Love, Adventure and Expansion! My Analogue Year in Review 2010

2011-03-16 3

I’ve realized that 2010 so far has been the most significant year in my analogue life — and three words that best describes my 2010 analogue life are Love, Adventure and Expansion!

Love and Adventure

I used to think that even though there are quite a number of lomographers here in the Philippines, we were all divided and were doing our own little thing with our own little cliques! Lomomanila, the online community that brought together most lomographers suddenly disappeared – cutting me off from the rest of the group! At first, it seemed impossible for me to create new friends so I would usually just shoot on my own (or sometimes I dragged my boyfriend along because he had no choice :)

Last 2010 however, everything changed and has it has been full ANALOGUE LOVE, LOVE and LOVE ever since!

Early in the year, I joined an online project called Whilst We Wait where I was able to meet wonderful people such as basterda and icuresick. It became an opportunity for me to get to know other Filipino lomographers and join actual lomowalks where anything-goes! I also got to meet a lot of the other Filipino lomographers such as lakandula, icuresick and boredbone through various events.

Various lomowalks and lomoruns!

Not only limited within Philippine borders, last year I had an awesome opportunity to meet and shoot with world-renowned lomographers. Going to USA will never be the same anymore because of ceduxi0n and satomi! From California to Las Vegas we always brought our guns and ammunition wherever we went until our feet got tired and we fell asleep as soon as we plopped down on our beds!!

Adventures with ceduxi0n and satomi

Expansion and Adventure

2010 started out as normal year – I could foresee my analogue life to grow gradually and predictably — I was so wrong however, because now that I look at it, there never any gradual slope! To be technical about things, let me put in a bit of statistics in my review:

In 2010, I bought 170% more cameras than I did in 2009. I’ve tried 400% more varieties of film, and I’ve shot 300% more rolls than 2009 & 2008 combined.

I bought 12 new cameras this 2010.

I’ve also seen adventure in my tastes in film and in cameras. At first I fully enjoyed toy plastic cameras, until I realized I really wanted to learn more about manual photography so I started acquiring rangefinders and SLRs. I’ve also started to explore more serious medium format cameras by trying out TLRs and folder cameras. With films, at first I only stuck to slide films but now I hoard quite a number of DIY redscales, color negatives and black & white films! It was also the year when I first started doing self-portraits, doubles, film swaps and lightpaintings! (I guess the only thing that hasn’t been expanding is my bank account.)

Expansion of Lomography in the Philippines

As a film and film camera seller, business has also expanded in the same exponential manner! The most important fact that I would like to point out is that by mid-2010, 50% of my current customer base is NEW to lomography and have only just begun their journey into the whole new wonderful world of analogue photography! This means that we (and lomography.com) are doing an aweeeesome job spreading the analogue love!

Selling films & cameras during a bazaar in CubaoX

Another important occurrence in 2010 that must be noted is the Fuji Instax Fever! With the help of the Kpop sensation Super Junior and the controversial Lady Gaga (who is now a Polaroid Creative Director), instant photography has been reborn! Fujifilm’s Instax Mini Cameras became so popular worldwide that for some time, it was quite difficult to get your hands on these cameras since they were always out of stock! Now with credit-card sized film, Polaroid also came out with a new line of instant cameras to replace the old square picture format.

Looking back, 2010 has been an awesome year for me and analogue photography. With new locations, new friends, new cameras, new films and new goals — I can’t wait for 2011 to knock my socks off!!! Being blown away by how unpredictable (and in an amazing way) 2010 has been for me, I humbly admit I have no idea how this year will look like — And that’s probably the best possible way it can be.

This article was first published by Kara Hizon in her blog

written by ak47lomogurl on 2011-03-16 #lifestyle #adventure #2010 #love #analogue-life #review #philippines #friends #expansion #lomowalk

3 Comments

  1. olen
    olen ·

    where is your shop located?

  2. ak47lomogurl
    ak47lomogurl ·

    yay! it finally got posted!

  3. renenob
    renenob ·

    Kudos to you Kara!

More Interesting Articles

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    2015-11-03 4
  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    written by vicuna on 2015-09-30
    Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    When someone asks me why I love Burkina Faso so much and what's so special about it, I answer without any hesitation: the people. There's something in this country that connects the people together very strongly. Here, foreign visitors are warmly welcomed. And honestly, I think that the portraits I'm most proud of and that I really love are those shot in Burkina Faso. "Why," you ask?

    2015-09-30 11
  • Shop News

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture more and save more when you buy the LC-Wide Instant Bundle. Get 50% off the original price of the LC-A Instant back, and get the LC-Wide Instant Kit for FREE!

  • Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    written by chvo on 2015-10-06 #news
    Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    LIFE is a film that tells the story Dennis Stock, who photographed James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic images of the star. In line the film's much anticipated release, we asked for your best "friendship" shots for a competition.Here are the winners.

    2015-10-06 1
  • Janne Parviainen: Light Magician

    written by mpflawer on 2015-12-17 #videos #people
    Janne Parviainen: Light Magician

    Janne Parviainen is a 35-year-old artist from Helsinki, Finland. He is both a painter and a photographer but sometimes, he swaps his painting tools for light and creates illuminated pieces of art. Abandoned places are his favorite places for shoots because, according to him, "there's so much lived life and stories in abandoned places, they are the lost diaries and photos turned to dust of lives that once bloomed."

    2015-12-17 8
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Neon Noir by Kelli McGuire

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-26 #people
    Neon Noir by Kelli McGuire

    New York‐based photographer Kelli McGuire takes us into her cinematic vision — one that is feminine, mysterious, and drenched in disco colors.

    2016-09-26
  • Monday Moodboard: Dawn of Autumn

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-26 #culture
    Monday Moodboard: Dawn of Autumn

    Things are about to get "chiller" as the fall season begins. Even the usually stressful Mondays will start to feel easy-going.

    2016-09-26
  • Lomo'Instant Automat: A Dreamer's View from Rose-Tinted Glasses

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-26 #gear #culture
    Lomo'Instant Automat: A Dreamer's View from Rose-Tinted Glasses

    We trespass the realm of dreamers through the lens of the Lomo'Instant Automat.

  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Lomo Locals: New York City's Street Photographer Collective at Lomography NYC

    written by lomographynyc on 2016-09-26 #news
    Lomo Locals: New York City's Street Photographer Collective at Lomography NYC

    Take to the heart of New York City with this dedicated street photography collective, meeting once a month here at the Lomography NYC Space!

    2016-09-26
  • Jonas Bendiksen: Behind the Lens as a Magnum Photographer

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-26 #people #videos
    Jonas Bendiksen: Behind the Lens as a Magnum Photographer

    Norwegian photojournalist and former president of Magnum Photos, Jonas Bendiksen puts the camera down as he shares his life as a photographer.

    2016-09-26
  • This Week on Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-25 #news
    This Week on Lomography

    Need a quick refresher on the LomoHomes and photographs that were on the spotlight this week? Curious as to what your fellow Lomographers have been up to on the Shoutbox? Or want the latest scoop on the most exciting Competitions? Find all these and more in this weekly recap!

    2016-09-25 9