Review: A Curious Case of my Lomo LC-A

2013-08-08 7

The Lomo LC-A is one of the most capable cameras I ever had and it’s no wonder it’s one of the favorites of the Lomography community.

I always try to use every camera I can get my hands on but still I keep on coming back to my Lomo LC-A. I like other cameras, I even love some of them, like my Smena 8M but I noticed a lot of times my cameras get lost in difficult conditions. That’s never the case with my Lomo LC-A. No matter the weather, the light conditions or even my mood, the Lomo LC-A seems to always deliver the goods. I tried a lot of different films and I can’t say for any of them that my Lomo LC-A didn’t like it. It is one precious camera for sure.

BUT. Yes, there is always a but. It’s nothing to worry about, it’s just one thing that is special for my Lomo LC-A. It’s like its signature move, a thing it does that is unique and at the same time a mystery to me. What is that, you ask? Well, every single film I use, negative, slide or black and white, there comes a frame right in the middle of the film, where my Lomo LC-A makes a red line. It kind of looks like a light leak. But it’s always in the middle of the film. At first I thought I maybe did this, that I accidentally exposed the film, but I noticed the same line on every next film. So, it wasn’t me, it was totally its fault. I love it for this. Like I said, it’s like a little signature. But I still don’t understand what happens every time. Help me solve this riddle, please.

Credits: lomofrue

written by lomofrue on 2013-08-08 #gear #leak #precious #red #mystery #question #camera #review #lomo #capable #redline #line #case #riddle #light

7 Comments

  1. sandravo
    sandravo ·

    Looks like you're not the only one with curious light leaks on their LC-A! www.lomography.com/magazine/reviews/2013/03/27/my-lc-a-plus…

  2. benjamik
    benjamik ·

    It happens for a reason that every LC-A is unique, there's no such thing as 2 LC-A's with the same "defect" I own original Russian LC-A and that signature is like originality of every piece of LOMO :) Man, don't worry about it, it's beautiful.

  3. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @sandravo oh that's so cute, lots of unique lomos out there

  4. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @benjamik haha i love it anyway, nothing's gonna chenge that, i was just a little bit curious about that line

  5. marlbrouk
    marlbrouk ·

    I have similar when using redscale. On mine it seems to b where the film becomes skack against the back plate and the light hits the uneven film and perhaps reflects somehow... mayb it happens at the same point in your camera due ti tension between the film cassette and take up. But its cool!

  6. murdoc_niccals
    murdoc_niccals ·

    hi! have you ever resolved this? i have the same problem here with my LC-A. it appears on all films no matter if it is color or B&W so i'm pretty sure it's not mine fault during developing (i'm doing B&W at home and clolour in lab). my leaks look exactly like yours - stripe on right side and bigger leak on left side. i've been doing a check on my LC-A and i think the weak spot is where the strap is attached to body - theres slightly bigger hole in the camera back door - and the foamy gasket which was supposed to fill in the silt between the body and door is missing (sign of old age). so i'll try to cover it somehow and do one roll...

  7. lomofrue
    lomofrue ·

    @murdoc_niccals hey, nope, i never resolved it, i just kind of embraced it :) but now as i think about it, what you are suggesting might really be it!

More Interesting Articles

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

    2016-01-13
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-19
    How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    Children, ever curious and with an innate sense of wonder, ask a lot of questions. Often they're easy enough to answer, but sometimes there are those that leave the adults stumped and mulling over them. The history of the instant camera as we know it began with one such question.

    2015-11-19
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-25 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    Art director and lomographer extraordinaire Mark Hannah is back to share one of his favorite 127 cameras: the Kodak Baby Brownie Special.

    2016-07-25 1
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Instant Blues

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-09-30 #gear
    Instant Blues

    Blue is one of the most reliable colors in nature. No wonder it is widespread in instant photography: The color is everywhere, above and below.

    2015-09-30
  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Hitting the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by lomography on 2015-11-23 #gear
    Hitting the Streets with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Let these street photographs from the community perfectly demonstrate the capabilities of the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens.

    2015-11-23
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 #people
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • 11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-09 #gear
    11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    For some, it marked their first foray into the wonderful world of analog photography. Others consider it a trusty, go-to camera despite having a massive camera collection which sometimes include some of the best gear there is. Whatever the case may be, toy cameras will always hold a special place in the hearts (and shelves) of analog photographers everywhere, quirks and all.

    2015-12-09 1