Petzval Lens User Review: An Unexpected Happiness

It is my first time to use the New Petzval Lens outside of work and I got some surprising photos!

I use the new Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens often for my work. Being a member of the Lomography community and since the release of the Petzval Lens, I got used to using the Petzval Lens on my photo shoots. Yet, other than for work, I never had the chance to use it during my downtime since I always prefer light gadgets and cameras such as the *LC-W*, *LC-A+* and the like which are easier for me to carry.

Also, I haven’t used digital cameras for over five years except for use with the Experimental Lens Kit which I lend to a friend when I have to do some photo shoots. Honestly for a lazy girl like me, the Petzval Lens is kind of heavy and burdensome to carry around everywhere I go.

Initially, I got the Petzval Lens and Sony A7 with me simply because I wanted to record the concert of Sodagreen. My colleagues even helped me to insert the Tele Converter. However, sad to say, I carelessly deleted all the photos taken during that day and therefore, I just randomly used it to take snaps at home. When my family saw the brass look of the Petzval Lens, they instantly became so interested in it and kept asking about its features.

The Petzval Lens is perfect for portraiture, so I decided to take some pictures of my mom. All of a sudden she turned out to be a supermodel with different natural poses. Afterwards, she told me to bring the Petzval Lens the next day to the cemetery, where would pay respect to my ancestors.

The next day, the weather was really great. In my opinion, the Sony A7 is not as heavy when compared to other DSLR cameras. I honestly don’t know much about digital cameras. While on our way to the cemetery, we walked past the Lok Fu Park. With the flowers as our backdrop, I could finally let my family see the famous swirly effect of the Petzval Lens. “That’s the most special and exciting part of Petzval Lens!” Even my brother who never used Lomography products and has little knowledge of photography tried using the Petzval Lens and took some shots which are quite impressive.

Frankly speaking, whether I am at the workplace or just hanging out with friends, I always bring a camera and take pictures of them. Like my colleagues, I seldom use a camera when I am with my family. Yet, I still remember that day when I took photos of my family and all of us were simply flattered. Hence, I am even more impressed with the Petzval Lens.

Customers and partners at work always have difficulties with focusing when they use the Petzval Lens mainly because of the large aperture and shallow depth-of-field. In my case though, I do not have as much difficulty in focusing and still manage to get the swirly effect in the photos by using the f2.8 aperture plate. You can try that if you have the same problem in focusing!

The Lomography x Zenit Petzval Lens is a stunning reinvention of one of the first and greatest lenses of all time. Manufactured in Russia by Zenit, each lens is crafted from brass and features high-quality glass optics. For the first time ever, you can easily get the Petzval photographic look with Canon EF and Nikon F mount analogue and digital cameras in order to cater for the needs of photographers nowadays. Make you pre-order on the Petzval Lens now or click About (The second batch of pre-order lenses has an estimated delivery date of June 2014.)

written by sanamiii on 2014-06-06 #gear #lens #swirly #petzval #review #analogue #new-petzval-lens #brass #petzval-interview
translated by fishyu

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    1
  • Petzval Portraits of Joy

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-26 #gear
    Petzval Portraits of Joy

    An infectious smile, you say? In everyday portraiture, we understand it as enticement, the kind that makes someone raise a lens-capped camera to capture, and later share, the happy moment.

    3
  • The Petzval 85 and Photographer B.A Van Sise

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-30 #people
    The Petzval 85 and Photographer B.A Van Sise

    LomoAmigo and Photographer C.S Muncy got married a few weeks ago. For his wedding portraits, he chose to work with his friend, B.A. Van Sise, who shot with the Petzval lens for the very first time for this wedding and sent us such beautiful wedding pictures. Get to know him in this interview.

  • Shop News

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    We're thrilled to present our new Kickstarter project—the New Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! Inspired by the bold brass design of the world's first photographic optic, the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens is a versatile tool seeking the great return of dreamy imagery.

  • Focus Control with the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens

    written by earlybird on 2016-07-19 #gear #tutorials
    Focus Control with the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens

    For a few weeks now, I call myself proud owner of the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens and I must say: I love it! However, quite often I had a hard time with focussing. Then I had an idea...

    1
  • Phil Jones: Fantasy Art Photography with the Petzval 85 Art Lens

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-20
    Phil Jones: Fantasy Art Photography with the Petzval 85 Art Lens

    Phil Jones uses photography as a way to create unusual stories through his images. He works as a professional photographer and jumped at the chance to test out the Petzval 85 Art Lens on some of his models.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    1
  • LomoAmigo Bruno Giacco

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-04 #people
    LomoAmigo Bruno Giacco

    For someone who was previously disinterested in photographic work, his newfound passion for photography is astounding. His photos have an edgy feel to them; and for someone who hasn't been shooting for a long time, his distinct style is - quite surprisingly - discernible. Meet this emerging fashion photographer from Buenos Aires who shoots on film and recently, the Diana+ Premium Glass Lens.

    1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    4
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • The Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens at le jardin des Tuileries in Paris

    written by mpflawer on 2015-08-14
    The Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens at le jardin des Tuileries in Paris

    Paris is an amazing city full of beautiful, scenic locations. From the jardin des Tuileries to the iconic colonnes de Buren, take a walk through Paris with photos taken using the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens.

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-08-05 #gear #tutorials
    12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In July, I tried freelensing or unscrewing the lens from my SLR and holding it in front of the camera body. By tilting the lens slightly I was able to change the focus. For this experiment, I used my Konstruktor and Olympus OM-1.

  • Petzval Photography: A Philosophy, According to Michael Fiukowski

    written by zonderbar on 2015-07-26 #people
    Petzval Photography: A Philosophy, According to Michael Fiukowski

    For Michael Fiukowski, taking photos with the New Petzval 85 Art Lens is a philosophy. The manual focus encourages him to be more experimental, and when shooting portraits, he seeks for creative ways to position his subject and make the most of the Petzval's bokeh effect. He finds the lens fascinating, and tells us why.

    1