Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

8

Lucky I’m in love! Giving the brand-named rolls a run for their money!

Lucky I’m in love! Giving the brand-named rolls a run for their money!

Cheap, Flexible and Available.
I’m not talking about your next date, I’m talking about how lomographers want their films.
Good thing that this little wonder is plentiful in most Asian countries.
Selling at less than $1.50 for a roll with 36 shots, its no wonder that it has a cult following. Those who can’t always use slide film opt to buy bricks and brick of this little wonder.

Not to be cast aside in terms of performance, it yields delicious colors and contrast during the day
and is more than a trooper with overcast weather and when coupled with a colorsplash flash in the dark.
You can keep on shooting and shooting without the price of films hanging over your little head.

More films and definitely more beer money.

written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-10-22 #gear #review #lucky #super-200 #35mm #colour-negative

8 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    will this one be available in the shop???

    cool gallery

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    my very fav film!!

  3. eazy360
    eazy360 ·

    Me too! Actually submitted a review of this film last June. Hmmm... Good job, halfawakehaiku! Go Lomomanila!

  4. butter
    butter ·

    I recently acquired lots of this film... Definitely my favorite color negative film so far!

  5. zoe191
    zoe191 ·

    we love lucky

  6. icuresick
    icuresick ·

    I love Lucky!

  7. northwardnimbus
    northwardnimbus ·

    have you redscaled a lucky 200 yourself? do it!

  8. halfawakehaiku
    halfawakehaiku ·

    thanks guys. I actually sent this in around June too but decided to resubmit it last week when lucky 200 was included in the list : ) Yey! my first film review!

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    6
  • Lomography x Looper Rumble Winners Announced

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-07-29 #news #videos
    Lomography x Looper Rumble Winners Announced

    Lomography UK teamed up with Scottish Indie/Electronic band Looper and Mute Records to give lucky participants the chance to win a LomoKino and a Looper bundle which includes a 5-CD Box Set signed by the band, live cassette and badge. The band has picked the winners and put them all together in its latest music video for "I’m a Photograph!”

    8
  • Walking on Sunshine with Lomography XPro 200

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-04 #gear
    Walking on Sunshine with Lomography XPro 200

    The ice is melting and winter's almost over. Mother Earth is brought to life once again as spring crawls in. Time to head out and take photos! The colors of Lomography XPro 200 35mm is the perfect balance for spring: subtle azure for traces of winter and a mesh of sunny yellow for the promise of summer.

    1
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Making a Cyanotype Print with Leicester Lo-Fi Photography

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-07-12 #tutorials
    Making a Cyanotype Print with Leicester Lo-Fi Photography

    The Leicester Lo-Fi Photography are a UK based collective who run regular film photography workshops, have an exhibition space and their very own darkroom space. In the first of this series they give us a step-by-step guide to making cyanotype print.

    2
  • Lomography Soho London Workshops and Events in March

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-02-25 #news
    Lomography Soho London Workshops and Events in March

    Spring is here and we have a super line up of workshops and events for March. We will also be at The Photography Show in Birmingham to showcase our range of Art Lenses and Instant cameras and run Lomo’instant Wide workshops at the venue. There will also be a new exhibition in store from the very talented Andrej Russkovskij.

  • Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-12-13 #tutorials
    Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    I recently found a roll of XR Redscale 50-200 film lying around in my drawer and decided to reignite my passion for embracing the weird and unexpected results that film can bring. I shot random doubles around the streets of Soho and was rather delighted with the results.

    1
  • Shop News

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    Great news! Our previous KickStarter success, the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens, is now in stock and ready to ship! What are you waiting for? Go to the shop and grab yours now!

  • Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-20 #people
    Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    New York is an infinitely photographable city in spite—or because—of its innate chaos. And even when the medium is film, praised nowadays for the virtue of slowness, the photographer must keep up with the city’s pace. Ricardo Lozano, 35mm photographer and Lomography community member, managed to do it for the series OK Commuter, now a book by A Love Token Press.

  • 50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-08-17 #news #gear
    50 Electrifying Light Paintings From The Lomography Community

    Light Painting is a cool technique that we love to do when we're in the mood for experimenting with photos. It's super easy and fun, and it only requires a dark room, a friend or two to collaborate with, a camera with long exposure mode and a light painting tool to get started. Check out 50 of the most vibrant light painting photos taken by your fellow Lomographers after the cut!

    5
  • Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-15 #news #people
    Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    "The overarching theme is seeing people in adverse conditions take matters into their own hands and still find the energy to go dancing or fall in love or create art," Astronautalis said of his new album. We found that pretty inspiring, so we teamed up with him for a Rumble competition based on that idea.

  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • Vintage Gallery: Everyman's Beer

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-01
    Vintage Gallery: Everyman's Beer

    As a toast to Oktoberfest 2015, we have combed archives for evidence of beer love in the deeper parts of town. The roadside dives that banner cold beer, German singers holding up their embossed steins and rustic ads by the tracks make up today’s gallery.

  • Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-11 #news #gear
    Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    Have a look at our handpicked selection of lovely photographs shot in low light and at night with the Lomography Color Negative 800 ISO for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Meet our LomoGuru: zulupt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-15 #videos
    Meet our LomoGuru: zulupt

    Aside from being an immensely talented lomographer, what makes him a perfect LomoGuru is his burning desire to share his knowledge. The city where he lives is full of people who are interested in analog photography, but the lack of easy access to film and equipment poses a challenge for them to pursue their passion. To keep them motivated, Hugo organizes workshops and tours on different film photography techniques and DIY tricks. Let's give a loud round of applause to Hugo Pereira, better known in the community as zulupt, our LomoGuru from Marinha Grande, Portugal!

    21