Reviews of the Week(s)

2

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured reviews comes in the form of a letter by walasiteodito for his Canon EOS 88. While not certainly not your usual review, you will find all the reasons why our lomographer finds his dear camera a wonderful one. But, as always, it’s always better to let his photos taken using the EOS 88 do the talking:

Credits: walasiteodito

His photos are simply stunning, don’t you think? Take a look at the more of his Canon EOS 88 photos in his full review!

The second in our featured camera reviews tells about a popular Russian analogue beauty, the Lomo Smena Symbol. Lomographer adam_g2000 says, “The camera is a reliable, easy to use tank. It’s biggish and it’s heavy, but not too much to be as wearisome as some older film SLRs can be.” Also praised its lens, which “gives a marvelously crisp and crunchy result,” he puts the Symbol on the “same pedestal as the wonderful Olympus Trip 35.” His beautiful photos below are a testament to this!

Credits: adam_g2000

We know you want to see more of his Smena Symbol snaps and learn more about the camera, so head over to his full review!

Last in our featured camera reviews tells about one of Lomography’s newest analogue babies, the Fisheye Baby 110. “Something small. Something novel. Something fun. In the end, my practical side said the flash on the chrome model would be very useful since I frequently shoot indoors. Then my artistic side said the metallic look of chrome is sharp and eye catching. Now both sides of my brain are happy,” Lomographer kf4kco shared on his Fisheye Baby Metal. He tried out both Orca B&W 100 and Color Tiger 200, and says he’s enjoying his time with this teeny fisheye camera. Below are some of his shots:

Photos by kf4kco

Someone’s certainly having fun strolling and shooting around with this pocket shooter! Don’t forget to check out his full review to see more of his Fisheye Baby Photos!

Films

In the realm of film photography, nothing exudes class best than an excellent black and white film, like Ilford FP4+, which our featured review author simonh82 mentioned as his “first choice when there is good light available.” He has used the famed traditional black and white film for portraits and nature/scenic photography, and reports that it works well for both purposes. His photos, taken using Mamiya C330 medium format camera, indeed have a classic charm in them as he said in his review:

Credits: simonh82

See more of his photos displaying the amazing quality of this famed monochrome film in his full review!

Moving on to our last featured film review, samwise_camus tells us about shooting with Lomography’s 110 color negative film, the Color Tiger 200, using the Pentax Auto 110. “Despite the dull weather and the handful of indoor shots, the vibrancy and sharpness of the photos was exemplary,” he said, and proceeded to share some beautiful 110 snaps:

Credits: samwise_camus

You must be intrigued to see the rest of his Color Tiger photos, so head to his full review right here, right now!

Accessories

Last but definitely not the least, we have featured accessory reviews on the LC-Wide Instant Kit and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit. Lomographers yopanic, and guanatos tell us in their respective reviews how both kits helped them do more with their LC-Wide and other Lomography cameras like the LomoKino and the Lubitel 166+. If you’re looking to find an accessory to try for your cameras, find out more about the LC-Wide Instant Kit in yopanic's full review and the Fritz the Blitz Adapter Kit in guanatos' full review!

Photos by yopanic, and guanatos

Congratulations to all our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-09-01 #gear #reviews-of-the-weeks #review #accessory-review #camera-review #lomography #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #user-review

2 Comments

  1. brandkow93
    brandkow93 ·

    I have 3 fantastic analogue for sale check the listings kiev 4 with 3 lenses www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200814238684?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&a… Lubitel 2 www.ebay.co.uk/itm/200814251821?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&a… and Minolta X-700 with amazing 50mm 1.4 cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200814264…

  2. guanatos
    guanatos ·

    Wow, thanks @plasticpopsicle

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    8
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    4
  • Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-09 #news
    Photo of the Day by mell0nc0llie

    Instead of fishes, emerging from the murky water are clusters of flowers and leaves, which seem to have piqued this man's interest.

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    written by Lomography on 2015-08-28 #news
    LC-A+ and LC-Wide Face-off Poll

    If the LC-A+ and LC-Wide were to compete in a head-to-head match, which side would you be on?

    6
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    3
  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-17
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    You know the drill. Scroll down for a rundown of last week's most interesting reads and captivating galleries.

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    12
  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2