DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

2014-04-27

Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

Credits: geekteacher

I’ve always thought the sprocket look was cool. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that led me to dump digital photography in favor of my analogue roots. The allure of all those great effects that can be accomplished in camera was too great to ignore. I somehow felt dishonest whenever I simulated those effects in my photos using digital filters. So I made the switch! But to get that sprocket look, you need a few things. First, you need a camera capable of shooting sprockets. I used the Superheadz Blackbird, Fly. It’s a 35mm TLR that exposes the sprockets vertically in photos.

Credits: geekteacher

You’re also going to need a scanner capable of scanning negatives and software that doesn’t choke when it sees a third-party scanning mask. For this, I used the Epson Perfection V600 scanner with Vuescan software. Vuescan is far better than the native Epson scanning software and does an excellent job with sprockets.

And, of course, you’re going to need the *DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask*!

Credits: geekteacher

The scanning mask that came with my Epson scanner does a great job, but it covers up the edges on 35mm film making it useless to scan sprockets. Using the DigitaLIZA is the simplest solution.

To accomplish its magic, the DigitaLIZA employs a very clever method to firmly hold your negative in place: the scientific power of magnetism! That being said, the DigitaLIZA is not capable of exposing the entire negative (it has to hold on to something after all) and so some of the text and numbering along the edges of the film will be lost. This really isn’t a problem since you can capture so much more of the exposed negative. The only drawback with DigitaLIZA is that it can be a little tricky at first to get your negative to lie flat in the mask before putting it together. A little persistence is needed.

Credits: geekteacher

Next, I placed DigitaLIZA on my scanner and scanned away! The sprockets will throw off the software’s colour-balance since the scanner reads them as black, so you’ll need to make some adjustments. I find out that the Vuescan does a great job of handling the correction.

Using my Blackbird, Fly, I spent a day at the cemetery photographing old deteriorating tombstones. By removing the interior mask on my Blackbird, Fly, I was able to capture the sprockets and I’m sure you’ll agree that without the DigitaLIZA, I wouldn’t be able to share these amazing photos!

Credits: geekteacher

While I don’t yet own a camera capable of shooting true multi-frame panoramas, I’m satisfied that the DigitaLIZA is more than able to handle the task for the day when I can afford a Belair X 6-12 camera with 35mm Back. The DigitaLIZA is long enough that it can capture the equivalent of six frames on a 35mm negative. That’s perfect for those panorama shots!

written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 #gear #35mm #review #panorama #sprockets #scanning #kodak-gold-400 #twin-lens-reflex #blackbird-fly #tlr #vuescan #digitaliza #epson

More Interesting Articles

  • Of Multiplicity: LomoAmigo Ellen Stagg (NSFW)

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2017-07-01 #gear #people
    Of Multiplicity: LomoAmigo Ellen Stagg (NSFW)

    Ellen Stagg is a fine art photographer who uses multiple exposures and the irreplicable character of film to her advantage to create captivating compositions and patterns in her photos. Her masterful eye and trust in the medium allows her to make something no digital camera could ever replicate.

    2017-07-01 3
  • A Quick Guide to Film Scanning

    written by lomographymagazine on 2017-03-11 #tutorials #videos
    A Quick Guide to Film Scanning

    There are many advantages to scanning your own film: it is cost-effective, you get to control the output, and you're able to scan special formats that most film labs aren't capable of. If you're new to film scanning, here are a few tips to get you started.

    2017-03-11 1
  • Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    written by Lomography on 2017-03-23 #news
    Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    The cool thing about the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass is, you can just switch to Auto Mode without too much of a fuss and you'll get fun instants in just a snap. Go ahead, try it!

    2017-03-23 1
  • Shop News

    Welcome the Luxurious Lomo'Instant Automat Dahab into your life!

    Welcome the Luxurious Lomo'Instant Automat Dahab into your life!

    Spend more time taking photos and stand out of the crowd with the opulently Egyptian inspired Lomo'Instant Automat Dahab!

  • Psychedelia-Soaked Reality with the New LomoChrome Purple 120

    written by lomographymagazine on 2017-12-19
    Psychedelia-Soaked Reality with the New LomoChrome Purple 120

    What makes the LomoChrome Purple emulsion a fan-favorite among Lomographers is it's a film stock like nothing else, and its reformulation is more than ever ready to make things delirious and wonderous. Witness the world drenched in medium-format purple.

    2017-12-19 1
  • Monday Moodboard: Street Fashion Therapy

    written by lomographymagazine on 2017-09-18 #culture
    Monday Moodboard: Street Fashion Therapy

    Monday's here again. Here's a tip to force yourself out of the weekday rut: how about starting the grind wearing your favorite get-up? Fake it 'til you make it with that swagger and you'll be cruising the days to Friday in no time. Here's this week's inspirational Monday Moodboard.

    2017-09-18
  • Trending Albums of November 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-12-08 #news
    Trending Albums of November 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at November's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-12-08 14
  • Shop News

    Get up to 20% off on Instax films when you grab the Lomo'Instant Yangon Bundles!

    Get up to 20% off on Instax films when you grab the Lomo'Instant Yangon Bundles!

    Take a shine to the latest Lomo'Instant golden child and save up to 20% off when you buy the Lomo'Instant Yangon with 10 packs of Fuji Instax Mini films!

  • Trending Albums of July 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-08-08
    Trending Albums of July 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at last month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-08-08 7
  • Trending Albums of February 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-02-24 #news
    Trending Albums of February 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-02-24 6
  • Trending Albums of September 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-10-06
    Trending Albums of September 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at September's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-10-06 7
  • Shop News

    Capture more with the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Kilimanjaro bundles and Save up to 20% on Instax films!

    Capture more with the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Kilimanjaro bundles and Save up to 20% on Instax films!

    Save up to 20% on Instax films if you purchase the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Kilimanjaro + Instax Film bundles! Shoot more and save more!

  • Trending Albums of May 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-06-10 #news
    Trending Albums of May 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-06-10 1
  • Trending Albums of June 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-07-08 #news
    Trending Albums of June 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at last month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2017-07-08 4
  • TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards 2016: Monochrome Winners

    written by Lomography on 2017-04-08
    TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards 2016: Monochrome Winners

    The TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards is made up of 11 different categories. Through these 11 different categories — 10 unchanging and one modified every year to reflect contemporary global issues — we’re asking to see the world through your eyes and to share your experience as a human on this beautiful, bizarre and bewildering planet. Be mesmerized by these moody black and white photographs that took the top spot in our Monochrome category.

    2017-04-08 10
  • Find Out More About