Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Backpacking Life. Good luck!

Reviews on Rewind: Lubitel 166+

2013-03-20 3

If you take a peek at some of the community’s camera wishlists, we’re pretty sure that you’ll see the Lubitel 166+ written in big and bold letters. What’s the fuss about, you ask? Well, let this edition of Reviews on Rewind show you!

Credits: sixsixty

My Analogue Wishes …Lubitel Love! by sixsixty

This may be one of Lomography’s higher priced cameras, but when you realize how much this camera does and how many formats it offers, it is a true value.

Credits: lisamariesimpson

Lubitel 166+ in Galata by lisamariesimpson

Its mirror is sharply clean, just like its old fellows. You adore what you see. Focusing ease is the most distinctive function for it among the others.

Photos by adam_g2000

Four Years on the Lubitel 166+ by adam_g2000

The closer focusing is one of the reasons I wanted to upgrade. […] This improvement makes a big difference to me, it makes the camera a more flexible tool and once you’ve used it, you don’t want to swap back.

Photos by weihsuan

Lubitel 166+: The Camera That Does Two Formats with Accuracy by weihsuan

The full manual capability of the Lubitel 166+ enables the photographer control to the aperture and shutter speed for the best suitable exposure setting. No more under exposed photos!

Photos by strange_ojisan and yopanic

But if you want a more comprehensive look on this twin-reflex wonder, then you will definitely like this series of reviews by our regular contributor yopanic.

Introduction to the Lubitel 166+ Series
Lubitel 166+ Series #01: Tech Specs – Lens
Lubitel 166+ #02: Tech Specs – Viewfinder
Lubitel 166+ #03: Tech Specs - 35mm Format
Lubitel 166+ Series #04: Tech Specs - Other Features

The Lubitel 166+ is a loving recreation of the Soviet-era classic. Based on a design that dates back over 60 years, this camera is updated with new features like the ability to shoot both 120 and 35mm film. Shoot mind-blowing images with the Lubitel 166+, available in our Online Shop.

written by geegraphy on 2013-03-20 #gear #medium-format #lomography #lubitel-166 #review #reviews-on-rewind-series

3 Comments

  1. strange_ojisan
    strange_ojisan ·

    This is a photo I took

    www.lomography.com/homes/strange_ojisan/photos/16530055

  2. yopanic
    yopanic ·

    @strange_ojisan yeah, sorry I forgot to put the "various author" tag in the original article I wrote. Actually I found the image Googling the words "Lubitel 166+", so I didn't know it was yours... I will try to contact the magazine and put the "various author" tag... :)

  3. lisamariesimpson
    lisamariesimpson ·

    aww thanks!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

    2015-11-27
  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015: Top Five Items

    written by lomography on 2016-01-19 #news
    Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2015: Top Five Items

    Santa got his dates and lists mixed up causing a slight delay in the delivery of your most coveted analog cameras. To make up for it, we'll let you in on a little secret: We took a peek at his workshop and found him wrapping these premium cameras!

    2016-01-19 10
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-19 #news #gear
    A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    Shh! We've got a secret matter at hand, and it's coming at you at the speed of light! We're being as mysterious as the Cosmos about our new out-of-this world product, constantly orbiting around our big reveal. But the eclipse will pass and soon the stars will align. Until then, there must be some questions floating around in the universe, right? Well, there's no need to look to the stars to find your answer! Stay on Lomography's wavelength as we kick into hyperdrive. Let your imagination skyrocket and see if you can decipher our otherworldly clues!

    2016-01-19 19
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • The Science Museum: Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph Winners Announced!

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-08-28 #news
    The Science Museum: Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph Winners Announced!

    We teamed up with The Science Museum to offer you the chance to win tickets to the Fox Talbot Dawn of the Photograph Exhibition. We were astounded at the volume of wonderful analogue shots you submitted and choosing the final 3 winners proved to be quite a challenge. Find out if you won here.

    2016-08-28
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Newcomer of the Week: Morgan Buchanan (@gordonfalconer)

    written by Lomography on 2016-08-28
    Newcomer of the Week: Morgan Buchanan (@gordonfalconer)

    Australia-based fiction writer and tai chi teacher Morgan Buchanan aims to bring Lomography's "Don't Think, Just Shoot" attitude not only to his photography, but also to his writing and tai chi practice.

    2016-08-28
  • A Visual Commentary on Modern Love by Keiichi Kitayama (NSFW)

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-08-28 #people
    A Visual Commentary on Modern Love by Keiichi Kitayama (NSFW)

    If one can provide an image of modern romance, Japanese shooter Keiichi Kitayama mixes portraiture and street photography to write his own account of today's complicated affairs in love [Warning: NSFW].

    2016-08-28
  • The Story of the Vietnam War Through the Photography of Tim Page

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-28 #people #videos
    The Story of the Vietnam War Through the Photography of Tim Page

    English photographer Tim Page recalls an unforgettable experience in photography on the tragic landscape of the Vietnam War.

    2016-08-28
  • Shop News

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    Light up all your shots with this light-weight, versatile and wireless LED flash! Works best with any iOS and android platforms.

  • Slates of Silver with the Lomography Orca 110

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-28 #gear
    Slates of Silver with the Lomography Orca 110

    The Lomography Orca 110 will help you achieve the fine, silver-metallic shades rarely attained from the grayscale.

    2016-08-28 1
  • Stolen Moments from Quick Motions with High-Speed Photography

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-27 #culture
    Stolen Moments from Quick Motions with High-Speed Photography

    See these nicked images from the swift moments flashing before our eyes.

    2016-08-27
  • Recycling Memories: Surreal Collages by Weronika Gęsicka

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-08-27 #people
    Recycling Memories: Surreal Collages by Weronika Gęsicka

    What can be done with old printed photographs which no longer serve fascination in the digital age? Polish artist Weronika Gęsicka re-imagines these vintage prints in to new images and frames of passed time and emphasizes the importance of print in the matter of memory.

    2016-08-27 2