DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

2014-04-27

Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

Credits: geekteacher

I’ve always thought the sprocket look was cool. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that led me to dump digital photography in favor of my analogue roots. The allure of all those great effects that can be accomplished in camera was too great to ignore. I somehow felt dishonest whenever I simulated those effects in my photos using digital filters. So I made the switch! But to get that sprocket look, you need a few things. First, you need a camera capable of shooting sprockets. I used the Superheadz Blackbird, Fly. It’s a 35mm TLR that exposes the sprockets vertically in photos.

Credits: geekteacher

You’re also going to need a scanner capable of scanning negatives and software that doesn’t choke when it sees a third-party scanning mask. For this, I used the Epson Perfection V600 scanner with Vuescan software. Vuescan is far better than the native Epson scanning software and does an excellent job with sprockets.

And, of course, you’re going to need the *DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask*!

Credits: geekteacher

The scanning mask that came with my Epson scanner does a great job, but it covers up the edges on 35mm film making it useless to scan sprockets. Using the DigitaLIZA is the simplest solution.

To accomplish its magic, the DigitaLIZA employs a very clever method to firmly hold your negative in place: the scientific power of magnetism! That being said, the DigitaLIZA is not capable of exposing the entire negative (it has to hold on to something after all) and so some of the text and numbering along the edges of the film will be lost. This really isn’t a problem since you can capture so much more of the exposed negative. The only drawback with DigitaLIZA is that it can be a little tricky at first to get your negative to lie flat in the mask before putting it together. A little persistence is needed.

Credits: geekteacher

Next, I placed DigitaLIZA on my scanner and scanned away! The sprockets will throw off the software’s colour-balance since the scanner reads them as black, so you’ll need to make some adjustments. I find out that the Vuescan does a great job of handling the correction.

Using my Blackbird, Fly, I spent a day at the cemetery photographing old deteriorating tombstones. By removing the interior mask on my Blackbird, Fly, I was able to capture the sprockets and I’m sure you’ll agree that without the DigitaLIZA, I wouldn’t be able to share these amazing photos!

Credits: geekteacher

While I don’t yet own a camera capable of shooting true multi-frame panoramas, I’m satisfied that the DigitaLIZA is more than able to handle the task for the day when I can afford a Belair X 6-12 camera with 35mm Back. The DigitaLIZA is long enough that it can capture the equivalent of six frames on a 35mm negative. That’s perfect for those panorama shots!

written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 #gear #35mm #review #panorama #sprockets #scanning #kodak-gold-400 #twin-lens-reflex #blackbird-fly #tlr #vuescan #digitaliza #epson

More Interesting Articles

  • Through Masks and Filters Winners

    written by Lomography on 2017-01-15 #news
    Through Masks and Filters Winners

    Looking for a new photo project for 2017? Try your hand at making masks and filters for your trusty cameras!

    2017-01-15 1
  • Trending Albums of June 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-06-24
    Trending Albums of June 2016

    An album is more than just a collection of photographs. It can accurately tell your tale without the need for words. Take a look at this month's most note-worthy albums and get a hint on how to share your stories through visual organization.

    2016-06-24 6
  • Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    written by Lomography on 2017-03-23 #news
    Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    The cool thing about the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass is, you can just switch to Auto Mode without too much of a fuss and you'll get fun instants in just a snap. Go ahead, try it!

    2017-03-23 1
  • Shop News

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture more and save more when you buy the LC-Wide Instant Bundle. Get 50% off the original price of the LC-A Instant back, and get the LC-Wide Instant Kit for FREE!

  • Film Photography Day NYC: A Quick Recap and What Follows!

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-05-03 #news
    Film Photography Day NYC: A Quick Recap and What Follows!

    Take a look at our festive NYC event for Film Photography Day and get information on how to join in on the fun this May!

    2016-05-03
  • Road Trippin With Zuli and the Sprocket Rocket

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-07-20 #gear #culture #people #places
    Road Trippin With Zuli and the Sprocket Rocket

    Lomography NYC chats with indie musician Zuli and his tour photographer Dave about experiences on the road, like how a broken down van was not so great in the moment but ended up making for a really great photo, and shooting with their new favorite camera, the Sprocket Rocket!

    2016-07-20
  • LomoAmigo: Burçin Esin

    written by merveengin on 2016-12-11 #people
    LomoAmigo: Burçin Esin

    Photographer, videographer and musician Burçin Esin recorded his recent travels with the LC-A +. Continue reading to take a look at the photos that resemble movie scenes in Istanbul, Budapest and Bratislava and to get to know Burçin better.

    2016-12-11 1
  • Shop News

    Stand up and stand out with the Lomo'Instant Murano

    Stand up and stand out with the Lomo'Instant Murano

    Brighten up anybody's day with the quirky color combo and all around creative potential of the new Lomo'Instant Murano! This vibrant new member of the Lomo'Instant family is available on it's own or with lenses!

  • The Infallible Electric Eye

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-10-10 #gear
    The Infallible Electric Eye

    By far the oddest-looking camera I own, the Electric Eye is an auto-exposure viewfinder camera made by Bell & Howell in the late 1950s. I picked one up online and ended up with another one, that came with a very cool, retro looking carrying case, from my grandfather. It took a little while to try these two out but after running some film I found that this camera is a lot of fun to shoot with.

    2016-10-10
  • Lomography x Fashion Walk: Be A City Explorer

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-18 #news
    Lomography x Fashion Walk: Be A City Explorer

    Get out of your comfort zone and explore your city in a totally different angle - when you try to think more and experiment, you will find that there is always something fun in your everyday life! Let your creativity roam, visit every corner of your city, and share with us your discoveries!

    2016-05-18 6
  • Trending Albums of November 2016

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-01 #news
    Trending Albums of November 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month’s most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2016-12-01 4
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Trending Albums of February 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-02-24 #news
    Trending Albums of February 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-02-24 6
  • Trending Albums of March 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-03-24 #news
    Trending Albums of March 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-03-24 4
  • Shots/on\Stone: Photos on Stone, Developed in a Darkroom

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-05 #news
    Shots/on\Stone: Photos on Stone, Developed in a Darkroom

    It's time to show off those photos you've whisked away in your hard drive! Pick out your favorites and have them printed as genuine black & white analogue prints - on natural stone tiles. Say hello to Shots/on\Stone, a Kickstarter project that offers this truly unique option.

    2016-07-05 1
  • Find Out More About