Lomo LC-A review

2011-04-15 4

I think all of us here know the famous Lomo LC-A? Am I right? Well you sure should! Its pretty much one of the cameras that started all of Lomography! That old Russian beauty!

So whats really that amazing about that small black plastic camera?
Well, point for point :

  • Its small, not extremely, but small enough that you can take it pretty much anywhere you want to! Even just to squish it in your coat pocket!
  • Its an every occasion camera! No matter where you are going, you can always take with your lc-a!
  • It guarantees that every shot you take will turn out! I remember when i first started lomography i read somewhere that you should only expect two or three photos on your roll to be good! That really worried me! So when i got back my first developed pictures i was super nervous to see what they turned out like! And turns out i was surprised in a most positive way! I don’t think i remember having more than one bad picture on the whole film!
  • The lc-a has an auto setting (automatic), so if your a starter or just don’t know about all the settings yet, then voila! It does it all by itself! Apart from the distance setting of course! Never forget the distance! (Which I most frequently do!)
  • Its unique! Of course thats not true exactly! I mean there are lots of lc-´s out there, but you have to remember each is a little different and has its own charm! I like to think that my lc-a gives a special light leak effect that isn’t as common with the lc-a as with say a Holga or Diana! I think that might be beacuse its a little older and the back door doesn’t close completely! So you just need to spend enough time and effort with your lc-a, to find out that magical twist it has!
  • It produces those wonderful saturated and vibrant colors that marks Lomography!
  • Its capable of taking multiple exposures! But if you are a multiple exposure fan, do make sure you get the lc-a+ and not the original lc-a because the newer one has a multiple exposure button, which the russian one doesn’t and is therefore just the slightest bit harder to use!
  • Accessories! Yes, the lc-a has many accessories you can attach and use! From different lenses to color gels, flash attachment, tripods anything you want!
  • Its THE LC-A for Gods sake! There are barely words to describe it! The only way you can is by photos! So if you don’t have it yet, it might be pricey, but trust me, its worth it! Go to the lomography shop or anywhere where you might be able to find it, and please: BUY IT!
    The lc-a is just about the most handy and lovely camera i have ever had, i can always take it with me wherever i go! Don’t forget to experiment with it, it might seem plain at first but there is so much behind it that you still have to discover! Use every type of film, use every ISO, use a spiltzer, use anything and everything. No matter what, it will most always give you back something you like!

written by nadinadu on 2011-04-15 #gear #lomo #review #lc-a #user-review

4 Comments

  1. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    The Automatic setting lever on the LC-A (removed on the LC-A+) is only used to determine how much light to let in when using the flash in low light conditions.

    When set to anything but A, it sets the shutter speed to 1/60 sec then you choose an aperture value depending on how far whatever you're shooting is infront of you.

    Unless you really know what you're doing just leave it to "A"

    If you want to know more about how to use the "Mysterious A switch", read this on Flickr.
    www.flickr.com/groups/lomo/discuss/72157623131963885/

    Glad you're enjoying your original LC-A

  2. nadinadu
    nadinadu ·

    hahaa :) thank you! I didn't know about that!
    but it sounds pretty tricky to do it by yourself...:S
    oh well, time will teach me :)

  3. richidearthworm
    richidearthworm ·

    and cats can use it with the new cat adapters ...... fact ?? grate review :)

  4. miniatuurmensje
    miniatuurmensje ·

    I'm about to buy a Lomo LC-A and I'm super excited!!

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Celeste Ortiz: Analog Possibilities

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-06 #people
    Celeste Ortiz: Analog Possibilities

    Photography has been described as a time-stopping device, something that “freezes” an action. This moment on-pause is the most salient; all conversation about the picture will tend to pin down the beauty of that second. Celeste Ortiz’s photos make us think of something else. A sense of continuation.

    2015-10-06 9
  • Inspiring and Daring Women in Contemporary Photography (Part I)

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-08 #people
     Inspiring and Daring Women in Contemporary Photography (Part I)

    We love a striking photo as much as the next person, but a unique point of view makes us head straight to a feature. Who should the world know more about? Who has rocked our perception of beauty, sexuality and creativity? These questions populate our notepads, and our list of photographers is quite long. For International Women's Day 2016, we whittle the directory down to our current favorites, photographers who resist labels (even the ones we give them) and dare the world to see what they see.

    2016-03-08
  • Recap: Film Photography Day 2016

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-02 #news #videos
    Recap: Film Photography Day 2016

    On April 12, analogue fans from all over the world celebrated Film Photography Day! Here's a look back to all the fun that happened. One thing's for sure: Lomographers know how to party!

    2016-05-02
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    written by vicuna on 2015-09-30
    Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    When someone asks me why I love Burkina Faso so much and what's so special about it, I answer without any hesitation: the people. There's something in this country that connects the people together very strongly. Here, foreign visitors are warmly welcomed. And honestly, I think that the portraits I'm most proud of and that I really love are those shot in Burkina Faso. "Why," you ask?

    2015-09-30 11
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-12-10 #news #gear
    Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-Wide

    There's something about winter landscapes that warms the heart; it gives off a vibe that is equally calming and captivating. Make sure to seize the moment with the Lomo LC-Wide! Take a look at some of our favorite community shots after the cut.

    2015-12-10
  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-16 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    You know that friend who hovers around after a picture and begs for a peek? That’s us. So when the first batch of Lomo’Instant Wide was shipped out, we naturally waited for happy new owners to share their one-offs. Here are some of our favorites.

    2015-12-16 5
  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 #places
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

    2015-10-30