Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Road to Photokina 2016 - The Selfie Challenge. Good luck!

Kodak Ektachrome EPR (120, 64 iso) user-review

2008-09-20 8

Hot Saturday with Kodak Ektachrome EPR: One day I was walking to a film shop, then the shopkeeper says to me “hey lad,there is some expired 120 film and it’s a positive one too”,after she says that to me she hands me some box full of 120 film. It was that Kodak Ektachrome and also expired six years, (expired from year 2002) and after that I go hunting with my new expired film and my beloved Holga 120 CFN

Hot Saturday with Kodak Ektachrome EPR: One day I was walking to a film shop, then the shopkeeper says to me “hey lad,there is some expired 120 film and it’s a positive one too”,after she says that to me she hands me some box full of 120 film. It was that Kodak Ektachrome and also expired six years, (expired from year 2002) and after that I go hunting with my new expired film and my beloved Holga 120 CFN

This film is a blast!! very very very suprising the result and I was wrong guessing this film is all about the blue. I have this hint if you use it with Holga, for a single exposure you’ll get that all bluesy image and also very sharp but yet still remained that kodak x-pro trademark. For a double exposure you certainly get that purple and blueish image that also very absurd which I really dig and for multiple exposure you’ll get that orange yellowish image,its very aburd. This film is really wacky and wicked when you x-pro it maybe this film is not the best film but you should try it for experiment if you are bored with the green x-pro.

This film gives you something else,something wacky and experimental. My friends says that this film is so shoegaze I mean the gallery below is a bit off like a cover album of shoegaze band.Whatever.. :)
Take it with you and get ready for a wacky ride with this film!

written by adi_totp on 2008-09-20 #gear #x-pro #kodak #review #120 #ektachrome #holga

8 Comments

  1. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    whooooaaaaaa.... this film is a big show!! use it in a sunny with your holga and bring some love to it! :)))))

  2. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    hey nice review adi .....do we have to use the film only under great sun or for eve shots too ?

  3. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu I recommend using this film only under great sun since this film is so expired :D

  4. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    yeah once i used in cloudy days and another on a sunny day both turned out blank....the whole roll was dark ....i used the film from 2004 on a holga ....any tip

  5. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu turned out blank? whoaa.. Have you removed the lens cap? Use flash on cloudy days. Maybe there's something wrong with the film. Do you still have this film?

  6. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    yeah i have two more rolls ...the cap was not on ....the sunny shots were taken on a beach church ...i was so depressed that all got washed away ...can i use the film again...the film is not refrigrated

  7. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    @sudhashunmu ohhh.. you can use the film again. Make sure this time you put the film rightly to the take up spool and shoot like usual. Good luck :D

  8. sudhashunmu
    sudhashunmu ·

    oh yeah will do ...thank you for ur time and advice it was really helpful...thanks a ton

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • How (Not) to Make It in New York

    written by Carly Brunatti (@carlybrunatti) on 2015-09-05
    How (Not) to Make It in New York

    Everything I had fit into eight boxes and two suitcases. That’s all I had collected in my 22 years on earth, eight boxes and two suitcases. My friends and I moved to Brooklyn in the dead of winter, just after a huge snowstorm. I came from California and had no real experience living in snow. All of it was magical to me.

    2015-09-05 1
  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

    2015-09-19
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Artist Update: Western Thoughts, Eastern Dreams by Kamila K Stanley

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-10 #news #people
    Artist Update: Western Thoughts, Eastern Dreams by Kamila K Stanley

    Kamila K Stanley is always on the cusp of an adventure. In the early part of 2015, she started inviting fellow photographers to join a collective named after a verse from "Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds." And ever the curious observer, she spent some part of the year in Turkey. With a camera and reserve of 35mm films, of course.

    2015-11-10 1
  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    2016-02-08 3
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Travel Stories: From Monastic Ruins to the Edge of Continental Europe

    written by Patrice Baunov on 2016-01-04
    Travel Stories: From Monastic Ruins to the Edge of Continental Europe

    Last year, my wife and I visited the Parque Natural de Sintra-Cascais close to Lisbon. It was a gorgeous hike from some beautiful ruins to the most western point of the European mainland, Cabo da Roca.

    2016-01-04
  • Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2016-01-05 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide - A Camera To Fall In Love With

    I was really excited when I got to test the Lomo'Instant Wide recently. Nine packs of film and and one week later I can say: "This camera works really well and I am looking forward to my own Portobello Road Edition!"

    2016-01-05 10
  • Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-12-13 #tutorials
    Spontaneous Doubles with the XR Redscale Film

    I recently found a roll of XR Redscale 50-200 film lying around in my drawer and decided to reignite my passion for embracing the weird and unexpected results that film can bring. I shot random doubles around the streets of Soho and was rather delighted with the results.

    2015-12-13 1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-16 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Shots

    You know that friend who hovers around after a picture and begs for a peek? That’s us. So when the first batch of Lomo’Instant Wide was shipped out, we naturally waited for happy new owners to share their one-offs. Here are some of our favorites.

    2015-12-16 5
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • A Hybrid of Drawn Photograms by Vanessa Marsh

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-25 #news
    A Hybrid of Drawn Photograms by Vanessa Marsh

    Contemporary artist Vanessa Marsh redefines the printed photograph in the absence of a camera, and with the presence of paintings and drawings assembled in the darkroom instead.

    2016-08-25