Malaysia Community's Review on Lomography Cameras

4

Malaysia has a lot of amazing collection of Lomographs. I’ve asked around the community here among the 5 active community members in Malaysia and they have taken the time to review their favorite choices of Lomography cameras, share experiments, as well as tips on which films to pair it with! Let’s check it out after the jump!

Tomkiddo on Lomokino with Lomography Xpro Chrome 100

Photo by tomkiddo

The Lomokino is indeed a genius product of Lomography. It brings cinematography back to life. The Lomokino is really easy to operate, even though I encountered some troubles when loading the film, but you totally will not believe how simple this camera works! Just by turning the crank and it will start recording until it reaches the end of the film. Other than making movies, this little black box can also take pictures and it is 144 pictures in a roll of film! It all depends on your own creativity. I highly recommend it to every one who loves to watch vintage movies. You can make your own vintage-looking movies with this magical box called the Lomokino!

My favourite film is definitely the Lomography X-Pro Chrome. It suits all types of cameras; SLRs, plastic cameras and even the Lomokino! It is best to cross-process it because if you do, your shots will turn out really saturated, which is really awesome. Shoot it on a sunny day when the sky is blue and cloudless and you will get the best results ever! Lomographers who love to experiment should try this film.

Photo by tomkiddo taken by using Lomokino

Jetnz81 on the LC-A+ with Lomography CN 800 and Krab Underwater Housing

Photo by jetnz81

I love this match LC-A+ with Lomography CN 800 and Krab Underwater Housing, because it will always bring the dark corners with the saturation color in high speed ISO film. Specially with the underwater krab casing, I can bring it down underwater during my diving trip.

Photo by jetnz81 taken by using LC-A+ with Lomo LC-A+ Krab Underwater Housing

Wennyfoo on the LC-Wide with Lomography X Tungsten

Photo by wennyfoo

Picture yourself. Now, picture yourself with the entire landscape as the backdrop behind you in one neat little shot. The new Lomo LC-Wide comes in a 17-mm lens, making it easier for wide angle captures. It has automatic shutter speed and aperture, depending on the lighting as well as the environment, and allows for snapping in half frame or in square format. Prior to masking, snapping pictures in half frame or square format will result in overlapping frames, so take caution and remember to select the proper mask before snapping!

The fun doesn’t stop there, capture every vibrant detail and color with the Lomography X Tungsten 64 film. This film is guaranteed to bring out the warmth and vivid colors of your snapshots.

Photo by wennyfoo taken by using Lomo LC-Wide

Yokekei on the La Sardina with the discontinued Kodak EBX

Credits: yokekei

I was amazed by the design concept of La Sardina while Lomography launched first range of La Sardina at year 2011. The clean bold line design with the striking artwork had successfully implement the sardine can food concept on Lomography camera. I love my La Sardina Seoul Edition so much because of its simplicity and purely white design. La Sardina is easy to use and it is lightweight. La Sardina comes with B mode and MX feature which makes this little camera more valuable. Besides that, I can do Panorama with La Sardina due to it allows rewind loaded film anytime.

La Sardina comes with aperture f8, thus, it still able to performance greatly before sunset while loading with ISO100 Kodak EBX. In the morning, La Sardina with Kodak EBX gives bright and clear image. In the dusk/cloudy, La Sardina with EBX able to give strong vivid color which I love it so much. For indoor and night time, just use B mode. Many Lomographers including me, still love the discontinued Kodak EBX so much due to its amazing color tone and fine grain. Kodak EBX always surprise me with its great contrast as well. I would say that Kodak EBX still is an idea choice of film to do cross processing.

Photo by yokekei taken by using La Sardina

Guitarleo on the Horizon Perfekt with Lomography X Tungsten

Credits: guitarleo

Horizon Perfekt is the film camera that I love most. The camera has 28mm swing lens, it is wide and can capture 120 degree of vision. This is a fully manual camera, so please be familiar with the sunny 16 rules. With many aperture and shutter speed selection, it is no problem to use Horizon Perfekt in day and night. I love the beauty of Mother Nature, I love panorama, I love landscape, and that’s why I love Horizon Perfekt.

Lomography X Tungsten is a slow film, with ISO 64. When do cross processed to this film, the color shift to more pink and red. This is great for day shooting, especially sunset or sunrise. Because of low ISO, the outcome is brilliant with sharpness and details. When Horizon Perfekt meet with X tungsten, both are just great match for day and night shooting.

Photo by guitarleo taken by using Horizon Perfekt

Thank you, boys and girls for the review! Now what’s your favourite Lomography cameras and films? Share your thoughts with us!

written by eva_eva on 2012-10-05 #gear #malaysia-community-recommendations #review #malaysia #films #reviews #cameras

4 Comments

  1. mont0417
    mont0417 ·

    no one leave comment?? let me be the 1st!!! @jetnz81, bro , getting famous ooh~~!! go go go!!
    @yokekei, as pretty as ever ^^ !!!!!

  2. yokekei
    yokekei ·

    haha, thanks handsome @mont0417

  3. jetnz81
    jetnz81 ·

    @mont0417 Thanks bro!
    @tomkiddo @wennyfoo @wennyfoo @yokekei @guitarleo Congratulation every1 ^^ Nice review here

  4. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    Thanks everyone for the time! :) @tomkiddo @jetnz81 @wennyfoo @yokekei @guitarleo

More Interesting Articles

  • Candee2104 and her Weapon of Choice: LC-A 120

    written by lomography on 2016-01-16 #gear
    Candee2104 and her Weapon of Choice: LC-A 120

    Bocchum, Germany-based lomographer Dani, or candee2104 in the community, found the perfect daily companion in the LC-A 120. In this interview, she shares what makes this medium format camera a must-have in every lomographer's collection along with her favorite snapshots taken with it.

    9
  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • 20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    written by shhquiet on 2015-08-10 #news #gear
    20% Off LomoChrome Purple and LomoChrome Turquoise Films (Plus Even More Special Film Savings!)

    Summer is the best time to try some fun Lomography films! The sun heats up the colors, making everything super vibrant and colorful. How about transforming those sunny colors into crazy and amazing hues? It's as easy as loading up a roll of LomoChrome Purple or LomoChrome Turquoise into your favorite film camera! Good news - they're on sale!

    2
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    3
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    7
  • Meet our LomoGuru: roxyvonschlotterstein

    written by lomography on 2015-11-08
    Meet our LomoGuru: roxyvonschlotterstein

    A passion deeply rooted in her childhood, photography serves as a form of meditation and a creative outlet for Germany-based community member roxyvonschlotterstein. Aside from keeping an active LomoHome, she puts forth effort in participating in photography-related projects and activities with her fellow German lomographers. In this interview, she shares more about her memorable experiences in community, thoughts about shooting on film, and a tidbit about her LomoHome name.

    29
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-20
    Camera Collections: theonlydrp's Vintage and Handmade Gear

    Some lomographers prefer to hoard as many analog cameras their shelves and budgets can support. Some would rather keep a manageable number that they can regularly shoot with. Community member Joshua Kennedy belongs to the latter group. From 40 cameras, he downsized his collection to 13, as he puts it, "really good ones" that suit his shooting habits and style. In this interview, he breaks down his small yet dependable arsenal of vintage and handmade cameras and how an organized schedule allows him to shoot with each one on a regular basis.

    2
  • LomoKino LomoAmigo: sirapocovi

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-15 #videos #people
    LomoKino LomoAmigo: sirapocovi

    Sira Pocovi, better known in the Lomography community as sirapocovi, is a London-based camera trainee who assists camera crews on film sets. It's no surprise, then, that she's so smitten with the LomoKino! Here, Pocovi opens up on her experiences filming with this camera as well as her project, Lomokovi Films.

    2
  • Eye-Catching La Sardina Lomographs from the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-20 #news #gear
    Eye-Catching La Sardina Lomographs from the Community

    Check out these handpicked selection of La Sardina snapshots taken by our community members, and while you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Lomo'Instant Wide Quick Shots in the Tunnels of London

    written by Lomography London on 2016-01-31 #tutorials
    Lomo'Instant Wide Quick Shots in the Tunnels of London

    The Lomography UK team has been pushing the Lomo'Instant Wide camera to the limits! We've taken every opportunity to get trigger-happy with this lovable, instant camera. In this series we share some of our tips and tricks for getting superb images every time.

    1
  • Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-25 #news #gear
    Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    Step inside to see our selection of brightly lit, colorful community-taken lomographs courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Remarkable Photographs From the Lomography Smartphone Scanner

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-09 #news #gear
    Remarkable Photographs From the Lomography Smartphone Scanner

    Take a look at this pool of snapshots scanned by our community members using the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own scans be featured on the Online Shop!