My review of the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition

2013-10-01 1

My Diana F + Tori Amos Limited is the first Lomographic camera I had in my hands. This is the camera that introduced me to Lomography and its artistic possibilities.

I have this Diana F+ obviously because I’m a fan Tori Amos. In fact I remember at the time when I received the offer from the mailing list, I could not resist buying this package. It included a CD dedicated to her first live performance in Russia.

When I received it at the time, I was surprised with the content. I don’t know what a toy camera is, or even a 120 roll. Though skeptical, I trusted the offer of the Tori Amos edition. Then I started my exploration.

As you can see, my first test shoots were fairly standard but fun! Nothing special except the use of Colorsplash, Ringflash, and Fisheye lens. I was having fun. I’m a big fan of the 70s so this quirky and psychedelic side immediately got me hooked.

Credits: jaybees80

For the Fisheye lens, I quickly realized the advantage of voluntary distortion of vision. In a sense, it acts as a Judas gate, it distorts reality and can stand back from it. In other words, you steer your way as you control the camera and create your own distorted reality.

Credits: jaybees80

The portrait with Diana and Ringflash has an increase in vignetting and you can clearly see a star shape as it reflected on my model’s sunglasses.

The plastic lenses cause a particular effect on the photos making them kind of unreal with a hint of dreaminess. Obviously this dreamy reality is a perfect example of the distinct quality of analogue photography.

I believe this is what attracted me the most with the Diana F+ and the music of Tori Amos. In a way, the music of Tori Amos has always allowed me to escape from reality. I often think of this picture of her debut album where she is pictured in a box. Sometimes I wish I had a similar same box to get away from it all. In a sense, this Diana F+ Tori Amos edition is that box at my fingertips.

Every time I use my Diana F +, I hear her music playing in the room. For me, when I press the shutter it is as if I pressed a deep note from Amos Bösendorfer.

Even as I was seduced by digital, I still kept on holding to my analogue photography as inspired by Tori Amos and Neil Gaiman. Back then, I was kind of into abstract photography. See for yourself!

To control my work on the dream, I had to go through something more concrete. That is what this camera has allowed me to do. Skip a digital abstract work towards a more concrete and more physically tangible work.

And this is for me the whole point of Diana F+ Tori Amos edition. I get to see things in a dream-like way.

Credits: jaybees80

Amos is often seen by her fans as a queen from a fairy tale with her artistic lyrics. in this light, she acts as a kind of muse for Lomographers who have this same camera and are also fans of her music.

Credits: jaybees80

Escapism increasingly became a guideline when this camera is in my hands. The addition of the Splitzer allows an new area for exploration. An aperture to a new world which consists unconsciously and is just a click away. It serves as an additional eye to look at the world with.

Credits: jaybees80

Explore your dream with the color from the Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition. It can be a way for you to explore your creative side and express yourself in a whole new different light.

Credits: jaybees80

The Diana F+ Tori Amos Edition inspires us to create memories and dreams. For me, the music of Tori Amos flows through my camera and the photographs I shoot.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by jaybees80 on 2013-10-01 #gear #inspiration #music #diana-f #moyen-format #revue #photo #medium-format #review #piano #lomography #diana
translated by jaybees80

One Comment

  1. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Excellent article!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Watch: Shelley - A LomoChrome Purple 16mm Movie By Julian Hand

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-18 #news #videos #gear
    Watch: Shelley - A LomoChrome Purple 16mm Movie By Julian Hand

    In case you missed the news, the LomoChrome Purple film that you know and love is now available in 16mm format, in limited quantities only. If you have a 16mm camera or know someone else who does, make sure to share the news! This beautiful film delivers a nostalgic, dream-like effect in purple tones. To illustrate, check out the movie by Julian Hand after the jump ...

    2015-11-18 2
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • The Phobia Post: Fear of Solitude

    written by sirio174 on 2015-10-17
    The Phobia Post: Fear of Solitude

    It is possible to fear solitude. But of its many forms, I only fear the kind that goes unnoticed, the one you cannot share with other people. Photography, with its end goal of being seen, helps ease this kind of solitude.

    2015-10-17 1
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Get Creative with the Lomo'Instant Automat: Set the Sky as Your Limit

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-26 #news
    Get Creative with the Lomo'Instant Automat: Set the Sky as Your Limit

    Can’t wait to get your hands on your very own Lomo’Instant Automat camera? Follow our quick tricks so you can master and get the most out of your instant camera once it comes knocking at your door! The Sky is the Limit!

    2016-09-26
  • A Tactile Trip Through Town with the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-23 #news
    A Tactile Trip Through Town with the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens

    What makes an engaging image? What makes a photograph seem more like a memory than just an image? How is it able to make you feel as if you were right there, in that moment, experiencing the scene first hand?

    2016-01-23
  • Genre-Crossing Projects We Loved in 2015

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-22
    Genre-Crossing Projects We Loved in 2015

    An experimental streak is the fuel of borderless, intriguing and rebellious art. It's what Lomography toasts to in photography and beyond. In 2015, we had a grand time talking to artists who expand our notions of creativity.

    2015-12-22
  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-10-08 #people
    Caleb Savage: Into the Darkroom, Out in the Open

    When asked to recall the moment they first became truly interested in photography, most photographers would remember the magical feeling of picking up a hand-me-down or secondhand camera, the thrill of shooting an entire roll through, and the elation upon seeing and holding their first ever set of photographs. Caleb Savage, however, had quite a unique experience. At 10 years old, he had his first taste of working in the darkroom making prints at Boy Scout camp, thereby beginning a more than a decade-long affinity with photography.

    2015-10-08
  • The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-08 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    Brazil is an awesome country for traveling. There's so much to explore, each place very different from one another. It will definitely take a stretch of trips just to get to know this this South American pearl. I finished my copa tour last year in Marajó, the island of bulls—it just might be an eternal highlight for me.

    2015-11-08 9
  • Embroidered Pictures by Diane Meyer

    written by chvo on 2015-10-17 #people
    Embroidered Pictures by Diane Meyer

    Editing pictures with image manipulation software or a mobile app is not unheard of. An alienation of photos by needle and thread, on the other hand, is an intricate process. Los Angeles-based artist and photographer Diane Meyer has gained instant fame for her embroidered analog photos. In this interview, she talks about adding a new dimension to pictures as well as her source of inspiration and other projects.

    2015-10-17 3