'Autumnic' Sunset Strip A Review of Lomography Sunset Strip 35mm

2012-11-01

It’s wonderful to have Sunset Strip to give my Lomographs a touch of orange AWE-TUMN-NESS!

A few weeks ago, I ran into this Lomography product in the Lomography page. Like no other X-Pro film, the orangey-yellowish tone of the Lomographs caught my eyes, and I quickly made my way to Singapore Lomography Gallery Store to get myself a pack while stock last. Loaded with my favourite La Sardina camera, I began my journey with this lovely film.

I tried my best to test the film in all kind of conditions, from multi-exposure,

to long-exposure, love light streams!

With flash,

and some landscapes. It is interesting for the sky to remain a slight blue while, the orange tone cast over the lower part of the photo.

Other than the unique ‘Autumnic’ effect, the film is actually capable of produce a massive grains in low-light or cloudy condition.

It was a cloudy evening, me and a friend of mine were visiting Marina Barage, and I took a few shots with ‘B’ mode, for roughly 1 1/2 seconds, as the clouds were really heavy. Surprisingly, the results came out outstanding from the others. As it was no yellow or orange, instead there are a tint of greyish-blue.

This film actually resembles its ancestor, Lomography Redscale, while Sunset Strip distinguish itself with its stronger contrast and dramatic color tone. It is a fantastic film and I am looking forward to expose some more rolls.

written by an_lai_drew on 2012-11-01 #gear #cross-processed #35mm #review #orange #x-pro #sunset-strip

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 2)

    written by Eunice Abique on 2016-06-20
    Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 2)

    Over the years, the LC-A evolved into a quiet witness to touching moments. A constant companion on life-changing events. A trusty keeper of once-in-a-lifetime memories. For its 32nd birthday, lomographers from across the globe narrate how this analog wonder became a part of their own history.

    2016-06-20 9
  • Patterns in Nature Winners

    written by Lomography on 2016-10-21 #news
    Patterns in Nature Winners

    From the uncanny resemblance between the earth and its dweller to the breathtaking gradation of sunset colors, witness the intricacies of nature as photographed by our winning lomographers.

    2016-10-21 8
  • 25 Romantic Vintage Photos to Start Off Your Valentine's Day

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-14
    25 Romantic Vintage Photos to Start Off Your Valentine's Day

    While it's hard to ascertain when and where flirtation was invented, finding evidence of its everywhere-ness is easy—people did a lot of it even back in the day!

    2016-02-14 1
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 1)

    written by Eunice Abique on 2016-06-17
    Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 1)

    The Lomo LC-A serves as the cornerstone of the Lomography movement. For its 32nd birthday, lomographers from across the globe narrate how this analog wonder became a part of their own history.

    2016-06-17 18
  • Lo-Fi Dreams with David Kupferberg's "Jungle Girl"

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-04-20 #videos #people
    Lo-Fi Dreams with David Kupferberg's "Jungle Girl"

    It is every filmmaker's desire to have a signature. David Kupferberg has found his in the form of the classic LomoKino 35mm film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Fight the cold and wrap your noggin or your camera with a Pouch Beanie!

    Fight the cold and wrap your noggin or your camera with a Pouch Beanie!

    Protect your beloved analogue arsenal from the cold weather, or your keep your head warm with the COOPH Pouch Beanie Original Grey!

  • Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 3)

    written by lomography on 2016-06-22
    Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 3)

    What does the LC-A camera mean to you? For its 32nd birthday, lomographers from across the globe narrate how this analog wonder became a part of their own history.

    2016-06-22 15
  • Top Photo Uploaders of April 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-04-30 #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of April 2016

    A shared love of photography keeps the Lomography community together. Fueling this passion are the beautiful photographs we see everyday. And so we want to thank these dedicated Lomographers for filling up the community with wonderful images throughout the month.

    2016-04-30 4
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Shop News

    Preorder the most versatile instant camera, the Lomo'Instant Automat in the shop now!

    Preorder the most versatile instant camera, the Lomo'Instant Automat in the shop now!

    Thanks to the overwhelming support from our KickStarter backers, the Lomo'Instant Automat KS project was an outstanding success! For the fashionably late, we're happy to let you know that the Lomo'Instant Automat is now available for pre-order in the shop! Preorder now and get all a strap, splitzer, & extra color gels for FREE! Get it for Christmas!

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • 11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-09 #gear
    11 Beloved Toy Cameras

    For some, it marked their first foray into the wonderful world of analog photography. Others consider it a trusty, go-to camera despite having a massive camera collection which sometimes include some of the best gear there is. Whatever the case may be, toy cameras will always hold a special place in the hearts (and shelves) of analog photographers everywhere, quirks and all.

    2015-12-09 1
  • Photo Stories: Bicycle, Bicycle by undiscovered

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-08
    Photo Stories: Bicycle, Bicycle by undiscovered

    Have you ever been on a cross country trip on a bicycle? Lomographer undiscovered and one of her closest pals have and, if their pictures are anything to go by, it was certainly one for the books.

    2015-12-08
  • Find Out More About