Weekend Album Review: War

There was a statement behind every song in the album, and a purpose for playing them. This is probably why the tracks are vigorous, and altogether potent.

Photo via wikipedia

Today we feature War, the third studio album of one of the most influential, most famous and celebrated rock bands in the whole wide world, U2!

THE COVER
The cover shows the black and white image of a then even-year-old Irish boy named Peter Rowen. He first appeared on the cover of U2’s debut album, _Boy. That’s what a little boy gets when someone like Bono lives across the street!

THE TRACK LIST
1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
2. Seconds
3. New Year’s Day
4. Like a Song
5. Drowning Man
6. The Refugee
7. Two Hearts Beat as One
8. Red Light
9. Surrender
10. “40”

THE MUSIC
U2 is an Irish rock band formed in Dublin, Ireland way back in 1976. This was a time when musicians had to scour from within themselves to hone their talents, a time when YouTube tutorials weren’t available to teach you about chords, riffs, or drum solos.

The band’s would-be-drummer had posted a bulletin, inviting musicians to come together and form a rock band. Yes, they were still in high school, still teenagers, and probably not as superlative as they’ve turned out to be.

Initially there were other guitarists but the lineup was finalized with four mainstays: Bono on lead vocals and guitar; The Edge on guitars, keyboard and backing vocals; Adam Clayton on bass; and Larry Mullen Jr. on drums. Within four years however, they’d signed a record deal and had released their debut album, Boy.

THE MUSIC
War is the album that gave the world a sneak peek into what U2 was truly capable of. The more serious, more ”mature” theme was a large contributing factor to the album’s collective lyrical and sonic growth .

The band’s first two releases, Boy and October, dealt with adolescent musings and spiritual matters respectively. On the other hand, War is aptly titled as such, in reference to its overlying theme—-warfare. And for a band to discuss warfare through their music, you’d expect a powerful voice to speak strong convictions and commanding instrumentation to make things right.

The album opens with a fiery protest. Sunday Bloody Sunday begins with a drum roll expository of the sound of a hi-hat that will resonate throughout. You then hear that raw guitar riff the Edge so craftily created, and then a violin screeching—-oh wait was that just guitar feedback? No, that was a violin!—— building momentum along with the other instruments. And then you hear Bono singing. “I can’t believe the news today/I can’t close my eyes and make it go away/How long/How long must we sing this song…”

He proceeds and gives out details on the horrors brought about by war: “Broken bottles under children’s feet/Bodies strewn across the dead end street/But I won’t heed the battle call..” So much drama, despair and substance, and you’re only on the first track.

Seconds winds down a bit as it supports the outcry of Sunday Bloody Sunday. Upon hearing the third track, New Year’s Day, your eyes are awe-stricken round circles again. The piano sets the mood an haunts you; the Edge pumps so much testosterone into his guitar handiwork . You know it’s a song you will remember.

The songs in War sound stronger, harder than the band’s previous and subsequent work. There was a statement behind every song in the album, and a purpose for playing them. This is probably why the tracks are vigorous, and altogether potent.

“War seemed to be the motif for 1982. Everywhere you looked, from the Falklands to the Middle East and South Africa, there was war. By calling the album War we’re giving people a slap in the face and at the same time getting away from the cozy image a lot of people have of U2.”
- Bono

U2 is a band that your dad, older brother or boss probably listened and still listens to, and War is an album that set things in stone for them. If you can find a copy on the rack of your favorite record store consider yourself lucky. If you can’t, then go ask someone with keen musical taste if he has the album.

Till next week’s Weekend Music Review!

Like this article? Read more from our Weekend Album Review series. You might also like our Put Your Headphones on Friday playlists!

written by jillytanrad on 2013-06-28 #80-s #war #weekend-album-review #u2 #lifestyle #music #ireland #irish #rock

More Interesting Articles

  • Kyoto in a Heartbeat

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-07-30 #gear
    Kyoto in a Heartbeat

    Like a cluster of cherry blossoms, the temples in Kyoto can stop visitors in their tracks. These people assume the pose of a statue, a camera dangling from their neck and hands. On a first visit especially, the impulse to photograph every angle is constant. The Kinkaku-ji Temple and the torii-lined Fushimi Inari-Taisha are always packed; one would think the tourists would hurry along. But really, many are busy taking snatches of Kyoto with them.

  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 #videos #people
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    1
  • Heart, Soul and Music Through the Lens of Vickey Ford

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-03-10 #people
    Heart, Soul and Music Through the Lens of Vickey Ford

    Vickey Ford grew up with a variety of crooners and musicians influencing her through the radio or from the streets. From the time she was born to this very day, her house has never run out of songs to play.

  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-03 #people
    Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    In the work of Binh Danh, art is space for the unnamed to be seen. When war is the theme every detail counts. How does one person tackle this massive issue, where death and the value of lives intersect? A one-man job becomes a job about other men. And so for his series "Immortality: The Remnants of the Vietnam and American War" he made chlorophyll prints to express the indelible mark of war on various lands. Soldiers and laymen whose faces and records have been archived are given another chance to be remembered.

    1
  • Take Two's 'In Your Arms': Light Painting Music Video Using Pixelstick by SNAP Productions

    written by karenatsoi on 2016-02-22 #videos #people
    Take Two's 'In Your Arms': Light Painting Music Video Using Pixelstick by SNAP Productions

    An indie band from Singapore, Take Two, released a music video for their song 'In Your Arms' earlier this year. The video was shot and produced by SNAP productions with the Pixelstick to create stunning light-painting effects. Read on to know more about the production of the video and what the people at SNAP Productions think about the Pixelstick!

  • Martin Liu:Tracking Wind in Mongolia with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-27 #people
    Martin Liu:Tracking Wind in Mongolia with the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    "Photography is a reflection of heart." These are the words of Martin Liu, a documentary, wedding and portrait photographer from Hong Kong. He believes that the photographer must understand the stories, experiences and values of his or her subjects to capture the different faces of love. To capture priceless moments for a smitten pair, he brings the Minitar-1 Lens to Mongolia for a one-of-a-kind shoot. Hear the story behind this shoot, and the rest of Martin Liu's journeys in this exclusive interview.

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino on sale!

    LomoKino on sale!

    Embrace the magic of movie making and capture 144 frames of glorious analogue action on 35mm film with the LomoKino! Get it now at a incredibly low price while supplies last!

  • Lomography x Everything Everything Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-09-10 #videos #news
    Lomography x Everything Everything Rumble

    Everything Everything is an eclectic, glitch pop band from Manchester, England. Their music is known for complicated song structures laid with striking falsetto vocals from lead singer Jonathan Higgs. We have teamed up with Everything Everything in celebration of their new single "Spring/Sun/Winter/Dread" to offer you the chance win a signed copy of their new album "Get to Heaven" and a Sprocket Rocket SUPERPOP edition.

    4
  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 #places
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    10
  • Traveling the World as a Woman

    written by Kamila Stanley on 2016-03-08 #places
    Traveling the World as a Woman

    Why is it that women traveling alone are always confronted with the same questions and attitude? This is a tribute - in images and words - to women traveling the world. In memory of the Argentinian backpackers Marina Menegazzo and María José Coni.

    8
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • Zenit KM: Feathered Friends

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-12 #gear
    Zenit KM: Feathered Friends

    Their movement is as hard to predict as the weather. One minute they're on a standstill, the next they horde the sky with their brisk wings. This is precisely why people need binoculars and camouflage suits just to trace the track of birds. Similarly for photographers, these creatures present a friendly challenge. To capture the perfect stance, on land as in mid-air, is a reward.

    1
  • Lomo In-Depth: Boudoir Photography and Feminine Empowerment

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-02-27
    Lomo In-Depth: Boudoir Photography and Feminine Empowerment

    Of love and lace, trending right now in photography is boudoir, in which the photographer takes 'intimate and romantic' images of the model. Initially based on erotic photography, the purpose of boudoir has changed over time, taking on a new meaning for the modern woman.

  • Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    written by vicuna on 2015-09-30
    Vicuna's Travel Stories | Burkina Faso: The Land of Upright People

    When someone asks me why I love Burkina Faso so much and what's so special about it, I answer without any hesitation: the people. There's something in this country that connects the people together very strongly. Here, foreign visitors are warmly welcomed. And honestly, I think that the portraits I'm most proud of and that I really love are those shot in Burkina Faso. "Why," you ask?

    11