Instax Mini 55 Review by Liad

2008-07-11 2

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

I can honestly say that after spending some time shooting with the Instax Mini 55, my hope in instant photography has returned.

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been wandering around town with friends and co-workers, shooting the backstreets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. The camera was always quick to respond, adjusts to light and dark with the press of a button, and turns a walk in the park into a memorable event with beautiful souvenirs to show for it.



This sleek, elegant snapshot wonder brought the simplicity of point and shoot photography, the 2-minute gratification of instant photography, and the brilliant colors and tones of Fuji film into the palm of my hand. There’s a close-up attachment, two shutter releases for different positions, and you can even hold a fisheye lens in front of the lens and get awesome fisheye perspective shots on mini Instax film!

written by ouroborosx on 2008-07-11 #news #instax-mini-55 #fisheye-cheki #review

2 Comments

  1. mandi
    mandi ·

    fisheye lens = great idea!

  2. fotoglove
    fotoglove ·

    very cool stuff liad.. good work

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 #places
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    2015-12-01 10
  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • Shop News

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat! Back us on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant  Automat! Back us on Kickstarter!

    We’re proud to be back on Kickstarter to present: the Lomo'Instant Automat! Meet the world's most advanced automatic Instant Camera. Focus on being in the moment and let this baby capture everything and anything every time! Back us on Kickstarter now!

  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    2016-02-08 3
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    2015-12-30 15
  • Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2016-07-16 #news
    Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    Among the many public events of last year's winter in my hometown Como (that I documented with my albums and with my articles), I think that the most important was the opening ceremony of the jubilee proclaimed by Pope Francis. I photographed everything with my beloved Canon AV-1. Take a look!

    2016-07-16 3
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 #places
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

    2015-10-30
  • Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 5

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-24 #news
    Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 5

    As the year comes to a close, Lomography Soho looks back and makes a countdown of the Top 5 events that happened in 2015. At the number 5 spot is the Serendipity Exhibition by one of our most prolific community shooters,Toby Mason.

    2015-12-24 1
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • Lomo In-Depth: The Defining Role of Women Photographers in Art History

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-03-08
    Lomo In-Depth: The Defining Role of Women Photographers in Art History

    It is general knowledge that history—ruled and written by austere patriarchy—has not been so kind to women. Photography is one of the rare exceptions; womankind has set its pervading presence and participation in photography since the birth of the camera in the 1800's. Lomography traces the role of women in photography with a special, comprehensive summary for International Women's Day.

    2016-03-08
  • Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 #people
    Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Jeri Lampert has made quite a name for herself, having photographed for a number of magazines and well-known brands. Taking a break from the glitz and glamour of the fashion world, she takes the Lomo'Instant Wide and captures scenes that are more personal and altogether different from the highly stylized images she has been known for. Here's a brief but intimate interview with the New York City based photographer.

    2015-12-09 1
  • Vintage Gallery: Everyman's Beer

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-01
    Vintage Gallery: Everyman's Beer

    As a toast to Oktoberfest 2015, we have combed archives for evidence of beer love in the deeper parts of town. The roadside dives that banner cold beer, German singers holding up their embossed steins and rustic ads by the tracks make up today’s gallery.

    2015-10-01