Reviews of the Week

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured camera reviewers for the week is alessandropaso, who tells about his Pentax MX. An SLR camera from the 1970s, he mentions that it comes with “very bright 50mm f/1.7 lens, with a terribly sharp and precise focusing system and suitable for any circumstance.” Our lomographer has found it a reliable analogue companion that has never let him down. “Slim, quite light, very handy and the sound of its mirror when closing is really amazing, letting the lomographer relishing the moment impressed on the silver nitrates,” he also says.

He paired the Pentax MX with Lomography Earl Grey 100 and got beautiful results. Let’s take a look at some of them:

Photos by alessandropaso

Go ahead and check out the rest of his photos in his full review!

Our other lomographer-reviewer for the past week is frau_inga, who tells us about having a baby—the Diana Baby 110, that is! “When I first saw her at the Lomography Store in Cologne, Germany, during a city trip, it was love at first sight,” she begins her review. Despite already having several cameras, our featured reviewer said a 110 camera was missing from her collection, prompting her to get the Diana Baby 110 Camera and Lens Package along with both color negative and black & white films. Here are some of her first Diana Baby 110 snaps:

Want to know more about the Diana Baby 110 and see more of our featured reviewer’s photos? Well then, head over to her full review

Films

Moving on to the past week’s featured film reviews, first, we have a review on expired Ektachrome 64T by natalieerachel. Although expired by nine years, it didn’t stop our lomographer from trying it out, during a night photo-shoot at that! “This film renders a blueish green tint when cross processed. The contrast is quite high, but can be quite fun when shooting at night time,” she observed. Here are some of the photos, whose “creepy effect” prompted her to call the film a “Night Bird:”

Credits: natalieerachel

See more of these beautifully creepy snaps by natalieerachel in her full review!

Last but not the least in our roster of featured film reviews, we have some insights and photos from joush, who tried out the Lomography Color Tiger 110 with a Minolta Weathermatic-A. “After shooting I couldn’t wait to see the results of my first 110 roll. When I received them I couldn’t have been happier. The colors have this “vintage” look that is hard to put in words,” our lomographer says about his 110 film experience. Let’s see if these photos indeed have the “roaring colors” that are worth the rave:

Photos by joush

Great results, don’t you think? See more of our featured lomographer’s Color Tiger 110 snaps in his full review!

Congratulations to our four lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-10-01 #gear #review #film-review #camera-review #user-review #lomography #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    4
  • Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-09 #news
    Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    Instead of fishes, emerging from the murky water are clusters of flowers and leaves, which seem to have piqued this man's interest.

    2
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Lomography on 2015-08-28 #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

    6
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    3
  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-17
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    You know the drill. Scroll down for a rundown of last week's most interesting reads and captivating galleries.

  • Shop News

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Sure, it takes effort to source films these days, but the Lomography Shop has just made the online part more convenient - under each category, you may now filter by Brand and ISO.

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    12
  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2