Lomography Diana F+ - Staff Review

2

If the Diana+ is the faithful reproduction of the 1960s Diana, then the Diana F+ is the improved version of the Diana+ – equipped with the talent to ‘flash.’

The 1960s Diana camera was sought-after for a good reason – besides the classic good looks, it made ordinary images a lot dreamier with a soft-focus look and overall lo-fi appeal. However, 35mm instamatic cameras put a threat to the medium-format Diana’s days under the spotlight. As artists and photographers in the West discovered its creative potential, the quantity was fast diminishing. Luckily, the Lomography headquarters in Vienna decided to keep the supply flowing by creating the Diana+ – a faithful reproduction of the ’60s classic, enhanced with more features.

The Diana+ retained the best features – from the looks to the quirks. It was lightweight, with the plastic lens that produces the same dream-like quality as the original. Two shutter speeds – ‘N’ and ‘B’ are available for daytime and nighttime, respectively. You can choose to do multiple exposures, and as for the enhancements – panoramic shots and pinhole photography is also possible (by twisting off the lens). While the Diana+ can be used for nighttime long-time exposures, it doesn’t have an option to use flash. But the hardworking team in Lomography Vienna decided to pimp up the Diana+ with a flash – and the Diana F+ is born.

The Diana F+ camera looks, feels, and functions just like its ancestors. The Diana flash was created to resemble the original – with a reflective silver face, and the body dipped in blue. Simply plug the included hotshoe adaptor into the camera body, and you’re ready to fire the flash. A small packet of color gel filters is included – so that you can slip one in the flash and wash your subjects with color. You can also shoot your subject crisp and clear against a background of streaming lights, if you use the flash with the camera in ‘B’ setting. The flash can also be used with any standard hotshoe camera using the included hotshoe adapter. The Diana+ & Diana F+ camera were also tweaked to accommodate new accessories such as the Diana+ Splitzer, Diana+ 35mm Back, and Diana+ lenses.

The first few times that I used this camera, I was a bit skeptical about it, but when my prints arrived, I was blown away with the vignette and the overall dreamy look. Personally, I would say that Diana works best when it’s very sunny – the colors and saturation pop out most especially when used with slide film. With the Diana Flash attached, expect some compliments – it looks so retro-cool and demands to be noticed!

Because of its lightweight plastic body, sometimes it’s easy to forget that you’re lugging it inside your bag, so remember to handle the Diana F+ carefully! The weather icon switch can move and slide (as well as the shutter) without you knowing, so check your settings before taking a photo – or not, if you prefer “happy accidents”. Recently, I had a whole roll of super-blurry Close-Up portraits because I didn’t notice it was set on Pinhole!

As with other Lomographic cameras, it is best to experiment with different kinds of film to discover the look/effect that you like – Diana can make black & white images look extra dramatic with its’ signature soft-focus look and vignetting, and images taken with x-pro’ed slides express a vintage feel. Slap on a new lens or take it off, slice images with the Splitzer, or load the 35mm Back to use 35mm film – the creative possibilities are endless with the Diana F+.

written by shhquiet on 2008-10-29 #gear #lomography #medium-format #review #staff #diana-f #120

2 Comments

  1. bravopires
    bravopires ·

    Beautiful gallerie!

  2. freefall21km
    freefall21km ·

    i really agree with what you said about the Diana F+. It's a really disarming camera, which makes it so good for taking photos of strangers :)

  3. nattykins
    nattykins ·

    I LOVE mine. I have the 35mm back and I'm constantly amazed by the images it creates. Some of the shots come out with a cross pro look even though its just ordinary film and processed at a regular lab.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 #people
    Reviews on Rewind: Diana Instant Back+

    Bring your Diana F+ experience to instant photography territory with the Diana Instant Back+! Curious? Here's a selection of community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    1
  • Shop News

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    Bring your own unique happy snapper to all of this summer's festivals and dance the night away! Grab La Sardina editions at 20% off!

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Illuminate Your Life with the Brand New Lomography Light Painter

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-27 #news #gear
    Illuminate Your Life with the Brand New Lomography Light Painter

    Think you can’t paint? Well, we think you can….with light! Enhance your photographs with stunning light effects in just a few easy clicks of the Lomography Light Painter. Brand new to the Lomography repertoire, this wonderful gadget is equipped with eight different light variations that allow for ultimate light painting experimentation.

  • Buy Lomography Film, Get a Free Camera!

    written by lomography on 2015-11-06 #news #gear
    Buy Lomography Film, Get a Free Camera!

    Spend over 99 EUR/USD/GBP worth of 35mm and 120 Lomography film until Sunday and be rewarded with a Diana F+ Black Jack or a Diana Mini and Flash White camera!

  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 #gear
    Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Barbora Smoláková's first brush with lomography started with a Diana F+ Deluxe Kit. With its variety of accessories, the Diana F+ allowed her to explore the endless possibilities of creative photography. In this interview, she opens up about her experience shooting with this versatile camera and how it helped her appreciate the beauty of ordinary things.

    3
  • Kamila K Stanley Tests the Colour Game of the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-04 #news #gear
    Kamila K Stanley Tests the Colour Game of the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens

    The synergy of kaleidoscopic colour and youthful soul is Kamila K Stanley’s signature. In testing Lomography’s storied new lens, the photographer does what is second nature to her—experiments with flashes of light.

    1
  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #news
    Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    Shooting at night or under low light conditions? Brighten up your snapshots with a burst of light with the Diana Flash! Take a look at these photographs courtesy of our rumble winners to see how it's ought to be done.

    4
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Meet our LomoGuru: zulupt

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-15 #videos
    Meet our LomoGuru: zulupt

    Aside from being an immensely talented lomographer, what makes him a perfect LomoGuru is his burning desire to share his knowledge. The city where he lives is full of people who are interested in analog photography, but the lack of easy access to film and equipment poses a challenge for them to pursue their passion. To keep them motivated, Hugo organizes workshops and tours on different film photography techniques and DIY tricks. Let's give a loud round of applause to Hugo Pereira, better known in the community as zulupt, our LomoGuru from Marinha Grande, Portugal!

    21