @wuxiong! Let's give @stouf more piggies for this amazing textbook worthy article!

  16. pangmark
    pangmark ·

    Ah, the legend returns!

  17. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    how do you do the double film technique? it;s insanely awesome (:

  18. jeabzz
    jeabzz ·

    merci stouf, super article :D

  19. stouf
  20. itsdebraanne
    itsdebraanne ·

    oh thanks!! (:

  21. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Oh my god. Thanks heaven for the review and the frame counter!!!

  22. renrep
    renrep ·

    Inspiring pictures.

  23. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    Thank you, I'm trying mine out for the first time today, this has been really helpful

  24. lighthouseblues
    lighthouseblues ·

    Excellent review, thanks a lot for sharing!

More Interesting Articles

  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • The Aesthetics of the New Russar+: Five Shooting Tips

    written by lomography on 2015-10-24 #gear #tutorials
    The Aesthetics of the New Russar+: Five Shooting Tips

    With exceptional craftsmanship and features, the New Russar+ is indeed a fine piece of photographic gear. It's then only but right to photograph only the best images with this lens. That being said, here are a few tips to help you not only find the appropriate subjects, but also properly frame and capture them.

    2015-10-24
  • Shop News

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    Light up all your shots with this light-weight, versatile and wireless LED flash! Works best with any iOS and android platforms.

  • Afterimage: When Abstraction Meets Light Painting

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-21 #news
    Afterimage: When Abstraction Meets Light Painting

    A flash here, a flicker there. An afterimage is an optical illusion and reoccurring phenomenon resulting from a brief exposure to a bright light source, such as a camera flash. What's even more fascinating than experiencing this illusion is discovering that your camera is able to mimic its effect! Check out these mysterious afterimage-like light paintings from our online community.

    2016-02-21
  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Impressions: Matthieu Soudet (NSFW)

    written by mpflawer on 2015-12-16 #people
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Impressions: Matthieu Soudet (NSFW)

    Matthieu Soudet's Petzval photos, like his other work, marry pristine landscapes with the human form. He again exhibits his penchant for mixing the sensual with the serene in a new series of images, this time taken with the Lomo'Instant Wide camera. Learn more about the French photographer in this exclusive interview.

    2015-12-16
  • LomoChrome Turquoise: Green and Blue Hues

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-26 #gear
    LomoChrome Turquoise: Green and Blue Hues

    There's more shade and tone in this film than turquoise. Here are some Lomo community images that played with the wide spectrum of LomoChrome Turquoise.

    2
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-03-03 #people #news
    Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    Have you heard of The Knocks? If you haven't (and like to dance) you should definitely listen to these new LomoAmigos, whose first headline tour just sold out! The New York-based electronic duo crossed the country on a tour bus and had a Lomo'Instant Wide in tow. They brought back some amazing photos—see them here and learn more about the guys behind the beats. Plus, get a chance to win a camera signed by The Knocks and a copy of their debut album "55"!

    2016-03-03
  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 #videos #people
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    2016-01-05 1
  • Enjoy The Silence of Brittany Coastline with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by mpflawer on 2016-08-11
    Enjoy The Silence of Brittany Coastline with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    This summer, Morgane from the Lomography French team spent a few days in Brittany. Among the cameras she brought with her was the Lomo'Instant Wide. Here, Morgane drives you to discover the silent beauty of the Brittany coast, its wild landscape and its ghostly boats stranded during the low tide.

    2016-08-11 7
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • A Secret of the Cosmos: History of a Cosmonaut

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-20 #news #gear
    A Secret of the Cosmos: History of a Cosmonaut

    Are you as excited about our new product launch as we are? We can hardly stand the wait, but we're almost at the final frontier! We may be keeping this secret at (docking)bay before our galactic reveal this Thursday, but in the meantime, here are some hilarious and historical fun facts about Russian Space Travel to give you a few more clues about our cosmic secret.

    2016-01-20 11
  • LomoMission: How to be a Superhero Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-08 #news
    LomoMission: How to be a Superhero Winners

    Forget about radioactive spiders and expensive fighting machines. To be lauded as a superhero in this community, having a film camera is more than enough.

    2015-10-08 10
  • My First Lomo Affair: Likelyokie and his Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2

    written by lomography on 2016-01-23 #news
    My First Lomo Affair: Likelyokie and his Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2

    United State-based lomographer Michael, or likelyokie in the community, prefers the way Lomography cameras render the world: colorful and a little bit dreamy. In this interview, he opens up about how the Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2 ignited a burning passion for film photography.

    2016-01-23 6