Reviews of the Week(s)

2012-08-06

Each week, we place the spotlight on some of the most interesting and insightful reviews from the community. Are you itching to find out which ones from the past weeks made it to the cut? Then, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and read on!

Cameras

One of our featured lomographer-reviewers got lucky: spiritedly spotted a perfectly working Kodak Ektralite 10 110 camera and got to use the Lomography Color Tiger 110 in it! Where, you ask? In a Sunday morning flea mart in Malaysia—this is why we urge you to check out the camera stores and flea markets in your area whenever you have the chance!

How did she find shooting with the camera? “The best thing about taking photos with this camera are the reactions of people when I bring it out, basically, it falls in two main categories: Bewilderment… Or Nolstalgia.” What about the photos she took with it and Lomography’s 110 film? "Strangely, the photos have a sort of eerie vintagey retro look to it, as if we were living in the past.

Now, let’s check out some of her 110 snaps:

Don’t forget to check out her full review for more insights and photos!

Our other featured camera reviewer, nirothehero meanwhile was also got lucky to have gotten herself the La Sardina Splendour of Lomography’s eye-catching shooters oozing with retro charm!

“When the La Sardina Splendour was released, I fell in love with the simple, elegant, retro charm of the Splendour. Specially designed after the original street photography camera, Kandor Candid, I was excited to try it out on the streets myself, and went on to purchase it. After only three days, it arrived!”

So, what do her La Sardina snaps look like? Here are some of them:

Go ahead and check out her full review to read more and see more photos!

Films

Meanwhile, for film reviews, we have here one from cryboy featuring the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, and another from blanches_nickelodeon featuring the cheap Tudorcolor XLX 200.

On the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, cryboy decided to load it in the Canon EOS 1000F, a camera that lets him change the ISO for every shot. Using various ISO settings at different lighting conditions, our lomographer ended up with a variety of colors and hues in his snaps, leading to the conclusion that this redscale film is capable of producing photos that seem to be taken using different films. Let’s take a look at some of his snaps below:

What about the Tudorcolor XLX 200? According to our lomographer-reviewer blanches_nickelodeon, while this cheap film may be most likely just a rebranded C41 film from Fuji, the results tell of the quality photos you can get from it. Let’s take a look at some of his beautiful photos taken using the Yashica TL Electro and SP1000:

Check out cryboy's full review and blanches_nickelodeon's full review to read more of their insights and see the rest of their photos!

Accessories

Last but not the least, we bring you the featured accessory reviews—not the usual stuff you use and attach to your cameras, but the ones that help you get your shots right. Yes, we’re talking about the photo scanner review by paulabridi and the handheld light meter review by highdesertdan!

As many lomographers are definitely interested in developing and scanning their own films, paulabridi’s review was obviously a big help. She cautioned against the HP Scanjet G4050, saying that “although it offers a good resolution (up to 4800 dpi), it tends to add a lot of grain to the photos, which means (at least to me) web-quality only – I wouldn’t print my scans.” Head over to her full review to read more of her insights about this photoscanner.

As for highdesertdan’s light meter review, he begins with a question: “Why would I need a light meter?” He answers right away with “maybe you don’t,” and proceeds to explain why you might still need one, especially if you’re using a meter-less camera but would like to get some nicely exposed photos. We liked how detailed and informative his review is, so we highly suggest you check out his full review to learn more about this light meter!

Congratulations to our lomographer-authors! Join us again next week as we continue to give recognition to the notable reviews of our fellow lomographers on the amazing analogue goodies they come across with!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera/film/accessory review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-08-06 #gear #accessory-review #review #camera-review #user-review #reviews-of-the-week #film-review #lomography

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-27 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Ringflash

    Looking for a reliable flash? Consider the Lomography Ringflash, which throws an even burst of light around your subject! We scoured the Magazine and found these community-written reviews for you to peruse.

    2015-11-27
  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    2015-10-21 8
  • Trending Photos of November 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-06 #news
    Trending Photos of November 2015

    Portraiture and landscape images took the spotlight in the community last November. Did any of your favorites made it to the list?

    2015-12-06 8
  • Shop News

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture more and save more when you buy the LC-Wide Instant Bundle. Get 50% off the original price of the LC-A Instant back, and get the LC-Wide Instant Kit for FREE!

  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    2016-01-17 4
  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-06-16 #news
    Lomography X Blurb LomoWalk with the LC-A+ Recap

    We recently teamed up with Blurb by running a super LC-A+ LomoWalk around the streets of London. We then sent everyone's images off to Blurb and they made a fantastic book about the walk, which was distributed to each participant.

    2016-06-16
  • Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    written by lomographyfrance on 2016-02-24 #news #videos #people
    Tindersticks: Exclusive Launch of the Video 'How He Entered', Only on Lomography!

    Last year, the directors and filmmakers Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas asked us if they could borrow the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control art lens to shoot the Tindersticks’s new video. We were really enthusiastic to participate in this project! Today, we are happy to announce the exclusive launch of the video, right here on Lomography’s website! You’ve read it right: you are the FIRST ones to enjoy this new visual adventure straight from their latest album titled 'The Waiting Room.' Plus, Stuart Staples of Tindersticks, Amaury Voslion and Richard Dumas tell us more about themselves and their work in this exclusive interview.

    2016-02-24 2
  • Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-13
    Awesome Albums: Mix it at León! by paula412

    In today's featured album, scenes from the beautiful city of León are made even more interesting with superimposed words, characters, and symbols.

    2015-11-13
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-19
    Memorable Quotes From Our 2015 Photographer Interviews (Part I)

    In 2015 we had been fortunate enough to talk with photographers, with practices and insights unique from one another, from all over the globe. And not only were we able to see their works; we were also able to dig a little deeper and find out what makes each one of them tick. In this special recap, we present a handpicked selection of insightful quotes from some of our most memorable interviews this year.

    2015-12-19
  • On the Job: Workers in Photographic History

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-15 #culture
    On the Job: Workers in Photographic History

    We made a little online exhibit to treat you all with some vintage photography of workers and laborers of the past.

    2016-05-15
  • Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-A

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-12-10 #news #gear
    Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-A

    Put on your coats and walk out to winter with the Lomo LC-A. Capture the chilly but charming mood in 35mm, glowing in beautiful colors and framed in shadowy vignettes. Up ahead, a collection of our favorite community LC-A winter photos to inspire you!

    2015-12-10 1