Aqua Pix 35mm Underwater Camera Review

2010-12-07 20

One of the simplest camera ever, I think ! “Just” point and shoot.. Even under the water. It couldn’t be any easier. Aqua pix.

Recently I decided to buy an underwater camera which I would use on my holiday. So I started to look over the net and found this little, funny and cheap thing. As I always do, first I checked the photos that were taken with this camera and I was quite impressed. Then I ordered one.

The camera has simply two parts. One of them is the camera itself and the other one is the underwater protector. Protector can be removed and the camera can be used as a normal 35mm camera.

It has everything fixed, so you don’t need to worry about any adjustment. Aperture is fixed (f:9 I think) and shutter is fixed (1/100 sec. I think) and it has focus free 28mm plastic lens. Thanks to the wide angle lens, f:9 aperture and fixed focus, you never get blurry pictures unless you intentionally shake the camera to get blur effect.

The camera is as light as a feather. Very small (102 X 35 X 72mm) to get into your any pocket (even in your jeans pocket) so you could easily forget the camera is still on you 

The producer claims that the camera can be used under 3-4 m under the water but I haven’t tried yet.
I tried the camera with Fuji Sensia 200 (recently expired slide) and have it cross processed for a sunny day (seems 100 ASA could have been used as well) and Capital 400 (color negative, very very expired) for a very cloudy day and cross processed with regular black and white chemicals at home and scanned as black and white. I am quite happy with the results so far and it seems the camera can be used effectively if you choose a correct ASA for the light condition.

I couldn’t have chance to try it under water but I assume I’ll get pretty good results too according to impression that the camera gave on the land. Once I have the chance to try some under water shot I’ll share it.

Have fun !

written by smbilgin on 2010-12-07 #people #gear #aqua-pix #wide-angle #35mm #waterproof #focus-free #underwater #review #point-and-shoot

20 Comments

  1. wuxiong
    wuxiong ·

    I got one of this cam too, it surely produces nice pictures in the sun.....

  2. fash_on
    fash_on ·

    nice gallery :)

  3. falsedigital
    falsedigital ·

    I bought one of these when I was in Bangkok for around 300 Baht. I brought it with me to one of the islands there and the film takeup snapped while I was winding it then the whole case cracked! It was the only camera I ever threw away. :[

  4. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    Sorry to hear that falsedigital...

  5. natalieerachel
    natalieerachel ·

    Haha I love number 8 and number 17

  6. mune316
    mune316 ·

    how about the viewfinder?

  7. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    The viewfinder is not coupled to anything ofcourse and has a parallax error. And there isn't any corrective signs inside the viewfinder. Also it has a pop up plastic viewfinder over the water proof bag. But it has also same problem.
    On the other hand, thanks to 28mm wide angle lens, parallax error of viewfinder is not a big problem unless you take close shots.

  8. akmal-helmi
    akmal-helmi ·

    How to transfer picture from this camera into pc...help me???
    malsuniverse90@gmail.com

  9. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    There is no easy way to transfer pictures from this (or any analogue camera) into a PC. You should first develop the film in a proper way and then scan them. Then your pictures are in the PC.

  10. batgurrr
    batgurrr ·

    Okay, I just got this camera and now I'm being a total noob. I've put the film and I have no idea if it can take photos or not. Its exactly the same as yours but, does it just snap just like that? are there any indications that it has taken a photo?? :///

  11. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Thanks for the review! I got myself one of those little cameras from ebay, but I havent had time to try it yet. But from your photos I think I have gotten myself a pretty little cam. :)

  12. meetmeatcali
    meetmeatcali ·

    I bought this too online, and the number above beside the shutter is kinda fucked up? idk. it should be 1,2,3......36 right? mine's on 1,3,6.... idk. does yours counts like that too?

  13. tzeching
    tzeching ·

    u took some really awesome pictures with this cam!! i have the same camera too, and the first roll of film was a total failure. developing the second roll of film now and im crossing my fingers there will be pictures.

    just one question. have u taken or done any double exposure with this camera?

  14. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    Hi tzeching, glad yo like them.. Refarding your question, I haven't tried double exposure with this cam. But I think you need to modify it to make double exposures.

  15. ingridk
    ingridk ·

    Amazing! Where did you buy it ?

  16. yessicameithalia
    yessicameithalia ·

    Did u take those picture using aquapix? How come become so great?

  17. jeflimmy
    jeflimmy ·

    Great photos u got there.. Gf is getting me this cam soon.. Hope it does magic with its shots.. Can't wait!

  18. smbilgin
    smbilgin ·

    @ingridk : Thanks.. I bought it from ebay.

    @yessicameithalia : Of course I took them with aquapix, why would I put them if I wasn't :) Aquapix's lens is quite sharp. Also fixed focus lens and fix aperture helps the wide depth of field. You cannot go wrong with this little thing if you choose the correct film..

    @jeflimmy : Hope to see your nice pics too..

  19. el3xtrosky
    el3xtrosky ·

    hi there, would like to know what film did you use for all the pictures you'd taken? negative or reversal or what? complete noob here..

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • The Young Adults in Nature as Seen by Francis Flower

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-04-27 #people
    The Young Adults in Nature as Seen by Francis Flower

    Nowadays it is unusual to spot the millennial adolescent basking in the aqua and terra of Mother Earth. Italian photographer Francis Flower veers away from the landscape of urban youth as he focuses his camera on young adults taking leisure on terrains and bodies of water.

    2016-04-27
  • Lomo In-Depth: The Aesthetic Value of Contemporary Photography

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-03-05
    Lomo In-Depth: The Aesthetic Value of Contemporary Photography

    Anyone with a phone camera can now call himself a photographer. The Internet hosts photos of almost anything under the sun, and it does not take a researcher to scavenge, nor a pro to reproduce them; social media has made it all easier. So what now? How do art experts judge aesthetic value?

    2016-03-05 1
  • Get Creative with the Lomo'Instant Automat: Don’t Think, Just Shoot!

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-03 #gear #tutorials
    Get Creative with the Lomo'Instant Automat: Don’t Think, Just Shoot!

    Can’t wait to get your hands on your very own Lomo’Instant Automat camera? Follow our quick tricks so you can master and get the most out of your instant camera once it comes knocking at your door! This time we want you to "Don't Think, Just Shoot".

    2016-09-03 1
  • Shop News

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Give your smartphone photos that analogue touch with the Fuji Instax Share Smartphone Printer! Shoot with your smartphone, send photos via the free app, and print on Fuji Instax Mini film! Both Silver and Gold version now available in the shop! *available in selected markets

  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

    2016-01-19
  • LomoAmigo Hamish Gill on Shooting with the Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-05-31
    LomoAmigo Hamish Gill on Shooting with the Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Hamish Gill is a UK based photographer who writes 35mm compact, rangefinder, and lens reviews for his blog. We lent him a Jupiter 3+ lens and in return he gave it one of the most thorough reviews we've ever read!

    2016-05-31 2
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Photo Stories: First Impressions of Penang by schugger

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-25
    Photo Stories: First Impressions of Penang by schugger

    Travel is not all about the perfect and picturesque. To get a full experience of a country, one must get a whiff and feel of its rough-and-tumble side that might even be as charming as tourist baits.

    2015-10-25 1
  • Join the LomoWalk@Hong Kong - Lomography Photo Collage - 13th Street District

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2016-06-30 #culture #news #places
    Join the LomoWalk@Hong Kong - Lomography Photo Collage - 13th Street District

    13th Street, To Kwa Wan could be one of the most underrated local icon. Have you ever encountered a situation where you just can't fit the whole view into your frame? Worry not… we are going to fit everything into one picture. How? Find out and join us!

    2016-06-30
  • Taking Back Tipsters: Essential Pinhole Photography Hacks

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-04-24 #tutorials
    Taking Back Tipsters: Essential Pinhole Photography Hacks

    This World Pinhole Photography Day is your chance to shift from the usual 35mm pinhole cameras to the unconventional medium format, stereoscopic or instant do-it-yourself' pinhole cameras. You can even turn the LomoKino into a pinhole video camera. Challenge yourself and take a pick from this list of Tipsters.

    2016-04-24 1