Exa A1 Review - Camera That I’m Forced to Keep

2013-07-05 2

I got this camera from my friend’s parents. They said that it has been in the family for many decades and I could have it in one condition; I’m not allowed to throw it away or sell it. I thank them and promised to keep in for myself and of course take it for a test drive!

When I got this, I was amazed by its beauty. The little round body with metal and black finish was a real eye candy for me. I heard that it has been serving as a toy for the last 15 years, so I didn’t think that it would work…and at first it didn’t. First, I tried the film winder, but it didn’t move. The shutter release didn’t work either. I went to the internet and managed to find the manual, but it wasn’t that useful. Winder was still stuck and I didn’t dare to put all of my strength to it, I didn’t want to break it more. Luckily my girlfriend was fearless and just forced the winder to move and the camera came alive!

I was excited and the first thing next morning, I went shopping for some film. I found two interesting new things for me; shutter button is attached to the lens and there was a top viewfinder, just like in TLR cameras. The shutter button is great, it’s easy to use and it’s right where your finger is when you hold the camera. Maybe that’s why they put a safety switch to this camera, so you won’t accidentally take a shot while handling the camera. I didn’t like top viewfinder that much, I’m just more used to the regular one.

Credits: jutei

The whole camera is full manual. You can set your ISO from 25 to 400 and shutter speeds go from 1/30s to 1/175s. I wouldn’t mind having faster shutter speeds, because on a clear sunny day, ISO400 loaded 1/175s will get you overexposed shots. There’s also bulb mode, a standard tripod socket, and a socket for a shutter release cable. The only thing missing is a flash hot shoe. You can use a PC-sync cord to fire your flash, but I didn’t have any PC-cords. The lens is 50mm f2.8-22 Meyer-Optik. The only special thing about it is the built-in shutter release button.

Credits: jutei

The photos came out okay, but I was hoping for little more sharper results. The camera feels really good in your hand and seems to be well made. Exa A1 is fun to use and the quite extreme weight (727g!) helps to keep the camera in place when taking pictures. The best thing is the good looks and the camera is now sitting on top of the bookshelf in my living room. It really looks that good!

written by jutei on 2013-07-05 #gear #ihagee-exa-1a-germany-german-old-50s-60s-70s-camera-film-35mm-trl-viewfinder-lens-50-f2-8-meyer-meyer-optik #review

2 Comments

  1. jaszee
    jaszee ·

    More handsome than the plastic Konstrucktor

  2. jutei
    jutei ·

    @jaszee Yeah, it's a beauty :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-15 #news #people
    Running Away From God: A Rumble with Astronautalis

    "The overarching theme is seeing people in adverse conditions take matters into their own hands and still find the energy to go dancing or fall in love or create art," Astronautalis said of his new album. We found that pretty inspiring, so we teamed up with him for a Rumble competition based on that idea.

    2016-04-15 1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-01-29 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2016

    They aired their honest opinions and surprising suggestions, said their sweetest greetings, and promoted their outstanding creations in our Shoutbox. Now, it's our turn to shout their names aloud for keeping this space alive with entertaining and informative conversations. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of January 2016!

    2016-01-29 8
  • MoMA Offers Free Online Course

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-16 #news
    MoMA Offers Free Online Course

    "Seeing Through Photographs" is a free six-week course that will discuss the history of photography and its place in the contemporary world. The course will also extend to the use of photographs as technology, communication, documentation and a means for artistic expression.

    2016-02-16
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #gear #tutorials
    Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    When we said this camera was wide, we meant it! And when you add the wide-angle lens attachment to your Lomo'Instant Wide, that's when the magic really starts to happen! Now you can capture the whole picture in a snap!

    2015-10-16
  • Why It's Time to Give Film Cameras A Second Chance

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-15 #news
    Why It's Time to Give Film Cameras A Second Chance

    Easy to feel that life today runs on lightning speed. But fret not. For every technology marathon, there's an analog experience to keep things mellow. Case in point: film cameras as the sage and patient cousin of digital devices. Sam Byford of The Verge break down the why's for us in an entertaining new podcast.

    2016-02-15 8
  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 #news #gear
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

    2015-12-24
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    2016-04-03 12
  • Lomo In-Depth: The Defining Role of Women Photographers in Art History

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-03-08
    Lomo In-Depth: The Defining Role of Women Photographers in Art History

    It is general knowledge that history—ruled and written by austere patriarchy—has not been so kind to women. Photography is one of the rare exceptions; womankind has set its pervading presence and participation in photography since the birth of the camera in the 1800's. Lomography traces the role of women in photography with a special, comprehensive summary for International Women's Day.

    2016-03-08
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • The Minimalist Analogue Photographer with Simeon Smith and the Belair

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-10-01 #news #people
    The Minimalist Analogue Photographer with Simeon Smith and the Belair

    In this new series photographer and analogue enthusiast Simeon Smith talks about the use of minimalism in photography and how he applied this method to his own work. In this article he uses the Belair camera and a roll of Black and White film.

    2016-10-01 1
  • Meet our LomoGuru: La Fille Renne (@lafilledeer)

    written by Lomography on 2016-10-01 #people
    Meet our LomoGuru: La Fille Renne (@lafilledeer)

    Joining the roster of legendary LomoGurus is France-based film photographer and osteologist La Fille Renne. She has only been in the community for four years but she already made a mark with her evocative and feminine portraits.

    2016-10-01