Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

2009-09-06 12

There have been a few reviews of Ektar so far, but here is something I haven’t seen yet: This is Ektar Xpro’ed!

For this one I decided to play around a bit with my Ektar. I have two rolls in the gallery: one went through my Holga WPC, the other through my Pentacon Penti II. Both were processed in E6 and pushed two stops. If you decide to try this, don’t forget to push at least two stops, otherwise you’ll end up with extremely low contrast negatives.

Ektar is finicky, real finicky about exposure when cross processed – you may even want to underexpose by a half stop or so. When overexposed it explodes in crazy shades of mint green and peach, but when the exposure is kept under tight reigns the results are quite cool!

The fine grain is apparent even when cross processed – you’d never know that some of the gallery pictures are done on a half frame camera.

I have a final roll of Ektar sitting in my fridge, and it’s definitely getting the same treatment as these two!

written by eggzakly on 2009-09-06 #gear #push-processing #holga #c41-in-e6 #mint #denmark #ektar #half-frame #cars #kodak #35mm #cross-processed #penti-ii #vintage #xpro #peach #review #pinhole

12 Comments

  1. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    wow! this one totally rocks! i wonder how does E6 works on Lucky, Fujicolor and other cheap films out there...

  2. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    AWESOME!!! =D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Wow these colors really went buck wild. Thanks for doing an alternative film review.

  4. ilovemydiana
    ilovemydiana ·

    goog color

  5. disdis
    disdis ·

    What a great gallery and review!

  6. migueld
    migueld ·

    AMAZING

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    it has a touch of expired instax films underexposed. =)

  8. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    Gorgeous !

  9. larslau
    larslau ·

    Great review...

    @ethermoon: From my experiences color negative films almost always get that 'peachy' look from being cross-processed.

  10. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    this is the kind of film id like..

  11. stouf
    stouf ·

    Excellent ! I love E6 X-pro ! And you inspired me already, I'm trying it these days... 8D

  12. disasterarea
    disasterarea ·

    far out colors

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-30 #places
    In Lomographs: Five Eerie Places From Around the World

    Fueled by wanderlust, a sense of wonder, and curiosity, lomographers have been through all corners of the world to explore and capture on film everything it has to offer. Lomographers have arguably seen it all—and by all we mean not just the beautiful vistas, but also those places that only the brave ones venture into. Here are but a few of them.

    2015-10-30
  • Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-05 #videos #people
    Cinematographer Michal Dabal on the Petzval Lens

    Here’s what happens before we interview a photographer. We gush about the work though we have yet to find out the cameras and processes behind the brilliant composition or the light architecture. And even when they haven’t used a Lomo camera, we feature them anyway. But every once in a while comes a pro who uses one of our premium lenses at work and our fun cameras off-duty. This makes us mighty glad, more so when their images are good and worth sharing. We count cinematographer Michal Dabal's work among them.

    2016-01-05 1
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • First Impressions of the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Jeri Lampert

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-05-01 #news #gear
    First Impressions of the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Jeri Lampert

    NYC photographer Jeri Lampert has seen a lot of lenses, having been working in the photography industry for almost 15 years, but she's never seen anything like the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens! See her test shots and read her first impressions here.

    2016-05-01
  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

    2016-01-13
  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-03 #people
    Chlorophyll Prints by Binh Danh: An Interview

    In the work of Binh Danh, art is space for the unnamed to be seen. When war is the theme every detail counts. How does one person tackle this massive issue, where death and the value of lives intersect? A one-man job becomes a job about other men. And so for his series "Immortality: The Remnants of the Vietnam and American War" he made chlorophyll prints to express the indelible mark of war on various lands. Soldiers and laymen whose faces and records have been archived are given another chance to be remembered.

    2016-02-03 1
  • Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-17 #people
    Self to the World: The Photography of Leanne Surfleet

    A self-portrait may take root in confidence, extreme shyness or alternate bouts of each. Leanne Surfleet goes through this kind of fluctuation when the camera is all eyes. The attraction—as far as we’re concerned—is the mix of uncertainty and a kind of quiet poise. And here and there, a flash of skin that is more a mystery than full-on revelation. Even Surfleet’s portraits of other people have the same hushed invite, as if to say questions are encouraged. There we took our cue.

    2015-11-17
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    written by morlice on 2016-01-07 #people
    A True Blue Lomographer: Community LomoAmigo johnny-weimar

    Jonathan Weimar, better known as johnny-weimar in the community, professes his passion for photography with the help of quite a few analog cameras. He has made quite a reputation and is best remembered by the Lomography Turkey crew as the guy who gave 50-something films to develop and scan. Get to know the high school teacher-cum-lomographer in this candid yet inspiring interview.

    2016-01-07 1
  • Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-25 #gear
    Winter in Vienna: First Impressions of the Lomo'Instant Wide

    I’ve been shooting analogue as long as I can remember but it wasn’t until a few months ago that I was introduced to instant photography. So, you can imagine when I was given the chance to try out the recently introduced Lomo’Instant Wide, I “instantly” said yes and hit the streets of Vienna!

    2016-01-25 2
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8