Reviews of the Week

2012-09-08

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

This week’s featured camera review is by stratski, who wrote about the Praktica MTL3. “When you really want to feel you’re carrying a camera, one that goes click in a loud, proud voice, one that you could use to beat up a robber that tries to take it from you, the MTL3 is your number one choice,” she begins her review. Then, she proceeds to share some technical info on her default SLR, as well as the advantages of using the solid and sturdy camera. Let’s take a look at the lovely photos she took with the Praktica MTL3:

Credits: stratski

These nice shots certainly tell how much fun our lomographer is having with her camera, don’t you agree? Take a look at the rest of the photos in her full review!

Film

Next on our list of featured reviews is about the Kodak Ektar 100, which lomographer illegaltender has found to live up to its reputation of being a very fine-grained film. His photos affirm his findings: saturated colors, fine grain, and a slight blue cast that makes it a perfect choice for landscape photography. “Because of its saturation, it is a very good alternative and really gives Fujifilm’s legendary Velvia 50 a run for its money for landscape photography,” our film reviewer for this week says. See some of his shots below:

Photos by illegaltender

Check out his full review to see more photos he took using this outstanding fine-grained film!

Accessory

Last but not the least in this week’s featured reviews is about the LC-Wide Instant Kit, as told by lomographer kneehigh85. Aside from using the accessory for taking wide instant photos, our reviewer also found the kit’s viewfinder to be useful in taking more accurate snaps using the LC-Wide. “…it comes also with a handy attachment for the viewfinder, which is a lot wider than the original one on the camera,” she says. “I now use this on my LC-Wide all the time, so that I can get a better idea of what my photos are going to look like in the end.” Below are some of her snaps taken with the aid of the kit’s viewfinder:

Credits: kneehigh85

Don’t forget to check out the full review to learn more about our featured accessory reviewer’s insights and photos!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-08 #gear #lomography #accessory-review #review #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

    2015-11-27
  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    2015-10-21 8
  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    2015-12-06 8
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    2016-01-17 4
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

    2016-06-16
  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2016-02-24 2
  • Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-13
    Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    In today's featured album, scenes from the beautiful city of León are made even more interesting with superimposed words, characters, and symbols.

    2015-11-13
  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-19
    Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    In 2015 we had been fortunate enough to talk with photographers, with practices and insights unique from one another, from all over the globe. And not only were we able to see their works; we were also able to dig a little deeper and find out what makes each one of them tick. In this special recap, we present a handpicked selection of insightful quotes from some of our most memorable interviews this year.

    2015-12-19
  • On the Job: Workers in Photographic History

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-15 #culture
    On the Job: Workers in Photographic History

    We made a little online exhibit to treat you all with some vintage photography of workers and laborers of the past.

    2016-05-15
  • Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-A

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-12-10 #news #gear
    Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-A

    Put on your coats and walk out to winter with the Lomo LC-A. Capture the chilly but charming mood in 35mm, glowing in beautiful colors and framed in shadowy vignettes. Up ahead, a collection of our favorite community LC-A winter photos to inspire you!

    2015-12-10 1