LOMO LC-A+ Review

2010-01-16 5

Yes I know everyone’s already done an LC-A+ review ans it’s so overdone, but it’s such a great camera!

My first Lomography camera was a Fisheye no.2. This opened me the the world of Lomography. I decided to save up my money for a LOMO LC-A+. I bought it in May and my life hasn’t been the same ever since. This camera really does change lives. It’s so nice and small you can bring it everywhere (like school!). The light meter is fantastic. It lets me use low grain film (iso 100) in slightly darker places than normal, if my hand is steady enough. I love how you really don’t know what you’re going to get. The vignetting really does wonders, especially when cross processing!

I’ve used an old LC-A before and I have to say the LC-A+ is better. The light meter and cable release are worth it, so is the warranty. Without that warranty, I would probably not have a camera anymore, since i dropped it in the summer and the take-up spool broke. LSI New York was so nice and just gave me a new one :D. In conclusion, the LC-A+ is a fantastic camera, nothing I have ever used before. I’ve taken about 30-40 rolls with this since i got it, not every picture great, but the ones that came out are great.

written by iamsymmetrical on 2010-01-16 #gear #fantastic #lc-a #great #analogue #small #analog #review #russian #lca #toy #lc-a #fun

5 Comments

  1. lawypop
    lawypop ·

    The fantastic Mr LC-A :)

  2. amyface
    amyface ·

    I really want oonne!

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    A great collection of shots !!!

  4. minty
    minty ·

    Just for the record, the original LC-A has a lightmeter too.

  5. iskandar
    iskandar ·

    I love the MX effect result :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-19
    How the Very First Commercial Instant Camera Came to Be

    Children, ever curious and with an innate sense of wonder, ask a lot of questions. Often they're easy enough to answer, but sometimes there are those that leave the adults stumped and mulling over them. The history of the instant camera as we know it began with one such question.

    2015-11-19
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    2016-04-03 12
  • Looking Back at the Great LC-A+ Race

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-21 #news
    Looking Back at the Great LC-A+ Race

    Seven years ago, in honor of the Lomo LC-A+'s 25th birthday, we launched The Great LC-A+ Race - a competition so grand, it required 100 participants from all over the world!

    2016-06-21 6
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-25 #gear
    Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    I’ve been shooting analogue as long as I can remember but it wasn’t until a few months ago that I was introduced to instant photography. So, you can imagine when I was given the chance to try out the recently introduced Lomo’Instant Wide, I “instantly” said yes and hit the streets of Vienna!

    2016-01-25 2
  • The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-08 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: Ilha de Marajó

    Brazil is an awesome country for traveling. There's so much to explore, each place very different from one another. It will definitely take a stretch of trips just to get to know this this South American pearl. I finished my copa tour last year in Marajó, the island of bulls—it just might be an eternal highlight for me.

    2015-11-08 9
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-17 #gear
    Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    Our beloved Lomo LC-A camera turns 32 this year! Through the years, we've seen this classic compact camera switch its color palettes and designs. But beyond the change in its looks is a story or milestone to raise our glasses to.

    2016-06-17 2
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

    2016-02-06 3
  • 4 Easy Ways to Share your Lomo’Instant Wide Photos with the World

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-24 #videos
    4 Easy Ways to Share your Lomo’Instant Wide Photos with the World

    So, you’ve got your brand new Lomo’Instant Wide and have already taken some of the coolest looking pics from your favorite new camera. What now? Share them with the World, of course! We want to see every single fantastic, fascinating and mesmerizing photo you shoot with the Lomo’Instant Wide and we’re here to tell you how it can be done.

    2015-11-24 1