DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask - A User Review

2014-04-27

Ever wondered how to get that cool sprocket look in your photos without resorting to digital trickery? The DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask makes scanning sprockets and panoramas a cinch!

Credits: geekteacher

I’ve always thought the sprocket look was cool. In fact, it’s one of the reasons that led me to dump digital photography in favor of my analogue roots. The allure of all those great effects that can be accomplished in camera was too great to ignore. I somehow felt dishonest whenever I simulated those effects in my photos using digital filters. So I made the switch! But to get that sprocket look, you need a few things. First, you need a camera capable of shooting sprockets. I used the Superheadz Blackbird, Fly. It’s a 35mm TLR that exposes the sprockets vertically in photos.

Credits: geekteacher

You’re also going to need a scanner capable of scanning negatives and software that doesn’t choke when it sees a third-party scanning mask. For this, I used the Epson Perfection V600 scanner with Vuescan software. Vuescan is far better than the native Epson scanning software and does an excellent job with sprockets.

And, of course, you’re going to need the *DigitaLIZA 35mm Scanning Mask*!

Credits: geekteacher

The scanning mask that came with my Epson scanner does a great job, but it covers up the edges on 35mm film making it useless to scan sprockets. Using the DigitaLIZA is the simplest solution.

To accomplish its magic, the DigitaLIZA employs a very clever method to firmly hold your negative in place: the scientific power of magnetism! That being said, the DigitaLIZA is not capable of exposing the entire negative (it has to hold on to something after all) and so some of the text and numbering along the edges of the film will be lost. This really isn’t a problem since you can capture so much more of the exposed negative. The only drawback with DigitaLIZA is that it can be a little tricky at first to get your negative to lie flat in the mask before putting it together. A little persistence is needed.

Credits: geekteacher

Next, I placed DigitaLIZA on my scanner and scanned away! The sprockets will throw off the software’s colour-balance since the scanner reads them as black, so you’ll need to make some adjustments. I find out that the Vuescan does a great job of handling the correction.

Using my Blackbird, Fly, I spent a day at the cemetery photographing old deteriorating tombstones. By removing the interior mask on my Blackbird, Fly, I was able to capture the sprockets and I’m sure you’ll agree that without the DigitaLIZA, I wouldn’t be able to share these amazing photos!

Credits: geekteacher

While I don’t yet own a camera capable of shooting true multi-frame panoramas, I’m satisfied that the DigitaLIZA is more than able to handle the task for the day when I can afford a Belair X 6-12 camera with 35mm Back. The DigitaLIZA is long enough that it can capture the equivalent of six frames on a 35mm negative. That’s perfect for those panorama shots!

written by geekteacher on 2014-04-27 #gear #35mm #review #panorama #sprockets #scanning #kodak-gold-400 #twin-lens-reflex #blackbird-fly #tlr #vuescan #digitaliza #epson

More Interesting Articles

  • Through Masks and Filters Winners

    written by Lomography on 2017-01-15 #news
    Through Masks and Filters Winners

    Looking for a new photo project for 2017? Try your hand at making masks and filters for your trusty cameras!

    1
  • Of Multiplicity: LomoAmigo Ellen Stagg (NSFW)

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2017-07-01 #gear #people
    Of Multiplicity: LomoAmigo Ellen Stagg (NSFW)

    Ellen Stagg is a fine art photographer who uses multiple exposures and the irreplicable character of film to her advantage to create captivating compositions and patterns in her photos. Her masterful eye and trust in the medium allows her to make something no digital camera could ever replicate.

    3
  • Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    written by Lomography on 2017-03-23 #news
    Lomo'Instant Automat Glass Tip: Don't Think, Just Shoot!

    The cool thing about the Lomo'Instant Automat Glass is, you can just switch to Auto Mode without too much of a fuss and you'll get fun instants in just a snap. Go ahead, try it!

    1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Newcomer of the Week: Bertrand Liang (@bcliang)

    written by Lomography on 2017-06-04
    Newcomer of the Week: Bertrand Liang (@bcliang)

    Community newcomer Bert Liang (@bcliang), has been practicing photography for over 45 years. He continues to learn from both digital and analogue image-making processes, but prefers the latter for the boundless experiments that can done with it. In this interview, he shares his insights on film photography and how it expanded his views on creativity.

    1
  • LomoAmigo: Burçin Esin

    written by merveengin on 2016-12-11 #people
    LomoAmigo: Burçin Esin

    Photographer, videographer and musician Burçin Esin recorded his recent travels with the LC-A +. Continue reading to take a look at the photos that resemble movie scenes in Istanbul, Budapest and Bratislava and to get to know Burçin better.

    2016-12-11 1
  • The Infallible Electric Eye

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-10-10 #gear
    The Infallible Electric Eye

    By far the oddest-looking camera I own, the Electric Eye is an auto-exposure viewfinder camera made by Bell & Howell in the late 1950s. I picked one up online and ended up with another one, that came with a very cool, retro looking carrying case, from my grandfather. It took a little while to try these two out but after running some film I found that this camera is a lot of fun to shoot with.

    2016-10-10
  • Shop News

    The New Jupiter 3+ 1.5/50 L39/M back is on stock!

    The New Jupiter 3+ 1.5/50 L39/M back is on stock!

    Revel in the crystal-clear sharpness, natural colors, and dreamy bokeh of the resurrected Russian masterpiece that is the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens! Purchase your very own brass beauty now while our limited supplies last, and get it shipped to you by the end of June 2017!

  • Trending Albums of May 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-06-10 #news
    Trending Albums of May 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    1
  • Meet the TEN AND ONE Awards Judges: Luca-Mercedes Stemer

    written by Lomography on 2017-06-29 #people
    Meet the TEN AND ONE Awards Judges: Luca-Mercedes Stemer

    Photographer and art director Luca-Mercedes Stemer is one of the founders of HONEST., a magazine dedicated to preserving the tangible aspect of film photography. In this interview, she looks back on her early days as a young photographer and dishes out some tips on how to make it in the industry.

    2
  • Trending Albums of November 2016

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-01 #news
    Trending Albums of November 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month’s most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    4
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Trending Albums of February 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-02-24 #news
    Trending Albums of February 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    6
  • Trending Albums of March 2017

    written by Lomography on 2017-03-24 #news
    Trending Albums of March 2017

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    6
  • TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards 2016: Urban Explorers Winners

    written by Lomography on 2017-04-08 #news
    TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards 2016: Urban Explorers Winners

    The TEN AND ONE Annual Lomography Photo Awards is made up of 11 different categories. Through these 11 different categories — 10 unchanging and one modified every year to reflect contemporary global issues — we’re asking to see the world through your eyes and to share your experience as a human on this beautiful, bizarre and bewildering planet. Celebrate chance encounters, beautiful coincidences and breathtaking simplicity that make everyday life extraordinary through the winning photographs in the Urban Explorers category.

    7
  • Find Out More About