Reviews of the Week

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past week made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Camera

This week’s featured camera review is by stratski, who wrote about the Praktica MTL3. “When you really want to feel you’re carrying a camera, one that goes click in a loud, proud voice, one that you could use to beat up a robber that tries to take it from you, the MTL3 is your number one choice,” she begins her review. Then, she proceeds to share some technical info on her default SLR, as well as the advantages of using the solid and sturdy camera. Let’s take a look at the lovely photos she took with the Praktica MTL3:

Credits: stratski

These nice shots certainly tell how much fun our lomographer is having with her camera, don’t you agree? Take a look at the rest of the photos in her full review!

Film

Next on our list of featured reviews is about the Kodak Ektar 100, which lomographer illegaltender has found to live up to its reputation of being a very fine-grained film. His photos affirm his findings: saturated colors, fine grain, and a slight blue cast that makes it a perfect choice for landscape photography. “Because of its saturation, it is a very good alternative and really gives Fujifilm’s legendary Velvia 50 a run for its money for landscape photography,” our film reviewer for this week says. See some of his shots below:

Photos by illegaltender

Check out his full review to see more photos he took using this outstanding fine-grained film!

Accessory

Last but not the least in this week’s featured reviews is about the LC-Wide Instant Kit, as told by lomographer kneehigh85. Aside from using the accessory for taking wide instant photos, our reviewer also found the kit’s viewfinder to be useful in taking more accurate snaps using the LC-Wide. “…it comes also with a handy attachment for the viewfinder, which is a lot wider than the original one on the camera,” she says. “I now use this on my LC-Wide all the time, so that I can get a better idea of what my photos are going to look like in the end.” Below are some of her snaps taken with the aid of the kit’s viewfinder:

Credits: kneehigh85

Don’t forget to check out the full review to learn more about our featured accessory reviewer’s insights and photos!

Congratulations to our three lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-08 #gear #lomography #review #accessory-review #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review

More Interesting Articles

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    8
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    4
  • Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-09 #news
    Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    Instead of fishes, emerging from the murky water are clusters of flowers and leaves, which seem to have piqued this man's interest.

    2
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    We're thrilled to present our new Kickstarter project—the New Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! Inspired by the bold brass design of the world's first photographic optic, the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens is a versatile tool seeking the great return of dreamy imagery.

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Lomography on 2015-08-28 #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

    6
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    3
  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-17
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    You know the drill. Scroll down for a rundown of last week's most interesting reads and captivating galleries.

  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    12
  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2