Reviews on Rewind: Fuji Velvia

2013-03-13 3

Craving for a cross-processed adventure? Take a look at these Reviews on Rewind and see why the versatile and varicolored Fuji Velvia slide film is the favourite reversal emulsion of many Lomographers!

Fuji Velvia is famous for its warm reds, high-contrast color shifts, and superb saturation, so it’s no wonder everyone wants to get their hands on some rolls! The fact that it’s available in both 35mm and 120 formats makes it a favourite choice of many film photographers and the results and reviews are pretty consistent across the board: Lomographers love Velvia!

*Fuji Velvia 100 - A Film for Dreamers!* by muddymire

Fuji Velvia 100, a 35mm slide film first produced in 2005, is unarguably one of the most popular films amongst budding analog photographers today. And quite rightly so — when used in the right conditions with the right camera, the film produces stunning images unparalleled by any other.

*Fuji Velvia 100 RVP (120): The Untamed Beast* by shmarmy

Of all the slide films in the lomography universe, Fuji Velvia 100 RVP is probably one of the most crazy, unpredictable, and wild when cross-processed. You’ve probably seen at some point the fantastic saturation, the pinky purple, red and orange hues that this film gives, among other unpredictable and fierce colour shifts.

*Velvia Goodness!* by ethermoon

The Fuji Velvia, with its low iso sensitivity, has some special powers (I think) that produces different contrasts shot after shot. We all know the 100 iso is for red, magenta and pink, the Sensia for its green/yellow combination, and others, but this one is fantastically interesting. I was expecting a Fuji slide film outcome, but here’s what I got. Blue, green and yellow hues. Shooting it day and night makes the film feel very special and beautiful.

*Fuji Velvia 50 35mm Color Slide: A Beginner's (Very) Non-Technical Review* by joefrank

Overall, I highly recommend this film. It’s fairly affordable, and worth every penny. Get some today and enjoy what that extra green boost does to all these beautiful fall colors!

*First Impressions: Velvety Velvia 100F* by denisesanjose

Imagine my delight when I got the roll back from the lab and saw how rich the colours in my photos were! From plush purples to rad reds, the images boast of strong contrasts as well as smooth tones.

Check out more Fuji Velvia Reviews here and read more Reviews on Rewind in the Magazine.

Fuji Velvia is world-famous as the most saturated slide film that you can buy. Shoot this on a bright day and develop it normally, and the results will knock you head over arse. When crossed-processed, it gives you that wild Fuji green-blue colour shift that we absolutely love. See the whole range of colour slides in our Shop.

written by denisesanjose on 2013-03-13 #gear #lomography #reviews-on-rewind-series #color-slides #fuji #editors-picks #velvia #review #120-films #analogue-photography #35mm-films #fujifilm #cross-processing #online-shop #gallery-post

3 Comments

  1. denisesanjose
    denisesanjose ·

    Rave reviews by @muddymire @shmarmy @ethermoon @joefrank!

  2. arf-nrhkm
    arf-nrhkm ·

    How about Velvia that underwent Normal processing with E6 Chemicals! (: - www.lomography.com/homes/arf-nrhkm/albums/1939987-velvia-10…

  3. unreality
    unreality ·

    just got two rolls today, never tried this film before!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

    2015-11-27
  • Best Friends Forever Rumble Winners

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-29
    Best Friends Forever Rumble Winners

    Friendship goals, you say? Take a look at these crazy portraits featuring your fellow lomographers and their best buddies.

    2016-06-29 11
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    Light up all your shots with this light-weight, versatile and wireless LED flash! Works best with any iOS and android platforms.

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    2015-09-27 10
  • Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #news
    Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    Shooting at night or under low light conditions? Brighten up your snapshots with a burst of light with the Diana Flash! Take a look at these photographs courtesy of our rumble winners to see how it's ought to be done.

    2015-12-07 4
  • New Perspectives: Christine Lavosky and the Lomo Instant

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-15 #people #places
    New Perspectives: Christine Lavosky and the Lomo Instant

    Mere days before my two week adventure I spontaneously inherited Lomography’s original gem of immediate satisfaction. Armed with the most creative take on instant photography yet, I was able to see Salamanca, Oviedo, Santander, and Madrid through a rare lens.

    2016-08-15
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

    2016-01-19
  • Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-A+

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-25 #gear
    Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-A+

    Pack away your winter coats, put on your shades, and grab your Lomo LC-A+ - Spring is here! Capture those sun-soaked scenes and blooming flowers with the characteristic vignetting and bright contrast of this classic 35mm camera. Take a peek at some of our favourite spring-themed community shots taken with the Lomo LC-A+!

    2016-02-25
  • Lomo'Instant Wide Fun in the Sun with Adam Rindy

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-06-05 #gear #culture #people #places
    Lomo'Instant Wide Fun in the Sun with Adam Rindy

    Los Angeles based fashion photographer Adam Rindy took the Lomo'Instant Wide out on the town. Take a look at his fresh, fun, and warm images, heavy on the California sunshine in this new LomoShowcase.

    2016-06-05 1
  • Shop News

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture more and save more when you buy the LC-Wide Instant Bundle. Get 50% off the original price of the LC-A Instant back, and get the LC-Wide Instant Kit for FREE!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Bare Soles in Como (A Tribute to Christopher Anderson)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-11-07
    A Salute to the Masters: Bare Soles in Como (A Tribute to Christopher Anderson)

    The young artist and Magnum photographer Christopher Anderson published on his agency's website an awesome photo series, one of the images in it a great symbol of freedom, joy of living outdoors, purity, innocence, candor, and girlhood: the bare sole of a female lifted up, taken at the Central Park in New York. Like many other great Magnum photographers, Anderson explored this interesting body part through photographs. For this tribute, I chose a series of bare feet images I took along the promenade of the lake Como. Take a look!

    2015-11-07
  • Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-03-03 #people #news
    Route 55 Tour Diary With The Knocks

    Have you heard of The Knocks? If you haven't (and like to dance) you should definitely listen to these new LomoAmigos, whose first headline tour just sold out! The New York-based electronic duo crossed the country on a tour bus and had a Lomo'Instant Wide in tow. They brought back some amazing photos—see them here and learn more about the guys behind the beats. Plus, get a chance to win a camera signed by The Knocks and a copy of their debut album "55"!

    2016-03-03
  • Lomopedia: Industar 26M 50mm Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-10 #gear
    Lomopedia: Industar 26M 50mm Lens

    We’re back on track with the Lomopedia series - the place to get a quick heads up on what’s what with cameras, lenses, and films you may come across with. For this comeback installment, we’re taking a look at the simple but dependable Industar 26M 50mm lens.

    2016-07-10 5