Reviews on Rewind: Widepan Pro II

2013-07-06

For this week’s edition of Reviews on Rewind, we focus on a camera that not a lot of Lomographers have, but constantly dream about. Say hello to the Widepan Pro II!

During ye olden days of Lomography, this was the dream camera to have. If you had one around your neck, the women around you would scream and swoon, men shy away for being not worthy, and old masters of the Lomographic martial arts bob their heads and stroke their mustaches in agreement. That’s how special the Widepan was. However, it was worth an arm and maybe even two legs, so not a lot of Lomographers had the chance to shoot with it. So for this week, we will feature 2 reviews of the Widepan – the only ones in the whole website!

Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster by lomodirk

So why the Widepan Pro II? It`s heavy, big and definitely not as handy as a Horizon is. But the results are amazing, brilliant shots, panoramas in medium format you can boost up to wallpapers. I`ll never regret choosing this camera because of the diversity of possibilities it opens to me.

Widepan Pro II - Heavy Duty by tveden

If you’re into monsters and working out, look no further. This 2 kg monster is exactly what you need, it will eat 120, 220 and 35mm and it’s hungry. After 6 snaps your 120 film will be finished and 10 snaps with a 35mm, so be sure to have plenty of ammunition before you take it into action.

written by cruzron on 2013-07-06 #gear #widepan #rewind #review #lomography #panoramic #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • Art Date Go-To's: 5 Exhibitions Worth Visiting This Weekend

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-13
    Art Date Go-To's: 5 Exhibitions Worth Visiting This Weekend

    Artworks and photographs currently on display for this week offer a variety of genres and focuses.

    2016-05-13 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 #places
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

    2015-10-30
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Polina Washington and Her Deep, Dark Exposures

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-05 #people
    Polina Washington and Her Deep, Dark Exposures

    For experimental Lomographers, the route to unpredictable and strangely charming images is through multiple exposures and film soaking. We couldn't help but wonder about Polina Washington's secret brew: somehow, her photos emit the haunting, magical, and mysterious effects that we can only dream of.

    2016-09-05
  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 #videos #people
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    2016-01-05 1
  • Cameras in Depth: SLR Viewfinders

    written by sirio174 on 2016-05-18 #gear
    Cameras in Depth: SLR Viewfinders

    This article compares the viewfinder of some my SLR cameras: in fact, the photographic composition depends a lot on what we see in the viewfinder. After the first article dedicated to the plain glass viewfinder, this is the time to compare different SLR viewfinders and focusing screens.

    2016-05-18 3
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Art Date Go-To's: 5 Exhibitions Worth Visiting This Weekend

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-18
    Art Date Go-To's: 5 Exhibitions Worth Visiting This Weekend

    Thinking of going out and about this weekend but don't know where? We have the details on the latest and current exhibitions and galleries.

    2016-03-18
  • Exploring the World Through Lomography's Kickstarter Campaigns

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-27 #news
    Exploring the World Through Lomography's Kickstarter Campaigns

    We’ve all heard those cliché sayings about travel before, the ones that tell you it expands your mind and allows you to see the world in new ways. Well, they’re all true! At Lomography, not only do we like to encourage worldwide exploration, but we also have special travel packages available through our Kickstarter campaigns!

    2016-04-27
  • Shots/on\Stone: Photos on Stone, Developed in a Darkroom

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-05 #news
    Shots/on\Stone: Photos on Stone, Developed in a Darkroom

    It's time to show off those photos you've whisked away in your hard drive! Pick out your favorites and have them printed as genuine black & white analogue prints - on natural stone tiles. Say hello to Shots/on\Stone, a Kickstarter project that offers this truly unique option.

    2016-07-05 1
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-20 #people
    Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    You can tell a lot about a person just by looking through the contents of his/her bag. But we don't recommend rummaging through someone's bag for this reason! Luckily, some photographers granted us access for our WIYB series. Here's a peek into LA-based photographer Rozette Rago's gear.

    2016-07-20
  • Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-10-31 #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    Creating a movie, no matter how short it is, requires a certain amount of discipline. For it to be coherent, one must keep his focus throughout the entire process - from shooting the scenes to editing the clips. With that, we are truly grateful for the effort that these lomographers put into making these LomoKino movies.

    2015-10-31 4
  • Backstage Pass: An Interview with Photographer Rozette Rago

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-02 #people
    Backstage Pass: An Interview with Photographer Rozette Rago

    Rozette Rago is a photographer based in Los Angeles, California. She takes incredible images of people and places, but in this interview we focus a bit on her music photography, which she does so well.

    2016-08-02 2