Lomography Redscale XR: From Light to Dark

2012-08-06 3

See your photos change into all shades of red with Lomography Redscale XR 35mm! Learn more about this film after the jump!

Lomography Redscale XR 35mm (also comes in 120 format) is special kind of redscale film that changes its colour based on your ISO setting. This lets you experiment and get more creative in a single roll.

One fine bright day, I went outside and load a roll of film into my Holga 135BC. It was my first roll of Redscale XR. A Holga has fixed aperture at f/8 and f/11. So it all depends on the weather. Being all noob, I shot here and there. Shot, shot, and shot without any warning. So, here’s what I got from one roll of film:

Dark, Grainy Red:

During cloudy weather.

Lighter Red:

Orange:

Under extremely hot, bright sun.

Yellow (or is it still orange? I’m getting really confused differentiating the colors now):

Under extremely hot, bright sun.

Almost Grey:

Neutral:

Night Shoot (using Long Exposure):

So what hue do you like the most ? You can see more results of Redscale XR pictures in the gallery section). It’s a must-try film for every Lomographers!

Read more about Lomography Redscale XR from the article by cryboy.

The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 35mm gives you full control over your redscale images. With its extended ISO range, you can pick an effect that you want and set the ISO accordingly. Your images will exude a lovely retro feel. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by syira690 on 2012-08-06 #gear #xr #malaysia #film #kuala-lumpur #35mm #lomography #film-review #review #redscale #user-review #random

3 Comments

  1. twinklecat
    twinklecat ·

    Ooh, I didn't know you could get grey tones from redscale film! I especially love the "neutral" colors, it's a good way to get that expired look without using expired film.

  2. kristiancolpa
    kristiancolpa ·

    2012 New Chanel Schultertasche A31143 Silber - €113.52 : Zen Cart!, The Art of E-commerce

  3. robotmonkey1996
    robotmonkey1996 ·

    Tip: Redscaled film is practically impossible to overexpose.

More Interesting Articles

  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 #gear
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

    2016-02-09
  • Take Two's 'In Your Arms': Light Painting Music Video Using Pixelstick by SNAP Productions

    written by karenatsoi on 2016-02-22 #videos #people
    Take Two's 'In Your Arms': Light Painting Music Video Using Pixelstick by SNAP Productions

    An indie band from Singapore, Take Two, released a music video for their song 'In Your Arms' earlier this year. The video was shot and produced by SNAP productions with the Pixelstick to create stunning light-painting effects. Read on to know more about the production of the video and what the people at SNAP Productions think about the Pixelstick!

    2016-02-22
  • Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-02-08 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: Rapid Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. I'll start with Rapid film.

    2016-02-08 3
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-19 #news #gear
    A Secret of the Cosmos: Launching the Newest Lomography Product

    Shh! We've got a secret matter at hand, and it's coming at you at the speed of light! We're being as mysterious as the Cosmos about our new out-of-this world product, constantly orbiting around our big reveal. But the eclipse will pass and soon the stars will align. Until then, there must be some questions floating around in the universe, right? Well, there's no need to look to the stars to find your answer! Stay on Lomography's wavelength as we kick into hyperdrive. Let your imagination skyrocket and see if you can decipher our otherworldly clues!

    2016-01-19 19
  • Lomography UK is looking for a Part-Time Marketing Intern!

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-10-06 #news
    Lomography UK is looking for a Part-Time Marketing Intern!

    We are looking for a committed, curious, motivated, and organised individual to assist with our LomoAmigos, online articles, promotions and much, much more. If you want to learn about marketing for Lomography and are passionate about film photography read on.

    2015-10-06
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Lomo'Instant Camera Bag

    Carry your favorite Lomo'Instant baby in the latest, meticulously designed, luxuriously leather camera bag from Lomography and Above the Fray, the Lomo'Instant Camera Bag! Pre-order now and get it by the end of September 20165

  • December 17th Advent Offer: Get A 3-Pack Of Films For The Price Of 2! (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-17 #news #gear
    December 17th Advent Offer: Get A 3-Pack Of Films For The Price Of 2!  (Online Code: THREE4TWO)

    You can never take too many photos this time of year, which is why we've got this extra special deal to help make sure you have enough film to capture it all! Stock up today with a huge array of Lomography films that suit your style this holiday season.

    2015-12-17
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-29 #people
    From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    In order to escape the world of facts and figures, tax auditor Martin Dietrich discovered photography as his creative counterpart almost seven years ago. On a trip to Paris he fell in love with analog photography and the magic of film has been fascinating to him since then. But he also appreciates the benefits of digital photography. For Lomography he tested the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens on his Fuji X-Pro 1 camera. Check out Martin's photos and learn more about the founder of the popular Neoprime magazine.

    2016-01-29 3
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Meet our LomoGuru: robertofiuza

    written by lomography on 2016-03-05
    Meet our LomoGuru: robertofiuza

    With his mastery of light and shadows, veteran lomographer Roberto Fiuza can turn anything his camera captures into gold. He chases then morphs silhouettes and reflections into eye-catching images. In this interview, our newest LomoGuru opens up about his passion for photography, shooting with an LC-A, his alternative LomoHome name, and more.

    2016-03-05 17
  • Lomography Activity Line-Up: February

    written by shhquiet on 2016-01-30 #news
    Lomography Activity Line-Up: February

    February's jam-packed with all sorts of exciting workshops, exhibits and even movie screenings! You know what to do - tell all your friends about it, mark your calendars and we'll see you soon!

    2016-01-30
  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 #news #videos #gear
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

    2015-11-16