Instax Mini 55 Review by Liad

2

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

Let me begin by saying that I have been a Polaroid addict for many years, and that the news of Polaroid’s demise was for me a near cataclysmic event.

I can honestly say that after spending some time shooting with the Instax Mini 55, my hope in instant photography has returned.

Over the past week and a half, I’ve been wandering around town with friends and co-workers, shooting the backstreets of Brooklyn and Manhattan. The camera was always quick to respond, adjusts to light and dark with the press of a button, and turns a walk in the park into a memorable event with beautiful souvenirs to show for it.



This sleek, elegant snapshot wonder brought the simplicity of point and shoot photography, the 2-minute gratification of instant photography, and the brilliant colors and tones of Fuji film into the palm of my hand. There’s a close-up attachment, two shutter releases for different positions, and you can even hold a fisheye lens in front of the lens and get awesome fisheye perspective shots on mini Instax film!

written by ouroborosx on 2008-07-11 #news #instax-mini-55 #fisheye-cheki #review

2 Comments

  1. mandi
    mandi ·

    fisheye lens = great idea!

  2. fotoglove
    fotoglove ·

    very cool stuff liad.. good work

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    1
  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 #places
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    10
  • Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-25 #places
    Travel Stories: The Bolivian Highlands by lonur

    My wife and I suffered a family loss in October 2013 so we decided to shift things around and have a celebration of life—a wedding, actually—to associate our loss with the beginning of something positive and memorable. We have been together for nearly 13 years and after getting married, we headed off on a three-month trip to South America and a few other stops to complete a round-the-world loop back to Australia.

    11
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    written by nickpage on 2015-09-19
    Five Days, Four Kinds of Film and Three Cameras on the French Riviera

    It had been five years since my last visit to the Côte d'Azur in France. During this period, I took to film photography again. And so for my return, I was looking forward to capturing, with my handy film cameras, some of that special light and blue sea that had drawn so many artists to the Riviera.

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 #news #gear
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    2
  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    5
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    3
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    15
  • Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2016-07-16 #news
    Happenings on Film: the Opening of the Jubilee of Mercy in Como

    Among the many public events of last year's winter in my hometown Como (that I documented with my albums and with my articles), I think that the most important was the opening ceremony of the jubilee proclaimed by Pope Francis. I photographed everything with my beloved Canon AV-1. Take a look!

    3
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Travel Stories: June '15 in Peru by sallycanela

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-11 #places
    Travel Stories: June '15 in Peru by sallycanela

    You know that place you always picture in your head when you think of your dream holiday destination? That was Machu Picchu for me. Last May I decided to go for it and embarked on a two-and-a-half-week trip around Peru with my boyfriend.

    8
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    8
  • Remarkable Film Photographs Captured by the Homeless Featured on Cafe Art 2016 My London Calendar

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-02 #news
    Remarkable Film Photographs Captured by the Homeless Featured on Cafe Art 2016 My London Calendar

    Armed with disposable cameras, a number of people affected by homelessness in London trooped out in the streets and captured life from their individual perspectives. That was in July; now, 13 photographs have been selected via public vote and will be featured on the upcoming calendar by Cafe Art, an initiative that "[showcases] artwork created by people affected by homelessness or are socially vulnerable."