Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Fauna Flash. Good luck!

Reviews of the Week(s)

2012-08-06

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured lomographer-reviewers got lucky: spiritedly spotted a perfectly working Kodak Ektralite 10 110 camera and got to use the Lomography Color Tiger 110 in it! Where, you ask? In a Sunday morning flea mart in Malaysia—this is why we urge you to check out the camera stores and flea markets in your area whenever you have the chance!

How did she find shooting with the camera? “The best thing about taking photos with this camera are the reactions of people when I bring it out, basically, it falls in two main categories: Bewilderment… Or Nolstalgia.” What about the photos she took with it and Lomography’s 110 film? "Strangely, the photos have a sort of eerie vintagey retro look to it, as if we were living in the past.

Now, let’s check out some of her 110 snaps:

Don’t forget to check out her full review for more insights and photos!

Our other featured camera reviewer, nirothehero meanwhile was also got lucky to have gotten herself the La Sardina Splendour of Lomography’s eye-catching shooters oozing with retro charm!

“When the La Sardina Splendour was released, I fell in love with the simple, elegant, retro charm of the Splendour. Specially designed after the original street photography camera, Kandor Candid, I was excited to try it out on the streets myself, and went on to purchase it. After only three days, it arrived!”

So, what do her La Sardina snaps look like? Here are some of them:

Go ahead and check out her full review to read more and see more photos!

Films

Meanwhile, for film reviews, we have here one from cryboy featuring the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, and another from blanches_nickelodeon featuring the cheap Tudorcolor XLX 200.

On the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, cryboy decided to load it in the Canon EOS 1000F, a camera that lets him change the ISO for every shot. Using various ISO settings at different lighting conditions, our lomographer ended up with a variety of colors and hues in his snaps, leading to the conclusion that this redscale film is capable of producing photos that seem to be taken using different films. Let’s take a look at some of his snaps below:

What about the Tudorcolor XLX 200? According to our lomographer-reviewer blanches_nickelodeon, while this cheap film may be most likely just a rebranded C41 film from Fuji, the results tell of the quality photos you can get from it. Let’s take a look at some of his beautiful photos taken using the Yashica TL Electro and SP1000:

Check out cryboy's full review and blanches_nickelodeon's full review to read more of their insights and see the rest of their photos!

Accessories

Last but not the least, we bring you the featured accessory reviews—not the usual stuff you use and attach to your cameras, but the ones that help you get your shots right. Yes, we’re talking about the photo scanner review by paulabridi and the handheld light meter review by highdesertdan!

As many lomographers are definitely interested in developing and scanning their own films, paulabridi’s review was obviously a big help. She cautioned against the HP Scanjet G4050, saying that “although it offers a good resolution (up to 4800 dpi), it tends to add a lot of grain to the photos, which means (at least to me) web-quality only – I wouldn’t print my scans.” Head over to her full review to read more of her insights about this photoscanner.

As for highdesertdan’s light meter review, he begins with a question: “Why would I need a light meter?” He answers right away with “maybe you don’t,” and proceeds to explain why you might still need one, especially if you’re using a meter-less camera but would like to get some nicely exposed photos. We liked how detailed and informative his review is, so we highly suggest you check out his full review to learn more about this light meter!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-06 #gear #review #accessory-review #camera-review #user-review #lomography #reviews-of-the-week #film-review

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

    2015-11-27
  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    2015-10-21 8
  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    2015-12-06 8
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    Introducing the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens Now Available on Kickstarter!

    We're thrilled to present our new Kickstarter project—the New Lomography Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! Inspired by the bold brass design of the world's first photographic optic, the Daguerreotype Achromat Art Lens is a versatile tool seeking the great return of dreamy imagery.

  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-09-21 #news
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Are gender transition and coming of age themes that interest you? Have you ever heard of the Anthotype process? Here's a glimpse of last week --time to catch up on your reading.

    2015-09-21
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    2016-01-17 4
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

    2016-06-16
  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2016-02-24 2
  • Shop News

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Give your smartphone photos that analogue touch with the Fuji Instax Share Smartphone Printer! Shoot with your smartphone, send photos via the free app, and print on Fuji Instax Mini film! Both Silver and Gold version now available in the shop! *available in selected markets

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    2015-09-27 10
  • Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-13
    Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    In today's featured album, scenes from the beautiful city of León are made even more interesting with superimposed words, characters, and symbols.

    2015-11-13
  • Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-19
    Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    In 2015 we had been fortunate enough to talk with photographers, with practices and insights unique from one another, from all over the globe. And not only were we able to see their works; we were also able to dig a little deeper and find out what makes each one of them tick. In this special recap, we present a handpicked selection of insightful quotes from some of our most memorable interviews this year.

    2015-12-19