Camera Review of the Week

2009-09-07 14

Don’t believe what you hear and what the rumormongers spreading! With the Camera Review of the Week, we’ll prove that it is hip to square!

Although the rectangular format way of shooting is what we have grown accustomed to, there’s always been an inexplicable appealing to shooting squares. It could be the tighter crop that focuses on the subject, the symmetry of all the sides or in the case of shooting with TLRs like the Seagul 4B, the sheer thrill and experience of shooting through a waist-level viewfinder.

saviorjosh recently got his hands on a copy of one and promptly dispels bad rumors regarding the Chinese medium format machine with his camera review. He goes on length stating that the Seagull is actually one of the cheaper ways to get into TLRs since the Rolleiflexes out there will cost you an arm and a leg. Maybe even two. So the next time you have a chance to shoot with it, slow things down. Take a deep breath, focus, compose, click, and watch the magic happen.

Do you have what it takes to be next week’s winner? Then submit you camera review but if the film you want to feature isn’t on the list please let us know.

written by cruzron on 2009-09-07 #gear #seagull #review #camera-review-of-the-week #tlr #medium-format

14 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    congratz! woot woot!

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    congrats!! Great review!! :))

  3. dogma
    dogma ·

    Congrats!! well deserved!

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    lovely photo feature up there!

  5. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Congrats, lovely pics !

  6. redbohemia
    redbohemia ·

    Congrats!...that first pix is simply awesome...

  7. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    What a great surprise on a Monday morning! :)
    Thank you dear friends and LSI!

  8. ndroo
    ndroo ·

    The first photo ... MAGICAL!

  9. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    no doubt in chosing that review!!!!!!!!!!!!! with such a great gallery it should become review of the year!

  10. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    great, great choice! Congrats!

  11. stouf
    stouf ·

    Very well deserved !

  12. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    congraaaaaaaaaaaats!!

  13. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    congrats! beautiful pictures! awesome colors~!

  14. ccwai
    ccwai ·

    The first pic is amazing!
    Congrats!

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-03 #news #gear
    Stay Focused: A First Time For Everything

    You won't believe what we have in store for you with the launch of our newest mystery product. What a crazy idea, they thought. It can't be done, they said. But at Lomography, we know that there's a first time for everything. So we've decided to travel back in time and have a quick look at some of the unbelievable ‘firsts’ of photographic history. Could these milestones have anything to do with our mystery product?

    2016-04-03 12
  • Lomography x Grand Plaza: Explore Mongkok

    written by phyllistc on 2016-07-08 #news
    Lomography x Grand Plaza: Explore Mongkok

    When you hear the name Mongkok, what is the first thing that comes to your mind? This Summer, Lomography Hong Kong teamed up with Grand Plaza for an "Explore Mongkok" analogue photography competition. Share with us your impressions of Mongkok with a touch of creativity!

    2016-07-08
  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 #news #gear
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

    2015-12-24
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • Lomography Activity Line-Up: February

    written by shhquiet on 2016-01-30 #news
    Lomography Activity Line-Up: February

    February's jam-packed with all sorts of exciting workshops, exhibits and even movie screenings! You know what to do - tell all your friends about it, mark your calendars and we'll see you soon!

    2016-01-30
  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Bantam 828

    I first discovered vest pocket cameras while searching for folding cameras and I fell in love with the design and compactness of them. By far, my favorite vest pocket camera is the Kodak Bantam 828.

    2016-06-01 4
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • Photo of the Day by mushlenny

    written by lomography on 2015-12-14 #news
    Photo of the Day by mushlenny

    Day in and day out, Tokyo proves to be one of the most photogenic cities in the world with its colorful and vibrant streets.

    2015-12-14 2
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    2016-01-17 4
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-25 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    Art director and lomographer extraordinaire Mark Hannah is back to share one of his favorite 127 cameras: the Kodak Baby Brownie Special.

    2016-07-25 1