Lomo LC-A+ : Review as a LC-A+ newbie

2013-07-06 13

Finally, I manged to get a Lomo LC-A+ this year. I am wondering why so many people love it and are mad about this camera before I experienced it. There are too many people that have a mindset that “I will get a great photo or an amazing shot if I am using the LC-A+”. But sorry to say that a camera does not give a great photo but the person shooting does.

This is my first review of LC-A+. Thus, this review might not have great or “magical” photos as you see from other Lomographers, but it is a basic review as a LC-A+ newbie. I will learn and practice on the basic functions/features on every new camera that just reached my hands. In my opinion, this is a good practice to understand better how your camera works and what your camera can and can’t do.

Okay, let’s start my review. As usual, I was surprised by Lomography’s packaging once I received it. It’s all about functional, great packaging structure with good materials. LC-A+ comes with a wooden packaging box, it looks eco-friendly and I do like it. You can feel the size and weight after opening the box. I would like to say that it is not a lightweight and not a pocket size camera for me. This might be because I used to carry super lightweight cameras such as the VUWS, La Sardina or Diana Mini, so I feel “oops, LC-A+ is not light”. As what I mentioned, it is slightly heavy for me so I prefer to hang it on my neck rather than holding it with a hand strap. I might have to buy the LC-A+ case or DIY it if I want to use a neck strap.

I adjusted the ISO accordingly with my film which was loaded into LC-A+. After that, I can start to enjoy my shooting journey. I just have to adjust distance and the camera will do the rest due to the LC-A+ being an automatic exposure camera. I would like to say that slide film is always the best food for LC-A+ and digest it with cross processing. It will always surprise you with its outcome. Remember the golden rules of Lomography? Bring it everywhere you go.

Credits: yokekei

Of course, you can try to play on exposures and push / pull with the LC-A+ accordingly with light conditions and the results that you want. Photos below was rated at ISO200 with Fujichrome Sensia 100 film. It looks great too.

Credits: yokekei

For night shoots, you have to hold the shutter button until shutter closes. You have to steady your hands or use a cable release while the camera is on tripod or flat surface to avoid blurry image.

Credits: yokekei

LC-A+ comes with four distance focal adjustment which are 0.8m, 1.5m, 3m, and infinity. I would like to say that this setting is quite sensitive. You will get off focus images if your setting is incorrect. As you can see from the photos at below, I set it to infinity thus it focused on background but not the people standing in front.

Credits: yokekei

You can get bokeh photos with LC-A+ as well by getting the right focus setting. Let’s try with focusing on the front object with a blurred background. Okay, The LC-A+ makes it!

Credits: yokekei

Of course, many people like to self-shoot. Although I knew that the shortest focus distance of LC-A+ is 0.8m, I tried shooting with my short hands about 0.6m as well to see what result that I can get. That’s what I get, a slightly blurred image, but I am OK with it.

Credits: yokekei

Another must try feature is multi-exposure. LC-A+ comes with an MX button thus you can do unlimited overlapping exposures in one image. Of course, remember to adjust ISO to avoid over-exposure. Remember, do not waste the fun MX feature on the LC-A+. This is really fun, convenient, user-friendly, and awesome.

Credits: yokekei

I guess LC-A+ will be my ideal companion now. Another great thing about LC-A+ is that Lomography has launched many accessories for it such as the splitzer for MX fun, Krab for underwater, Instant Back for instant photography and so on. This is really great which allows us to play with a camera in many other ways. Perhaps, I will come back with another review about LC-A+ splitzer or LC-A+ Krab.

Credits: yokekei

Lastly, June is the month of LC-A. So, happy birthday to LC-A, Cheers!

written by yokekei on 2013-07-06 #gear #35mm #xpro #film #malaysia #camera #lomography #analogue #multi-exposure #review #lc-a #asia #automatic-exposure #cross-processing

13 Comments

  1. muhamad_haiz_shamsudin
    muhamad_haiz_shamsudin ·

    Great article! I'm sure the newbies would find the information based on your experiences here really useful. Thanks for sharing :)

  2. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks @muhamad_haiz_shamsudin for your comment. I hope this article do really helps :)

  3. -elin-
    -elin- ·

    If these photos aren't magical I don't know what lomo magic is supposed to be!

  4. jaszee
    jaszee ·

    I know how it feels to finally use the LCA camera! i got my hands on a used LCA (not the LCA+) in awesome condition but just need new light seals and after that, i put straight a Superia 200 for test roll. and boy, i am HAPPY! :d

  5. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    Hello @-elin- there are so many great LCA photos in lomography page. Let's share a great lomographer page to you, I like his photos so much and his photos are "magical" to me :D
    www.lomography.com/homes/hodachrome

  6. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    @jaszee Ya, I feel LCA+ is user-friendly :)

  7. mont0417
    mont0417 ·

    wow....wow....!!! great article !!! ;)

  8. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks for your support XD @mont0417

  9. -elin-
    -elin- ·

    @yokekei Now I understand what you mean:) I love his doubles with flowers! I still think that your pictures are very vivid and joyful!

  10. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    thanks @-elin- wish to see more photos from you :) Cheers

  11. guillots
    guillots ·

    Hi @yokekei !...i like your article...i feel the same like you 'cause im newbie of lc a+ too...yesterday i picked up my first roll from the developing store, and i am very very happy with the results, i will put the photos online soon...by the way great selfshot.!

  12. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    @guillots thank you so much for your like and kind comment. Wish to see your photos soon :) Cheers.

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    niceeee :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #gear
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    2015-12-07 3
  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 #news #gear
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

    2015-12-24
  • Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-18 #gear
    Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-Wide

    With the days getting longer and the weather getting warmer, it's a perfect time to bring out your Lomo LC-Wide for those road trips with friends, adventures at the skate park, and lazy picnics at the park! Those spring scenes are bursting with warm light and captivating colors, the perfect subject for this versatile 35mm camera. Check out some of our favourite spring-themed community shots taken with the Lomo LC-Wide!

    2016-02-18
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • The Phobia Post: Fear of Solitude

    written by sirio174 on 2015-10-17
    The Phobia Post: Fear of Solitude

    It is possible to fear solitude. But of its many forms, I only fear the kind that goes unnoticed, the one you cannot share with other people. Photography, with its end goal of being seen, helps ease this kind of solitude.

    2015-10-17 1
  • December 17th Advent Offer: Get A 3-Pack Of Films For The Price Of 2! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-17 #news #gear
    December 17th Advent Offer: Get A 3-Pack Of Films For The Price Of 2!  (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    You can never take too many photos this time of year, which is why we've got this extra special deal to help make sure you have enough film to capture it all! Stock up today with a huge array of Lomography films that suit your style this holiday season.

    2015-12-17
  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 #news #gear
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    With today's great Advent deal, you can get 20% off the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide, along with all of our other premium Lomography cameras. Go above and beyond in your gift giving this year and head to the Online Shop or a Lomography Gallery Store near you!

    2015-12-09
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-17 #gear
    Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    Our beloved Lomo LC-A camera turns 32 this year! Through the years, we've seen this classic compact camera switch its color palettes and designs. But beyond the change in its looks is a story or milestone to raise our glasses to.

    2016-06-17 2
  • December 13th Advent Offer: Pick The Perfect Accessories For Your Camera! (Online Code: AMAZINGACCESSORIES20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-13 #news #gear
    December 13th Advent Offer: Pick The Perfect Accessories For Your Camera! (Online Code: AMAZINGACCESSORIES20)

    Are you looking to add some flair to your camera? Or perhaps it's time to get that flash you've been eyeing for some time. Today, we're offering a very festive 20% off Lomography Accessories to help you make your photos that much sweeter!

    2015-12-13
  • A Salute to the Masters: Bare Soles in Como (A Tribute to Christopher Anderson)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-11-07
    A Salute to the Masters: Bare Soles in Como (A Tribute to Christopher Anderson)

    The young artist and Magnum photographer Christopher Anderson published on his agency's website an awesome photo series, one of the images in it a great symbol of freedom, joy of living outdoors, purity, innocence, candor, and girlhood: the bare sole of a female lifted up, taken at the Central Park in New York. Like many other great Magnum photographers, Anderson explored this interesting body part through photographs. For this tribute, I chose a series of bare feet images I took along the promenade of the lake Como. Take a look!

    2015-11-07