Rollei Infrared (120, 400 iso) User-Review

13

The luminous wonder for the frenzied pictures you’ll every made!

Some weeks ago I bought a film bundle at LSI-Store. As the package arrived there was this curious medium format film inside. Black and white and infrared? I thought of greenish pictures like infrared cameras make, but I searched for the film in the internet and saw some stunning pictures.

I loaded this film into my Diana F+ and went out for a walk through a graveyard and across a crazy backyard. When I got home, I recognised that I used the entire roll! Immediately I walked down to my favourite photographic laboratory, cause I was so exicted, I won’t wait any longer to see the results! One day later as I scanned the film, the pictures blew me away.The contrast is stunning and I love this special “aura”, that glows in my shots. I love the pictures of the statues in the graveyard, they almost look like phenomenons.

But here are some tips:
- Don’t be afraid try to overexpose the film, you will get more of those “aura”
- Maybe used with a red filter to increase the special effect
- Shoot at shiny days, this is no film for cloudy ones

I really like this film and I can’t wait to see new results!

written by stinketier on 2009-11-05 #gear #black-and-white #diana-f #review #rollei-infrared #glow

13 Comments

  1. lolfox
    lolfox ·

    Great pics and and interesting looking film, but can someone tell me if there is something in the photo rulebook that says when you use infrared film it is obligatory to take photos of graveyards.

  2. stinketier
    stinketier ·

    yes on page 76... ;-)

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Beautiful graveyard shots ! ; )

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    wow, beautiful gallery!! And of course, IR film can be shot outside of graveyards, but it gives such a stunning effect to the statues and mood...!!

  5. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Wow stinketier, your pics are great !

  6. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great film! love it does!

  7. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    which filters had you used, if I may ask please?

  8. adbigmilk
    adbigmilk ·

    I heard you have to use a special filter for infrared films, is that true ?

  9. stinketier
    stinketier ·

    I did not use any kind of filter, but i heared that a red filter should increase the infrared effect. So the next time i will try it, but like you see it also works without!

  10. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    Find a Hoya R72 opaque red filter, for strongest IR effect. I wrote an elaborate review of Efke 820ir film in Lomography Magazine Films a while ago. I put everything I know on the subject in it. Have a look, Then do it again. Enjoy.

  11. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    yep, looks cool, but without a filter there is no dramatic difference between a regular b/w and an infrared film

  12. underaglassbell
    underaglassbell ·

    You do realise to utilise this film for the "aura” effect you need to use an Infrared Filter; at the LEAST you need to use a Red filter to delve into the IR of the film.
    - Not using a IR or indeed any filter is just going to result in normal B&W negatives, basically the same as if you use Ilford SFX without a filter.
    - They are designed so that they can be used normally with our a filter and at the same time give IR effect IF, IF you use the correct filters.

    So I'm sorry by just Overexposing the film you have not got the “aura” effect, you have just overexposed the film and got normal black and white shots. NOT infrared.

  13. abbym
    abbym ·

    infra red is great, find best results in bright day light conditions!
    if you don't own a red filter, get some red cellophane and fashon a filter over your lense.
    try srewing up the cellophane and then covering your lense for some interesting light effects!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 #news #gear
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Exposures in Smooth Gossamer with Kodak Portra 400 120

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-24 #gear
    Exposures in Smooth Gossamer with Kodak Portra 400 120

    Pair up your favorite medium format camera with the Kodak Portra 400 120 for matte and silky finishes of your photographs.

  • Pastimes of Past Times: What Did We Do Before Cinema?

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-02-21
    Pastimes of Past Times: What Did We Do Before Cinema?

    Ever wonder how Victorian Ladies and Gentlemen entertained themselves before the invention of motion picture films? Hold onto your bonnets, because you are in for a treat!

  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: August - Cyanotype

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2015-08-31 #gear #tutorials
    12 Months, 12 Projects: August - Cyanotype

    My 2015 resolution is to do 12 photography projects, one for every month. In August, cyanotpes were on the roll. A cyanotype is an old-fashioned contact print made under the sun.

    5
  • Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-07-31 #people
    Uwe Mimoun: the Man Behind KONO! Reanimated Film

    Branded as "The Reanimated Film," KONO! Film is hand-rolled and made of special materials which are rarely (or never) produced for "normal“ photography. Rather, the materials were intended for the motion picture industry and the results can vary depending on how the film is used. Learn more in this interview with the founder of KONO! Film, Uwe Mimoun.

    3
  • Lomography X Crispy Wallet Competition Winners

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-18 #news
    Lomography X Crispy Wallet Competition Winners

    For this competition, we sought for the best looking photos related to the theme "lightness," from images of something that's light as a feather to pictures that conjure up ideas of dreams and wisps of clouds. The jury has made its decision, and we are proud to present the winners.

    10
  • Shop News

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    Great news! Our previous KickStarter success, the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens, is now in stock and ready to ship! What are you waiting for? Go to the shop and grab yours now!

  • Vintage Gallery: Aged Daguerreotypes

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-02
    Vintage Gallery: Aged Daguerreotypes

    Louis-Jacques-Mandé Daguerre's invention made possible photography that is literally and figuratively one of a kind. For every shot fired, the photographer can only do one print. And though the marred by stains, a daguerreotype has the long-lived charm of a museum relic.

  • 8 Female Photographers in Movies

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-08
    8 Female Photographers in Movies

    Women have played an important role in the history of photography, so it's no wonder they're a popular subject for filmmakers. To celebrate this year's International Women's Day, we've made a list of movies with female photographers whose work intersects with their personal lives.

    2
  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Special Friendships: The Lomography X LIFE Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-10 #news
    Special Friendships: The Lomography X LIFE Competition

    September marks the 60th anniversary of James Dean's death. Dean is remembered not only for his roles in American films, but also for his iconic image associated with teenage rebellion. Filmmaker Anton Corbijn honors James Dean in "LIFE," a new film that showcases the special friendship between the young actor and photographer Dennis Stock who made Dean immortal through his pictures. Take part in our new competition and win movie tickets, James Dean posters, an illustrated book and a Diana F+ camera.

    3
  • Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-03 #people
    Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    In the work of Binh Danh, art is space for the unnamed to be seen. When war is the theme every detail counts. How does one person tackle this massive issue, where death and the value of lives intersect? A one-man job becomes a job about other men. And so for his series "Immortality: The Remnants of the Vietnam and American War" he made chlorophyll prints to express the indelible mark of war on various lands. Soldiers and laymen whose faces and records have been archived are given another chance to be remembered.

    1
  • Lomography Soho Workshops and Events in August

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-07-30 #news
    Lomography Soho Workshops and Events in August

    August has arrived and with it brings sunshine, rain and a brand new batch of Lomography workshops and events. This month you can enjoy the classic Diana F+ workshop and a full day of exciting events on World Photography Day. Read on for full details.