The Film Photography Project Reviews the Diana Baby 110

1

Last year, the 110 film format celebrated a glorious comeback with the Diana Baby, the Fisheye Baby and various films. The resurrection of the discontinued format took the analogue photography world by storm. One of the people excited by the cameras and film format is Michael Raso, producer and host of the Film Photography Podcast. Read on for his thoughts on the Diana Baby and a video review!

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

Last year, Lomography resurrected the pocket film format of 110 film. Right now, there are four types of film and two 110 cameras available, the Diana Baby and the Fisheye Baby. Many people were surprised by the comeback of 110 film. One of these people was Michael Raso, owner of The Film Photography Project and producer/host of the long-running The Film Photography Podcast (FPP) – the internet radio show for people who love to shoot film. This week, he released a video review of the Diana Baby (see below). Reason enough for us to ask him some questions on 110 film, the Diana Baby and his projects.

What was your initial reaction when you heard of the comeback of 110 pocket film?

When I heard that Lomography was bringing back 110 pocket film I literally jumped out of my seat and shouted “YES!” I immediately called Lomography New York to find out as much info as possible – the hows, the whys and whens! A fantastic day indeed! I was actually at Lomography, London for a FPP Meet-Up the month that the first batch of 110 BW Orca was released. Little did I know that three additional 110 films were to be released in 2012!

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

How would you describe the characteristics of 110 film to someone who has never used it?

110 film has its roots in the early 1970s and was designed by Kodak to replace the existing 126 cartridge format. The much smaller 110 cartridges yield a smaller negative and therefore will usually produce a grainier, grindier looking image. In many cases, the 110 images look vintage due to the fact that no other film format produces such a look. Certainly a very different look in an age of clean, crisp, video. Everyone shooting film should return or try 110 film!

What was your experience with the Diana Baby like? Are there any characteristics you’d especially like to point out?

The Baby Diana is an excellent addition to the existing lines of 110 cameras and perhaps the first 110 camera to produce a square image! The beauty of the Baby Diana is the interchangeable lenses and the fact that it has a PC port that allows you to attach a flash. Brilliant! My Baby Diana is always in my pocket!

The Film Photography Project includes its website, podcast, Youtube channel, Facebook and Twitter outlets. How did the project get started?

One weekend in late 2008, I cleaned out a closet in my home to discover all of my 35mm film gear. Unused for 10 years, I was anxious to get out and shoot but soon realized that the world had gone digital and film was hard to come by in a local brick and mortar store. Upon doing a Google search, I discovered Flickr.com and found a film-frenzied online community of devoted film-only photographers. My background is in film and audio production so, just for fun, I started producing a monthly show called The Film Photography Podcast – an Internet radio show about the love and discovery of shooting film. I inducted pals John Fedele and Mat Marrash to co-host and before long I had a small gang of volunteers!

What was the weirdest or funniest encounter or story you can tell us about that resulted from the project being started?

It’s both weird and funny that this little radio show soon became my entire life! I had no idea back in ’08 that there was such a large, world-wide audience who were interested in listening to guys from Jersey discuss their love of film. What made and still makes the podcast exciting is that we do not broadcast “to” our audience – we are talking “with” them. Even though we’re not a live show, so many of our listeners feel like they’re “in the room” or “part of the conversation” during any one of our podcasts.Listener letters and feedback are a huge part on the show.

All images © Michael Raso / FilmPhotographyProject.com

The show has also been a great source of discovery for both me and the audience listening. When I started the podcast I had only shot 35mm and Instamatic film formats. Since podcasting began, both me and the audience have ventured into instant photography, medium format and upwards to large format film photography. Perhaps the greatest thing that has happened is the in-person meet-ups with listeners. Both our New York and London meet-ups have taken place at Lomography stores with the awesome help of all the kind folks at lomography. In 2013, the podcast and website are going strong! I encourage everyone reading this to come and check out the world of The Film Photography Podcast!

With 110 film having been resurrected, what other technologies of film photography do you see as being in jeopardy or would like to enjoy a comeback? Why so?

Clearly, the next format deserving a comeback is the 126-cartridge film format. Introduced by Kodak in 1963, there are millions of existing cameras in the world with no available film. The 126 film format is the same size as 35mm but produces a square image. If anyone can do it, Lomography can!

written by bohlera on 2013-03-06 #videos #gear #test #video #analogue-photography #film-photography-project #diana-baby #35mm-films #110 #review #camera #accessories #analogue-cameras #art #diana #pocket-film #film #sample #120-films

One Comment

  1. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    The FPP is a great shoe (what shoe?)! 126 would be cool, though never had the chance to use it. Would development be an issue at modern labs?

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewellyn

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-08-28 #people
    Abstract Visions and Phantasmic Monochromes by Ian Llewellyn

    As a wildlife cameraman and photographer, Ian Llewellyn has worked on a number of television projects. The UK-based lensman breaks free from the strict confines of his profession by engaging in monochrome photography. His personal work is a plethora of abstract and experimental imagery, created in a style distinctly his own. Llewellyn is an ardent user of a Leica Monochrom camera, on which he mounted the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Lens, producing the most imaginative, phantasmic results.

    1
  • Julija Svetlova Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by Lomography London on 2016-04-11 #people
    Julija Svetlova Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Julija Svetlova, also known as "neja" on the Lomography circuit, is a London-based film photographer. She has run workshops for The Photographers Gallery and The University of the Arts and continues to produce beautiful imagery using various film cameras and techniques.

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Petzval Lomographer of the Week: stephoebe

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-21 #news
    Petzval Lomographer of the Week: stephoebe

    Our Petzval Lomographer of the Week takes the New Petzval 85 lens on a vintage garden party and showcases the lens' analog prowess by matching its signature swirly bokeh with various films.

    3
  • The World in Infrared

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-28
    The World in Infrared

    Scenes on land and by the water turn into places straight out of fantasy films with unnatural colors dominating the landscape, the results of color infrared photography.

  • Keeping the Analogue Spirit Alive: An Interview with Honest. Magazine

    written by Teresa Sutter on 2016-05-23 #culture
    Keeping the Analogue Spirit Alive: An Interview with Honest. Magazine

    Print is dead – or is it? Honest. Is an ambitious project by three film photography enthusiasts who want to spread the analogue spirit and create a community of like-minded creatives. Preserving the tangible aspect of film photography, at the heart of the “Honest." tribe is a print magazine.

  • Shop News

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    We're thrilled to present our new Kickstarter project—the New Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! Inspired by the bold brass design of the world's first photographic optic, the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens is a versatile tool seeking the great return of dreamy imagery.

  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 #people
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    3
  • Meet our LomoGuru: roxyvonschlotterstein

    written by lomography on 2015-11-08
    Meet our LomoGuru: roxyvonschlotterstein

    A passion deeply rooted in her childhood, photography serves as a form of meditation and a creative outlet for Germany-based community member roxyvonschlotterstein. Aside from keeping an active LomoHome, she puts forth effort in participating in photography-related projects and activities with her fellow German lomographers. In this interview, she shares more about her memorable experiences in community, thoughts about shooting on film, and a tidbit about her LomoHome name.

    29
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    1
  • Shop News

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    Great news! Our previous KickStarter success, the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens, is now in stock and ready to ship! What are you waiting for? Go to the shop and grab yours now!

  • LC-A 120 and Pinhole Film Swap with Toby Mason and Mike McLean

    written by Lomography London on 2015-11-20 #tutorials
    LC-A 120 and Pinhole Film Swap with Toby Mason and Mike McLean

    Film photography fanatics Toby Mason and Mike McLean worked together on their latest project, a film swap using the LC-A 120 and a 120 pinhole camera. Read their step-by-step guide to getting excellent alignment and see the stunning results.

    8
  • The Art of Picture Taking: An Interview with Filmmaker Catherine Dauphin

    written by Azin Teimoori on 2016-02-16 #videos #people
    The Art of Picture Taking: An Interview with Filmmaker Catherine Dauphin

    At the time of its inception, photography was considered less a fine art and more a scientific method of reproduction. But anyone who has dabbled in the craft will argue otherwise; that there consists a very specific artistry in the photographic medium. We spoke with Luxembourg-based filmmaker Catherine Dauphin about her thoughts on this wonderful art form. Join us as she answers some of our questions about film, photography, and her short film titled "The Art of Picture Taking."

  • Lomography X Carol Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 #videos #news
    Lomography X Carol Rumble

    Starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett and Academy Award-nominee Rooney Mara, CAROL is the beautiful new movie by acclaimed director Todd Haynes. To celebrate its release in cinemas on November 27 we have some great prizes to be won including our Lomo’instant Sanremo camera, 5 x copies of Vivian Maier’s Street Photography book, 10 x pairs of cinema tickets to see this fantastic film and x 10 Carol posters!

    4