The Film That Keeps You Guessing: Foma Fomapan (120, 100 iso) User-Review

11

Fomapan is a trippy film that will keep you guessing from one roll to the next!

I first used Fomapan because my friend lent me a roll of it saying that I’d like it. Truer words had never been spoken.

Fomapan 100 is known for being a very sharp film which can be good with a Diana or Holga when you need a break from creamy colours. It came out out as sharp as a razor when put in a Rolleiflex or Yashica TLR. Fomapan is a very lenient film too. It has a wide exposure latitude so you can get nice results when over exposing it by 1 stop and under exposing it by 2 stops all without changing its developing times. All of this combined when combined with a Holga results in perfectly printable shot almost every time. A match made in heaven.

But wait! There’s more! When you develop Fomapan in a developer like T-max (T-max is the only developer I use but I’m sure it works on others) your developer will turn a Kool-Aid blue and so will your negatives. All this from a black and white film and black and white developer? It is a mystery! Nevertheless it is a great effect. When you bring it to your lab or if you’re developing and scanning at home, make sure they’re scanned as colour negatives rather than black and white and let the colours fly. I’ve noticed that dark parts in the photo will turn a greenish tint and if something is over exposed in the picture it sometimes turns a slight red-ish tint to it. But these effects differ from camera to camera. Sometimes in my Holga the photos turn out in a blue when scanned in colour and reversed.

So give Fomapan a try and share your colour shifting experiences!

written by fivedayforecast on 2010-01-27 #people #gear #yashica #review #crazy #black-white #holga #trippy #fomapan-100

11 Comments

  1. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    pretty good!

  2. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    love the gallery.

  3. satomi
    satomi ·

    wow nice b+w gallery! Love #11! amazing shots!

  4. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Love the gallery too, and 11 is ace too. Have seen some fomapan quite cheap, well have to get some once I've cleared out my fridge a bit. Lovely.

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Stunning gallery !

  6. paramir
    paramir ·

    great gallery! this sounds like something to try indeed. very informative review!

  7. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    quality!

  8. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Indeed it is fun stuff. The negatives turn out really really really blue and will make your developer look more like listerine

  9. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    Which is sort of a problem because I keep my old developer in a listerine bottle.

  10. lomoha402
    lomoha402 ·

    lookin good!

  11. kippysmallsocks
    kippysmallsocks ·

    I imagine the colour is probably the result of the anti-halation backing. Adox CMS 100 gives a really rich colour blue as well. Do you not pre-soak?
    Nice set of images btw, #9 is my favourite.

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: Maximize Your Instants! (Part 1)

    2017-09-01 #tutorials
    Tipster: Maximize Your Instants! (Part 1)

    There's so much to love about instant photography. The idea of a picture developing right in the palm of your hand is really amazing and exciting, but that's just the beginning -- what you do next with your instant photos will take your excitement to the next level.

  • Shoot Super Squares with Lomography 120 Film

    2018-06-09 #gear
    Shoot Super Squares with Lomography 120 Film

    Guess what's in stock just in time for summer? Lomography 120 film, baby! Get ready to snap your squares in the richest colors and smoothest grain from dusk 'til dawn.

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    2017-12-08 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    1
  • Shop News

    Pre-order the Diana Instant Square and Get a Free Lomography Light Painter!

    Pre-order the Diana Instant Square and Get a Free Lomography Light Painter!

    Just in case you missed out on the Kickstarter fun, don't worry! Pre-order the Diana Instant Square from the online shop today and get a FREE Lomo Light Painter and get both by the end of the year!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    2018-02-15 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2
  • Go Psychedelic with Diana on World Pinhole Day!

    2018-03-29
    Go Psychedelic with Diana on World Pinhole Day!

    Today is World Pinhole Day! Dare to be a little trippy with pinhole photography — let the Diana Multi Pinhole Operator show you how.

  • A Photographer's DIY 8 x 10 Large Format Camera

    2017-11-06 #gear #videos
    A Photographer's  DIY 8 x 10 Large Format Camera

    It's becoming a trend among serious analogue photographers to make their own gear from scratch -- be it from the compact 35mm, to medium 120, to large format for silver gelatin processes. Photographer Dieter Schneider is one of those photographers.

    1
  • Shop News

    Check out What's on Discount!

    Check out What's on Discount!

    Save up to 60% on selected cameras, bags and accessories!

  • LomoLAB Online Development Service

    2017-08-29 #news #tutorials
    LomoLAB Online Development Service

    You stocked up on film and have just come back from a great holiday with a full bag of films. Now all you need to do is process them all! We've got that covered with our super-duper LomoLab online service. Simply post your films to us and we'll do the rest for you! Find out details here.

    2
  • Meet the TEN AND ONE AWARDS judges: Alessandro Casagrande

    2018-01-14 #people
    Meet the TEN AND ONE AWARDS judges: Alessandro Casagrande

    Alessandro Casagrande is one-of-a-kind photographer who embarked on this photographic journey when he got his very first camera from his father. He has been taking photos ever since, and his photographs will help you see the world from a whole new perspective.

  • Monday Moodboard: Something Witchy This Way Comes

    2017-10-30 #culture
    Monday Moodboard: Something Witchy This Way Comes

    It's one Monday nightmare away 'til we can say hello to our friends from the other realm. Tomorrow will be Hallow's Eve, and everything is not what they seem. No matter if you're not from a wizarding school or if your pet cat can't talk. You can be as witchy and magical with this Monday Moodboard.

  • Shop News

    Go Panorama Crazy with The Sprocket Rocket Teal 2.0!

    Go Panorama Crazy with The Sprocket Rocket Teal 2.0!

    Impress your friends with it's eye-popping color, and immortalize the wide-angle world up to the sprocket holes with the Sprocket Rocket Teal 2.0!

  • Snowy Walks With The Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64

    2017-11-16 #gear
    Snowy Walks With The Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64

    One of the reasons why we love winter so much is because we finally get to pull out that Game of Thrones saying, "Winter is here." The thought of spending Christmas time with your loved ones and watching the snow falling will warm your heart in a second.

  • Interview with Ishita Sitwala on her love for Photography

    written by shivanisohal on 2017-10-14 #people
    Interview with Ishita Sitwala on her love for Photography

    Ishita known as @ishifishy on Lomohomes is one of the active community members who keep inspiring people with her artistry pictures taken from Lomo cameras. In this interview we got to know Ishita personally and her views on Lomography.

    3
  • Festivals of India

    written by shivanisohal on 2017-10-12 #culture #places
    Festivals of India

    Although India celebrates festivals all year around, but this particular time of the year is a special one! You will see colorful lights, good food and festive events everywhere you go, all lit up to get you in a festive mood!

  • Find Out More About