Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Road to Photokina 2016 - Scissors and Glue. Good luck!

My First Lomo Year in Review 2010

2011-02-09 11

I met Lomography in the beginning of 2010, and with my year anniversary as a Lomographer coming around, I thought I’d look down memory lane for my first year.

I found Lomography by accident (or destiny) in February 2010 at an Urban Outfitters store while visiting my girlfriend in Hollywood, California. I bought a Fisheye without knowing what I was getting into, just because the box looked so damn attractive I just had to get my hands on it and buy it! Besides it was like $20 so what could I be losing right? So I picked up a pack of Lomography 800 ISO 35mm film and read the instructions to learn how to load the film into the camera and started shooting on the last day of my trip.

I got back home to Puerto Rico and with seeing the results I was HOOKED. I read the whole booklet that came with the camera and came into Lomography.com to see what the deal was about. And boy did I not know what I had just gotten myself into. I saw thousands of amazing pictures by all of the community members and thought to myself “I need to get another camera”. So I went and bought a Holga 135 BC.

I shot roll after roll and it wasn’t enough. I wanted more and more! I stumbled across the Diana F+ deluxe kit and remember being so attracted to all the lenses and the beauty of the chrome edition. Luckily within a few weeks my school gave me $200 for some unknown reason (they said, forget what the money’s for, don’t ask, just take it, haha) and so I ordered the “Diana F+ deluxe kit”http://shop.lomography.com/diana-deluxe-kit!

Somewhere in between that my dad saw I was getting pretty serious about my analog photography and decided to give me his old Nikon N6006. It was a lot for me to handle at the time, since I was a real newbie to all of this photography terms, and the camera looked pretty complicated for my knowledge. But I gave it a shot either way and quickly learned my way around it.

By then I was already writing articles, and submitting locations, and participating in the community saving up piggies for the day I would be able to buy the beautiful Lomo LC-A+. My girlfriend who was still in Los Angeles bought me a SuperSampler and sent it to me. Isn’t she the best?

I remember I got photo of the day a few times with these pictures:

And in between I also got Lomo Home of the Day! Which helped me boost my piggies A LOT! Enough that I was then able to buy the Lomo LC-A+!

My girlfriend came back from California and it was road trip time! We went many places to photograph during the beginning of the summer around the island, as I had made it my mission to post many locations from Puerto Rico, so I could share my island with the Lomo World. We then went on a trip to New York with my family and boy did we take lots of photos in that week!

After coming back school was starting again so I had less time to take photos, but I still remained active. I contributed some more articles and had been saving up piggies from random rumbles I would get chosen for. There’s was a time when Lomography had a big translation week and I remember I translated like crazy because I was saving up for a Horizon Perfekt which was my new favorite camera on the wishlist. And so the day came, when the Lomography Facebook page reached I don’t remember how many fans, they released a really big discount which I was able to grab and combined with my piggies I was able to get my dream camera! =D

Here comes the best part. I then started winning free cameras! Harry had made his way to Puerto Rico, and we had been having some great times, and as it turns out, apparently the judges had loved my Harry’s photo so much that they decided to give us first place! And with it a brand new Spinner 360º camera for me!

Then the Ripcurl rumble had started and I got chosen for the 1st round with this picture, which got me a lovely Diana Mini!

THEN the big User Blog rumble happened, and that was probably the toughest rumble I’ve fought for. I remember going head to head with azzzy but in the end my love came through and got me a spanking new Sprocket Rocket!

So in conclusion it’s safe to say that it’s been a great first year for my Lomography journey. Since I couldn’t pin them down within the story, here’s a list of the rumbles for which I got a badge in the year 2010.

  • Weekly Rumble: Hot to die
  • Diana Vignettes Rumble Berlin
  • With Lomography Camera
  • Like it Like That Rumble
  • Spread the Love Rumble
  • Łódz LomoWall Rumble
  • My Very Very Vi Ai Pi
  • Sounds Like… Lomowall Competition
  • Rip Curl Competition: Stage I – Whole Lotta Love
  • Lomography Blogathon
  • What Are You Thankful For? Rumble

So that pretty much sums up my analog year in 2010. Now, tell me about yours =)

written by reneg88 on 2011-02-09 #photography #year #2010 #reneg88 #analogue-lifestyle #lifestyle #lomo #lomography #puerto-rico

11 Comments

  1. willyboy
    willyboy ·

    Great post. Very inspirational to those of us just starting out!

  2. kylethefrench
    kylethefrench ·

    Ha only been one year? Seems u been here forever

  3. samguino
    samguino ·

    Holy moly - that's an awesome first year! Congrats on all the rumble wins and photos of the day. Last year is going to be a tough year for you to beat!!

  4. jojo8785
    jojo8785 ·

    Wow!! Congrats on an amazing first year! If my first lomo year is a tenth as successful as yours, I'll be happy.

  5. iaki
    iaki ·

    I love the history!
    Eres un grande René!!!

    I have lomohome since 2008 maybe, but 2010 I begun to be real part of this and It´s amazing
    The Rene´s history in LSI is a little as mine.

    God save LSI!!! haha

  6. antibiotyx
    antibiotyx ·

    congratulations! what an amazing year. february marks my first lomo anniversary too. i should write my own review, but i'm too lazy right now. haha. lomo on, rene!

  7. svala
    svala ·

    Nice, very inspirational!

  8. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    A great first lomo year!!! I wish you a lot more love, lomo and success in the following years René!! :)

  9. natalieerachel
    natalieerachel ·

    Gorgeous gallery!!

  10. reneg88
    reneg88 ·

    thanks everyone for your wonderful comments! it was a lovely year! i hope all the follow are as beautiful! =)

  11. moronoutside
    moronoutside ·

    you are something, man. very inspirational as i just started last december, i wish you more and more success in the following years, cheers!

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    written by shhquiet on 2015-12-30 #news
    Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    2015 was a super exciting year for the world of creative photography. We introduced new products, paid homage to analogue photography and collaborated with like-minded folks. If you missed any of the festivities, don't worry - we promise that there will be more fantastic things to come next year! In the meantime, here's a look back into all the happy Lomography memories!

    2015-12-30 1
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    2016-04-03 12
  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

    2015-09-19
  • Tipster: Three Easy Distressed Masks for the Lomo'Instant

    written by ahollond on 2015-09-13 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: Three Easy Distressed Masks for the Lomo'Instant

    I like to make and use masks with my Lomo'Instant camera, but sometimes they are too dominant. In coming up with more subtle masks, I found several that produced an interesting, distressed look, especially when paired with the camera flash and color gel strips. They're especially good for creating Halloween-themed photos.

    2015-09-13 2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Travel Stories: Cartagena de Indias, Colombia by peruvianfan

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-24 #places
    Travel Stories: Cartagena de Indias, Colombia by peruvianfan

    I traveled to Cartagena de Indias, Colombia in May 2015 with my twin sister. Our birthday was on the 31st, and for the last few years we've had a silent pact to try to spend our birthdays traveling as much as we could (and as long as we’re single!).

    2015-11-24 5
  • Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2016-07-16 #news
    Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    Among the many public events of last year's winter in my hometown Como (that I documented with my albums and with my articles), I think that the most important was the opening ceremony of the jubilee proclaimed by Pope Francis. I photographed everything with my beloved Canon AV-1. Take a look!

    2016-07-16 3
  • Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-10-08 #people
    Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    When asked to recall the moment they first became truly interested in photography, most photographers would remember the magical feeling of picking up a hand-me-down or secondhand camera, the thrill of shooting an entire roll through, and the elation upon seeing and holding their first ever set of photographs. Caleb Savage, however, had quite a unique experience. At 10 years old, he had his first taste of working in the darkroom making prints at Boy Scout camp, thereby beginning a more than a decade-long affinity with photography.

    2015-10-08
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 4

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-25 #news
    Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 4

    As the year comes to a close, Lomography Soho looks back and makes a countdown of the Top 5 events that happened in 2015. At number 4 is the Exhibition of Petzval Portraits by Emily Soto.

    2015-12-25
  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-13
    My First Lomo Affair: Jmcedo and his LC-A+

    Joan Manel Cedó is an avid fan of extreme sports. He has been a rock climber for two decades and has also gained interest in kitesurfing over the years. In both sports, he tries to incorporate his passion for photography. In this instalment of My First Lomo Affair, he talks about how he chance upon the carefree style of shooting with the LC-A+ and all the adventures that followed this discovery.

    2015-09-13 2