Exa A1 Review - Camera That I’m Forced to Keep

2

I got this camera from my friend’s parents. They said that it has been in the family for many decades and I could have it in one condition; I’m not allowed to throw it away or sell it. I thank them and promised to keep in for myself and of course take it for a test drive!

When I got this, I was amazed by its beauty. The little round body with metal and black finish was a real eye candy for me. I heard that it has been serving as a toy for the last 15 years, so I didn’t think that it would work…and at first it didn’t. First, I tried the film winder, but it didn’t move. The shutter release didn’t work either. I went to the internet and managed to find the manual, but it wasn’t that useful. Winder was still stuck and I didn’t dare to put all of my strength to it, I didn’t want to break it more. Luckily my girlfriend was fearless and just forced the winder to move and the camera came alive!

I was excited and the first thing next morning, I went shopping for some film. I found two interesting new things for me; shutter button is attached to the lens and there was a top viewfinder, just like in TLR cameras. The shutter button is great, it’s easy to use and it’s right where your finger is when you hold the camera. Maybe that’s why they put a safety switch to this camera, so you won’t accidentally take a shot while handling the camera. I didn’t like top viewfinder that much, I’m just more used to the regular one.

Credits: jutei

The whole camera is full manual. You can set your ISO from 25 to 400 and shutter speeds go from 1/30s to 1/175s. I wouldn’t mind having faster shutter speeds, because on a clear sunny day, ISO400 loaded 1/175s will get you overexposed shots. There’s also bulb mode, a standard tripod socket, and a socket for a shutter release cable. The only thing missing is a flash hot shoe. You can use a PC-sync cord to fire your flash, but I didn’t have any PC-cords. The lens is 50mm f2.8-22 Meyer-Optik. The only special thing about it is the built-in shutter release button.

Credits: jutei

The photos came out okay, but I was hoping for little more sharper results. The camera feels really good in your hand and seems to be well made. Exa A1 is fun to use and the quite extreme weight (727g!) helps to keep the camera in place when taking pictures. The best thing is the good looks and the camera is now sitting on top of the bookshelf in my living room. It really looks that good!

written by jutei on 2013-07-05 #gear #review #ihagee-exa-1a-germany-german-old-50s-60s-70s-camera-film-35mm-trl-viewfinder-lens-50-f2-8-meyer-meyer-optik

2 Comments

  1. jaszee
    jaszee ·

    More handsome than the plastic Konstrucktor

  2. jutei
    jutei ·

    @jaszee Yeah, it's a beauty :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-15 #news #people
    Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    "The overarching theme is seeing people in adverse conditions take matters into their own hands and still find the energy to go dancing or fall in love or create art," Astronautalis said of his new album. We found that pretty inspiring, so we teamed up with him for a Rumble competition based on that idea.

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-20
    Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    Some lomographers prefer to hoard as many analog cameras their shelves and budgets can support. Some would rather keep a manageable number that they can regularly shoot with. Community member Joshua Kennedy belongs to the latter group. From 40 cameras, he downsized his collection to 13, as he puts it, "really good ones" that suit his shooting habits and style. In this interview, he breaks down his small yet dependable arsenal of vintage and handmade cameras and how an organized schedule allows him to shoot with each one on a regular basis.

    2
  • Shop News

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    Bring your own unique happy snapper to all of this summer's festivals and dance the night away! Grab La Sardina editions at 20% off!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-01-29 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    They aired their honest opinions and surprising suggestions, said their sweetest greetings, and promoted their outstanding creations in our Shoutbox. Now, it's our turn to shout their names aloud for keeping this space alive with entertaining and informative conversations. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of January 2016!

    8
  • 5 Mood Boards for Your Home

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-09-23
    5 Mood Boards for Your Home

    Rooms contain what the owner values or has come to hate (tucked in boxes, of course). Colors reveal mood swings. Gardens follow the season’s orders. A house keeps up with ever-changing whims and styles—one of the things that make it a home. Here’s something to inspire your next spruce-up.

  • MoMA Offers Free Online Course

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-16 #news
    MoMA Offers Free Online Course

    "Seeing Through Photographs" is a free six-week course that will discuss the history of photography and its place in the contemporary world. The course will also extend to the use of photographs as technology, communication, documentation and a means for artistic expression.

  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #gear #tutorials
    Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    When we said this camera was wide, we meant it! And when you add the wide-angle lens attachment to your Lomo'Instant Wide, that's when the magic really starts to happen! Now you can capture the whole picture in a snap!

  • Why It's Time to Give Film Cameras A Second Chance

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-15 #news
    Why It's Time to Give Film Cameras A Second Chance

    Easy to feel that life today runs on lightning speed. But fret not. For every technology marathon, there's an analog experience to keep things mellow. Case in point: film cameras as the sage and patient cousin of digital devices. Sam Byford of The Verge break down the why's for us in an entertaining new podcast.

    8
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 #news #gear
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    12
  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-08-05 #gear #tutorials
    12 Months, 12 Projects: July - Freelensing Fun

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In July, I tried freelensing or unscrewing the lens from my SLR and holding it in front of the camera body. By tilting the lens slightly I was able to change the focus. For this experiment, I used my Konstruktor and Olympus OM-1.