Lomo LC-A+ : Review as a LC-A+ newbie

2013-07-06 13

Finally, I manged to get a Lomo LC-A+ this year. I am wondering why so many people love it and are mad about this camera before I experienced it. There are too many people that have a mindset that “I will get a great photo or an amazing shot if I am using the LC-A+”. But sorry to say that a camera does not give a great photo but the person shooting does.

This is my first review of LC-A+. Thus, this review might not have great or “magical” photos as you see from other Lomographers, but it is a basic review as a LC-A+ newbie. I will learn and practice on the basic functions/features on every new camera that just reached my hands. In my opinion, this is a good practice to understand better how your camera works and what your camera can and can’t do.

Okay, let’s start my review. As usual, I was surprised by Lomography’s packaging once I received it. It’s all about functional, great packaging structure with good materials. LC-A+ comes with a wooden packaging box, it looks eco-friendly and I do like it. You can feel the size and weight after opening the box. I would like to say that it is not a lightweight and not a pocket size camera for me. This might be because I used to carry super lightweight cameras such as the VUWS, La Sardina or Diana Mini, so I feel “oops, LC-A+ is not light”. As what I mentioned, it is slightly heavy for me so I prefer to hang it on my neck rather than holding it with a hand strap. I might have to buy the LC-A+ case or DIY it if I want to use a neck strap.

I adjusted the ISO accordingly with my film which was loaded into LC-A+. After that, I can start to enjoy my shooting journey. I just have to adjust distance and the camera will do the rest due to the LC-A+ being an automatic exposure camera. I would like to say that slide film is always the best food for LC-A+ and digest it with cross processing. It will always surprise you with its outcome. Remember the golden rules of Lomography? Bring it everywhere you go.

Credits: yokekei

Of course, you can try to play on exposures and push / pull with the LC-A+ accordingly with light conditions and the results that you want. Photos below was rated at ISO200 with Fujichrome Sensia 100 film. It looks great too.

Credits: yokekei

For night shoots, you have to hold the shutter button until shutter closes. You have to steady your hands or use a cable release while the camera is on tripod or flat surface to avoid blurry image.

Credits: yokekei

LC-A+ comes with four distance focal adjustment which are 0.8m, 1.5m, 3m, and infinity. I would like to say that this setting is quite sensitive. You will get off focus images if your setting is incorrect. As you can see from the photos at below, I set it to infinity thus it focused on background but not the people standing in front.

Credits: yokekei

You can get bokeh photos with LC-A+ as well by getting the right focus setting. Let’s try with focusing on the front object with a blurred background. Okay, The LC-A+ makes it!

Credits: yokekei

Of course, many people like to self-shoot. Although I knew that the shortest focus distance of LC-A+ is 0.8m, I tried shooting with my short hands about 0.6m as well to see what result that I can get. That’s what I get, a slightly blurred image, but I am OK with it.

Credits: yokekei

Another must try feature is multi-exposure. LC-A+ comes with an MX button thus you can do unlimited overlapping exposures in one image. Of course, remember to adjust ISO to avoid over-exposure. Remember, do not waste the fun MX feature on the LC-A+. This is really fun, convenient, user-friendly, and awesome.

Credits: yokekei

I guess LC-A+ will be my ideal companion now. Another great thing about LC-A+ is that Lomography has launched many accessories for it such as the splitzer for MX fun, Krab for underwater, Instant Back for instant photography and so on. This is really great which allows us to play with a camera in many other ways. Perhaps, I will come back with another review about LC-A+ splitzer or LC-A+ Krab.

Credits: yokekei

Lastly, June is the month of LC-A. So, happy birthday to LC-A, Cheers!

written by yokekei on 2013-07-06 #gear #film #35mm #review #analogue #malaysia #camera #automatic-exposure #asia #lomography #xpro #multi-exposure #cross-processing #lc-a

13 Comments

  1. muhamad_haiz_shamsudin
    muhamad_haiz_shamsudin ·

    Great article! I'm sure the newbies would find the information based on your experiences here really useful. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks @muhamad_haiz_shamsudin for your comment. I hope this article do really helps :)

  3. -elin-
    -elin- ·

    If these photos aren't magical I don't know what lomo magic is supposed to be!

  4. jaszee
    jaszee ·

    I know how it feels to finally use the LCA camera! i got my hands on a used LCA (not the LCA+) in awesome condition but just need new light seals and after that, i put straight a Superia 200 for test roll. and boy, i am HAPPY! :d

  5. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    Hello @-elin- there are so many great LCA photos in lomography page. Let's share a great lomographer page to you, I like his photos so much and his photos are "magical" to me :D
    www.lomography.com/homes/hodachrome

  6. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    @jaszee Ya, I feel LCA+ is user-friendly :)

  7. mont0417
    mont0417 ·

    wow....wow....!!! great article !!! ;)

  8. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks for your support XD @mont0417

  9. -elin-
    -elin- ·

    @yokekei Now I understand what you mean:) I love his doubles with flowers! I still think that your pictures are very vivid and joyful!

  10. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks @-elin- wish to see more photos from you :) Cheers

  11. guillots
    guillots ·

    Hi @yokekei !...i like your article...i feel the same like you 'cause im newbie of lc a+ too...yesterday i picked up my first roll from the developing store, and i am very very happy with the results, i will put the photos online soon...by the way great selfshot.!

  12. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    @guillots thank you so much for your like and kind comment. Wish to see your photos soon :) Cheers.

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    niceeee :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Always On The Road: An Interview With Jeff Luker

    written by Ivana Džamić on 2017-05-02 #people
    Always On The Road: An Interview With Jeff Luker

    "I have been living in Portland for about 8 years now, off and on and it does feel like home. It is a great place to come back to after traveling. But I think I am happiest on the road or traveling, it feels kind of second nature to me," explains Portland-based photographer Jeff Luker.

  • "Landscapes With A Soul": An Interview With Chris Round

    written by Ivana Džamić on 2017-06-13 #people
    "Landscapes With A Soul": An Interview With Chris Round

    Australian fine art photographer Chris Round thinks that photography is a remarkable medium and "there are so many different ways in which it can be used." Read more into his insight and see his photos in this interview.

  • Win an Amazing Lomography Hamper!

    written by Lomography on 2017-11-15 #news
    Win an Amazing Lomography Hamper!

    Throughout the year it's easy to get distracted away from what really matters: friends and family. Remember the most important people in your life this holiday season for a one-off chance to win a special Lomography Hamper, which includes the iconic Lomo LC-A+!

    2017-11-15 1
  • Shop News

    Get as much as to 20% off on Instax films if you buy the Lomo'Instant Automat Cabo Verde Bundles!

    Get as much as to 20% off on Instax films if you buy the Lomo'Instant Automat Cabo Verde Bundles!

    Conjure up loads of perfectly lit instant mini images this summer with the Lomo’Instant Automat Cabo Verde + 10 Instax Film Bundle!

  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Monochrome

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-14 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Monochrome

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Monochrome category.

    12
  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Trial and Error

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-13 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Trial and Error

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Trial and Error category.

    12
  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Human Stories

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-12
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Human Stories

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Human Stories category.

    2016-12-12 5
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Adrenaline Junkies

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-15 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Adrenaline Junkies

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Adrenaline Junkies category.

    6
  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Off the Grid

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-13 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Off the Grid

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what a good image or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Off the Grid category.

    19
  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Breaking Boundaries

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-12 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Breaking Boundaries

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Breaking Boundaries category.

    15
  • Shop News

    Splurge on Gifts this Holiday Season with Piggy Points on us!

    Splurge on Gifts this Holiday Season with Piggy Points on us!

    Get 10 complimentary Piggy Points and share your lomo love with your loved ones this holiday!

  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Urban Explorer

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-15 #news
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competition Recap: Urban Explorer

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Urban Explorer category.

    2016-12-15 5
  • TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Cinematics

    written by Lomography on 2017-02-08 #news #videos
    TEN AND ONE 2016 Competitions Recap: Cinematics

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the short films that took the top spot in the Cinematics category.

    1
  • TEN AND ONE Competitions 2016 Recap: Instant

    written by Lomography on 2016-12-14 #news
    TEN AND ONE Competitions 2016 Recap: Instant

    People love competitions and Lomographers are no different. But more than a search for standout photographs, the TEN AND ONE Annual Competition celebrated the community's shared love for photography and its power to create enduring stories. This list by no means set a conclusive standard on what makes an image good or not. But nonetheless, we're proud to introduce the photographs that took the top spot in the Instant category.

    16
  • Find Out More About