Kodak Pro Image (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

2009-10-17 6

A cheap and cheerful negative film that looks good in all conditions.

I found a few boxes of this negative film on eBay UK a few months ago. I had never heard of it and thought it would be interesting to use. It turns out that it’s a re-packaged version of Kodak Gold for international markets.

I don’t really know what to say about it – there’s nothing overly special about this film. The colours are good – under the right conditions it can even get a nice level of saturation going on! It can possibly look “retro” in some instances. The blues with this film are fantastic; and using a polarizer filter they get even better.

Being a 100 film, the grain is nothing to complain about. It’s noticeable, but not ugly.

I like this film. Despite the “pro” name, it’s cheap enough to use quickly. I especially like it when testing new cameras :)

written by dazb on 2009-10-17 #gear #pro-image #review #kodak #profoto #c41 #kodak-gold #negative

6 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Looks good to me. For a cheap film I'd say it'd be worth it to have a couple rolls on hand.

  2. ripsta
    ripsta ·

    i love the cat pic

  3. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great gallery and I really like the soft tone and colors of this film :)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! As you say it yourself it's not an incredible film. But your superb gallery proves that the composition can matter more... Congrats !

  5. coca
    coca ·

    i like this film too... great gallery!!!

  6. tukumoura
    tukumoura ·

    I bought two rolls of film today. I expected it to be very regular, but as you said, it is a good and cheap option.

More Interesting Articles

  • Brilliant Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm) Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-19 #news
    Brilliant Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm) Winners

    Looking for a reliable high-speed film? Load a roll of Lomography Color Negative 800 on your trusty camera and achieve fantastic results in all lighting conditions!

    2015-10-19 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • A Frankenstein Limbo Camera: A Review of Kodak Retina Ia

    written by Jake Whalen on 2016-03-28 #gear
    A Frankenstein Limbo Camera: A Review of Kodak Retina Ia

    The Retina Ia is a strange mixture of the pocket folding cameras of the early 20th century and the 35mm rangefinders and SLRs that came about at the beginning of the 1960s.

    2016-03-28 4
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • Awesome Albums: GRÜN by alightthatnevergoesout

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-04
    Awesome Albums: GRÜN by alightthatnevergoesout

    Ever wondered how the photos from a color negative roll would look after being developed in chemicals that are meant for slide film? Here's one example.

    2015-10-04 5
  • Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-25 #gear #tutorials
    Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    As many of you would already know, shooting under low light conditions requires more than a steady grip (or a tripod) if you're aiming for outstanding results. You must also have the proper gear, and that, of course, includes film. In this post, we list down five fast films that work their best under such conditions.

    2015-11-25 5
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-11 #news #gear
    Brilliant Low Light and Nighttime Shots Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 800 (35mm)

    Have a look at our handpicked selection of lovely photographs shot in low light and at night with the Lomography Color Negative 800 ISO for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    2015-10-11
  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 #videos #people
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    2016-01-05 1
  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    2016-02-08 3
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 #gear
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

    2016-02-09
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    written by chvo on 2015-10-06 #news
    Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    LIFE is a film that tells the story Dennis Stock, who photographed James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic images of the star. In line the film's much anticipated release, we asked for your best "friendship" shots for a competition.Here are the winners.

    2015-10-06 1