Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Road to Photokina 2016 - In Someone's Shoes. Good luck!

Gakken Lens x Pinhole Kit Assembled and Reviewed

2012-11-15 4

This earlier Gakken camera kit allows you to switch from Lens to Pinhole and back from roll to roll, essentially making this a 2 in 1 camera.

Many Lomography members are familiar with Gakken camera kits. The most popular being the TLR in its original and clone forms. The next most popular would be the Stereo Pinhole Kit. I have both, but learned there was an earlier model that allows the photographer to switch between pinhole and lens use and even includes a couple apertures.

Credits: neanderthalis
I know these are digital, but it was a matter of necessity

This is a clone, the Jr. Scientist Kit, came in English, but Gakken is printed on the camera.

The kit is super easy to put together compared to the other Gakken models I have. More like the snap together models many young boys had in the 1970’s & 80’s. The directions were poor and did not instruct you to put in the tripod fitting.

Credits: neanderthalis

The kit has the body of the camera and two separate aperture holders: Lens and Pinhole. Each is shaped different at the barrel and they click into the body by two hooks that are depressed and release to aperture holder. The Pinhole holds only the unlabeled size pinhole aperture disc. The Lens version has the option of no aperture (lens only), small and large apertures. The book recommends switching any of these options only between rolls, but if you are willing to risk a frame, I imaging you could get away with changing them mid roll.

Credits: neanderthalis

The camera comes with a “Preview Pane” that you can insert in the camera before loading film to preview your first shot through the camera as if you were to see what is imprinted on the negative. It is a fun learning device. You will be unable to use after loading the film and it does not remain in the camera will using film.

Credits: neanderthalis

The finished camera assembled on my floor.

Credits: neanderthalis

The camera also comes with an informative book with some basic shooting instructions and fun projects to try like long exposure and multiple exposures. It also has a lengthy cartoon that expounds the history and life of Thomas Edison.

Credits: neanderthalis

My assessment of the camera

The camera was easy enough to put together despite simplistic instructions and like any other Gakken, a lot of fun to use if you are patient and take it for what it is: a kit and not a pro camera. There are a few points that I would really like to stress about the camera:

  • There is no take up spool. The film has a metal guide that helps the film naturally wind in the camera. It does not appear to be large enough of a chamber to hold a whole 36 frame roll. I ended up only getting 32 exposures before the pressure was threatening to open the camera from the inside.
  • The Lens Barrel has a bulb and shutter switches, but I found that they did not move smoothly. The shutter release has a small wedge foot that is releases the shutter when pressed both in and down. It stuck halfway open or slid slowly about ever third time and doing the activation took a lot of pressure and may have caused shutter shake. I tried to take it apart and shave the parts with little improvement. I set it aside and went straight to the pinhole use.
  • The book gives guide lines for Pinhole, Small, Large and No Aperture use based on 400 ISO film. It does not indicate aperture sizes or shutter speed.
  • The Pinhole Barrel does not have a shutter. You must remove and replace the cap for each exposure. It is fairly snug, but a rubber band around the cap and body insured no lost frames.

Do not get me wrong, once I started using the pinhole. I had a lot of fun. The camera offers a few pluses too:

  • Though there is no frame counter, there is a click wheel frame marker when advancing the film. This was consistent with even frame spacing. Since I track my frames on paper with notes of exposure times, I did not really need the frame counter.
  • The camera allows you to “telescope” extending the barrel to allow a longer F stop. They print that it focuses in on your subject.
  • The body has both a standard tripod fitting and a small foot that extends out to prop the camera at an upward angle.

I do not think I will ever use the lens mode. I take the camera as an addition to my pinhole collection and so do not regret my purchase, but I will probably only run 24 frame rolls through in the future to prevent the back bulging open.

Here are some of my test shots with some Lomography CN 100:

Credits: neanderthalis

Aloha

written by neanderthalis on 2012-11-15 #gear #pinhole #kit #review #interchangeable #gakken

4 Comments

  1. clownshoes
    clownshoes ·

    Looks fun!

  2. adam_g2000
    adam_g2000 ·

    Knowing that in advance, using 24 shot film is the solution! I like the look of this, like a holga to the nth degree.

  3. jeffreythree
    jeffreythree ·

    I just assembled one of these and the first shots(pinhole) are hanging to dry. I had the same shutter issues, but you can't beat a 35mm pinhole for ~$13US delivered! Thanks for the tip on no room for 36 exposure rolls.

  4. jeffreythree
    jeffreythree ·

    Oh, and if anyone else picks up one these, the sticky shutter can be fixed. The spring holding the shutter leaf is installed upside down on the shutter leaf causing it to hang up. If it still hangs, leave out the bulb setting piece and just use the other front piece for pinhole with the cap.

More Interesting Articles

  • Taking Back Tipsters: Essential Pinhole Photography Hacks

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-04-24 #tutorials
    Taking Back Tipsters: Essential Pinhole Photography Hacks

    This World Pinhole Photography Day is your chance to shift from the usual 35mm pinhole cameras to the unconventional medium format, stereoscopic or instant do-it-yourself' pinhole cameras. You can even turn the LomoKino into a pinhole video camera. Challenge yourself and take a pick from this list of Tipsters.

    2016-04-24 1
  • Lomography x Abandoned Places Rumble

    written by Lomography London on 2015-11-17 #news
    Lomography x Abandoned Places Rumble

    We have teamed up with HarperCollins to give you the chance to win a Fisheye 2 Python Edition and the book Abandoned Places by Richard Happer, which documents the ghost towns, derelict buildings and unoccupied spaces from around the world.

    2015-11-17 6
  • Lomography x Plaid Rumble

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-29 #videos
    Lomography x Plaid Rumble

    Ed Handley and Andy Turner form electronic duo Plaid who released their first album back in 1991 and have just released their 12th album titled The Digging Remedy. Lomography teamed up with Plaid to offer you the chance to win the latest album plus a Lomo'instant Black!

    2016-06-29
  • Shop News

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    20% Off on Selected editions of the La Sardina

    Bring your own unique happy snapper to all of this summer's festivals and dance the night away! Grab La Sardina editions at 20% off!

  • Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-29 #gear
    Mallorynox and her Weapon of Choice: Diana F+

    Barbora Smoláková's first brush with lomography started with a Diana F+ Deluxe Kit. With its variety of accessories, the Diana F+ allowed her to explore the endless possibilities of creative photography. In this interview, she opens up about her experience shooting with this versatile camera and how it helped her appreciate the beauty of ordinary things.

    2015-08-29 3
  • Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    written by anamartaml on 2015-09-15 #people
    Doug DuBois on My Last Day at Seventeen

    Doug DuBois spent five summers photographing the small neighborhood of Russell Heights in Ireland to capture the essence of coming of age: the inevitable loss of youth and the imminent transition into adulthood. Those four years resulted in his latest book, My Last Day At Seventeen. The book is a visual tale told through a collection of photographs and gives an alternative perspective through a comic narrative around the same subject. This creative combination of two distinct narratives in one book not only works wonderfully in visual terms; it also serves as an essential tool that lets the reader dig deeper into the story being told, making one go back to the book over and over again, yet from a new perspective, every single time.

    2015-09-15 4
  • New Petzval 85 Art Lens x Mademoiselle Yulia x Lemon Life

    written by ciaoannacotta on 2016-06-10 #people
    New Petzval 85 Art Lens x Mademoiselle Yulia x Lemon Life

    Jorgen Axelvall is a Swedish photographer based in Tokyo. This time he took Petzval 85 Lens to shoot talented Japanese DJ Mademoiselle Yulia in Tokyo for celebrating Isetan ReStyle’s 20th Anniversary. It was also a collaboration with Lemonlife. Urban stylish photos were born from a classic lens.

    2016-06-10
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Petzval Portraits of Joy

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-26 #gear
    Petzval Portraits of Joy

    An infectious smile, you say? In everyday portraiture, we understand it as enticement, the kind that makes someone raise a lens-capped camera to capture, and later share, the happy moment.

    2015-08-26 3
  • Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2016 Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-15 #news
    Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2016 Rumble

    Lomography and Nixon are happy to team up again for a new international competition, the Nixon Surf Challenge 2016. This time, the team is driving us in Ireland to surf the waves, discover the Irish country by boat and road. To celebrate, we're glad to invite you to join this new competition!

    2016-06-15 1
  • Out of the Pinhole: The Innovative Short Film 'Orbita 13'

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-25 #videos
    Out of the Pinhole: The Innovative Short Film 'Orbita 13'

    Breaking through photography and film requires patience and a unique point of view. German photographer Andreas Neumann seems to have these things in abundance. He connected several pinhole cameras to make his frames for the short film 'Orbita 13.'

    2016-02-25 4
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 2

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-27 #news
    Top 5 UK Events in 2015: Number 2

    As the year comes to a close, Lomography Soho looks back and makes a countdown of the Top 5 events that happened in 2015. At number 2 are the Lomo'instant workshops at The Wilderness Festival.

    2015-12-27 1
  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    2015-09-27 10
  • Faaabii's First Impressions of the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2015-11-16 #gear
    Faaabii's First Impressions of the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Faaabii took the Minitar-1 Art Lens on a trip through the city of Stuttgart and tested it with his analog and digital camera. In this review he describes his experience and shows his first results!

    2015-11-16