Reviews on Rewind: Kodak T-Max

2013-03-25 2

Today’s Reviews on Rewind is dedicated to one of Kodak’s great professional lines of black and white film, the T-Max. To give you a hint, one of our community members said it best: T-Max stands for “To the Max”!

Editor’s Note: Due to the discontinuation of Kodak T-Max P3200 last year, the reviews featured in this article will only be limited to Kodak T-Max 100 and Kodak T-Max 400.

The current Kodak T-Max line consists of two ISO options: 100 and 400. Both boast a extreme level of sharpness and fine grain, that make them a reliable choice for both professional and rookie photographers.

But don’t just take our word for it. Here’s what some of our community members have to say:

Kodak T-Max 100: Black and White Class! by joaomiguelsantoscunha

The first thing I loved was how beautiful the portraits came out, tidy and clean even in lower light conditions.

Kodak T-Max (35mm, 100 ISO) User-Review by eggzakly

This is supposed to be the world’s finest grained 100 ISO black and white film, which I totally believe and because it’s extremely sharp it makes great enlargements.

Kodak T-Max 400 by veato

The expected amount of grain was nicely controlled and the contrast was both punchy and a pleasant surprise. Looking further into the photos the tonality was impressive with deep blacks in the shadows through to nice bright highlights.

Kodak T-Max 400 Black and White Film: The Legend by pvalyk

This film is good for everyone. It’s very forgiving and it will not overexpose unless you really overexpose.

Well, what do you guys think? Do you have other things to say about the Kodak T-Max line? Tell us about it below!

written by geegraphy on 2013-03-25 #gear #black-and-white #lomography #review #reviews-on-rewind-series #kodak-t-max #reviews #films #eastman-kodak

2 Comments

  1. segata
    segata ·

    I've yet to develop the roll I have but from many of the brilliant photos I've seen that were taken using it I'm really itching to see the results :)

  2. ihave2pillows
    ihave2pillows ·

    Wonder if anyone has compared the Kodak TMax, Tri-X and the Lomography Earl/Lady Grey...

More Interesting Articles

  • Newcomer of the Week: sandy-sun

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-19
    Newcomer of the Week: sandy-sun

    Aside from developing his own black and white negatives, he also crafts pinhole cameras out of ordinary boxes. His dreamy, soft-focus lomographs even inspired some of the community members to go lens-less on their next photo shoot. Let's get to know more about our newcomer of the week from Sheffield, United Kingdom, sandy_sun!

    2015-09-19 4
  • Master of Monotone: Black, Gray, White

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-24
    Master of Monotone: Black, Gray, White

    Playing with black and white film is the great way to enhance one's skill in capturing light and shadow. Here are fine examples from the Lomography community.

    2016-02-24
  • Petzval Lomographer of the Week: pearlgirl77

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Petzval Lomographer of the Week: pearlgirl77

    We turn the spotlight to one of our talented community members from Landshut, Germany; one who exhibited mastery of the Petzval Lens.

    2015-10-26 8
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • Top Photo Uploaders of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of 2015

    Most of the community's activities and discussions center on photographs. All throughout 2015, we were treated to hundreds of thousands of wonderful images. We'd like to thank everyone who graciously uploaded and shared their snapshots with the community! These dedicated lomographers, however, deserve special recognition for setting these skyrocketing numbers. Meet our top photo uploaders of 2015.

    2015-12-30 14
  • Newcomer of the Week: emilybeaver

    written by lomography on 2015-10-25 #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: emilybeaver

    Emily Beaver got the community hooked on her compelling black and white portraits of musicians. Despite the absence of colors, her images are enliven by the intense emotions of her subjects. In this interview, our newcomer of the week opens up about her passion for photography, shooting exclusively with an LC-A, and more.

    2015-10-25 2
  • Gray Matter: Black and White Photography With the Lubitel 166+

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-22 #news
    Gray Matter: Black and White Photography With the Lubitel 166+

    It's no secret that the Lubitel 166+ produces bold, saturated colours that'll make your jaw drop to the floor! But the tones and contrast of this twin-lens camera carry across to black and white just as brilliantly. Here are some breathtaking grayscale photographs from our Online Community!

    2016-01-22
  • Shop News

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat! Back us on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant  Automat! Back us on Kickstarter!

    We’re proud to be back on Kickstarter to present: the Lomo'Instant Automat! Meet the world's most advanced automatic Instant Camera. Focus on being in the moment and let this baby capture everything and anything every time! Back us on Kickstarter now!

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 #news #gear
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    With today's great Advent deal, you can get 20% off the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide, along with all of our other premium Lomography cameras. Go above and beyond in your gift giving this year and head to the Online Shop or a Lomography Gallery Store near you!

    2015-12-09
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    2015-12-30 15
  • Get Creative with Exciting New Films & Save 35% on Lomography 110 Film!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-09-18 #news #gear
    Get Creative with Exciting New Films & Save 35% on Lomography 110 Film!

    The bold new film you’ve been waiting for is here! We’ve got a huge selection of creative and experimental films, and lots of other great ones back in stock. Head to our Online Shop or visit a Lomography Gallery Store near you and pick your film up today!

    2015-09-18
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    We're thrilled to present our new Kickstarter project—the New Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! Inspired by the bold brass design of the world's first photographic optic, the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens is a versatile tool seeking the great return of dreamy imagery.

  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

    2016-01-19
  • Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-20
    Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    Some lomographers prefer to hoard as many analog cameras their shelves and budgets can support. Some would rather keep a manageable number that they can regularly shoot with. Community member Joshua Kennedy belongs to the latter group. From 40 cameras, he downsized his collection to 13, as he puts it, "really good ones" that suit his shooting habits and style. In this interview, he breaks down his small yet dependable arsenal of vintage and handmade cameras and how an organized schedule allows him to shoot with each one on a regular basis.

    2015-09-20 2
  • "Be An Explorer" Campaign: Lomo'Instant Workshop - Creative Photography

    written by venustse on 2016-08-31 #culture #news
    "Be An Explorer" Campaign: Lomo'Instant Workshop - Creative Photography

    For the third workshop in our "Be An Explorer" Campaign, we invited Hong Kong-based Lomographer, Raymond Chin to share his experience using the Lomo'Instant. The workshop's theme is Creative Photography.

    2016-08-31