Reviews on Rewind: Fisheye

2013-10-12

One of Lomography’s most iconic cameras, the Fisheye One and Two are mainstays in a Lomographer’s camera bag. If you’re on the fence about this amazing camera, let these reviews from the community sway you in the right direction.

Photo by themindseye

Snorkel Optional: The Fisheye One Hello Kitty Edition by themindseye

Although this camera is designed for shooting from the hip (and who’s more hip than Hello Kitty), you can opt to take a peek through the viewfinder. Remarkably, this is an accurate viewfinder that also enables you to see whether or not the lens cap is covering the lens.

Credits: cruzron

Taking the Fisheye No. 2 for a Spin by cruzron

For the Fisheye, my advice is this: get in as close as you can, with as much light as you have. Even if your subject is less than a foot away, the wide angle of view that your Fisheye has will take care of you and do the heavy lifting. Learn to trust it to do what it does best and you’ll reap the rewards. Try it out!

Photo by bellatrice

Discover the Lomo World in Fisheye! by bellatrice

You can shoot very original photographs at 170°! You’ve dreamed of seeing the world through a circular window? The Fisheye camera has done it for you! Its wide-angle lens will lead you to come closer to your friends for beautiful portraits and allows you great opportunities for landscapes. Straight lines will be distorted on the sides and makes your head spin!

Credits: kevinhodur

Get Close: Taking a Dip with the Lomography Fisheye One Nautic by kevinhodur

The verdict? This is a small camera, easily a pocket camera, and yet the results are fun and fresh, and I find myself looking at my surroundings differently to take advantage of these awesome, circular shots. A great camera for a day out with friends or family, though the flash limitations might not make it the best night friend.

Credits: hervinsyah

The Reason Why I Bought the Lomography Fisheye 2 Camera by hervinsyah

The first reason I love this camera because it has a space edge look like the window of the ship, which the Fisheye 1 or any other fisheye lens or camera does not have. The other reason is I love circles. It gives us a different perspective from square frame.

written by cruzron on 2013-10-12 #gear #180 #35mm #review #reviews-on-rewind #fisheye #wide

More Interesting Articles

  • Nour Matroud: What's in Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-09 #gear #people
    Nour Matroud: What's in Your Bag?

    Revealing the contents of your bag is like revealing the deepest corners of your soul, one could argue. In this new series, we ask your favorite photographers and Lomographers to let us in on their secret of their most essential items. Lomography's Retail Marketing Intern Nour Matroud kicks off this new series.

    2016-05-09 3
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    2015-12-30 15
  • Trending LomoHomes of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-31 #news
    Trending LomoHomes of 2015

    All throughout the year, the community had been an endless source of inspiration for photography projects, photo shoot ideas, and radical experiments. In the front line of such creative endeavors are these passionate lomographers who never cease to amaze us with their impressive snapshots and innovative concepts. We proudly present the most trending LomoHomes of 2015.

    2015-12-31 15
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    written by lomography on 2016-03-13
    Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    Lomographer stripedbeatle is a child of art. He started using a camera in his teens and went on to document his life though videos and music. Let's get to know this community newcomer and film student from the United States.

    2016-03-13 2
  • Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-03-03 #people #news
    Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    Have you heard of The Knocks? If you haven't (and like to dance) you should definitely listen to these new LomoAmigos, whose first headline tour just sold out! The New York-based electronic duo crossed the country on a tour bus and had a Lomo'Instant Wide in tow. They brought back some amazing photos—see them here and learn more about the guys behind the beats. Plus, get a chance to win a camera signed by The Knocks and a copy of their debut album "55"!

    2016-03-03
  • My First Lomo Affair: Likelyokie and his Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2

    written by lomography on 2016-01-23 #news
    My First Lomo Affair: Likelyokie and his Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2

    United State-based lomographer Michael, or likelyokie in the community, prefers the way Lomography cameras render the world: colorful and a little bit dreamy. In this interview, he opens up about how the Holga 120N and Fisheye No. 2 ignited a burning passion for film photography.

    2016-01-23 6
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015: Top Five Items

    written by lomography on 2016-01-19 #news
    Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015: Top Five Items

    Santa got his dates and lists mixed up causing a slight delay in the delivery of your most coveted analog cameras. To make up for it, we'll let you in on a little secret: We took a peek at his workshop and found him wrapping these premium cameras!

    2016-01-19 10
  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 #people
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Lomographer and Multiple Exposure Expert Hodaka Yamamoto on Creativity

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-22
    Lomographer and Multiple Exposure Expert Hodaka Yamamoto on Creativity

    The name Hodachrome is one of the most popular in the Lomography community. It has become synonymous with the acronym EBS, which stands for exposing both sides of the film. These multiple-exposed photos have an unmistakable style in the vein of ecstatic carnivals and exaggerated dreams. The man behind the vivid shots, Hodaka Yamamoto, talks to us about the habits of a good experimental photographer.

    2016-03-22 12
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 #news #videos #gear
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

    2015-11-16
  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2016-02-24 2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7